×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Inheritor
     

The Inheritor

4.2 4
by Tom Wither
 

See All Formats & Editions

America’s Most Deadly Enemy is still loose . . . and he’s ready to move.

Following his dead mentor’s desire to re-establish the Islamic Caliphate, Aziz Abdul Muhammad, hand-picked by bin Laden himself, masterminds a series of attacks on the U.S. energy infrastructure that will reignite the war against the West. As his initial series of

Overview

America’s Most Deadly Enemy is still loose . . . and he’s ready to move.

Following his dead mentor’s desire to re-establish the Islamic Caliphate, Aziz Abdul Muhammad, hand-picked by bin Laden himself, masterminds a series of attacks on the U.S. energy infrastructure that will reignite the war against the West. As his initial series of attacks creates mass panic, leaving the Northeast and Mid-Atlantic states in terrified darkness, the manhunt is on. 

In a unique special operations force, veteran intelligence officer David Cain, along with Air Force Sergeant Emily Thompson and rookie FBI Agent Dave Johnson, leads the U.S. effort to find Aziz and his operations expert. From Camp Delta in Guantanamo Bay to Chicago and the outskirts of Tehran, the force must halt Al Qaeda’s attempt to rise from the ashes of its former self—and stop The Inheritor before the rest of his terrifying plan unfolds.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
06/02/2014
Wither's debut novel and first in a series creates a chilling world in which mass-scale terrorism and dangerous military operations are the norm. The year is 2025, and the United States is facing a series of unrelenting and devastating attacks engineered by Osama bin Laden's personally chosen successor, Aziz Abdul Muhammad. In response, top NSA official David Cain, Tech. Sgt. Emily Thompson, and newly minted FBI agent Dave Johnson form an unlikely team of heroes out to save the western world from an unfathomable assault on its energy supplies and safety. The action takes the reader from top-secret government offices in Washington, D.C., to the modern-day battlefields of the Middle East, with stops along the way in Chicago, Guantanamo Bay, and elsewhere. Although intensely focused on the minutiae of military and government protocol, the narrative provides plenty of mind numbing twists and turns along the way. Military buffs and fans of high-stakes action thrillers will find a lot to like. (June)
From the Publisher
Wither's debut novel and first in a series creates a chilling world in which mass-scale terrorism and dangerous military operations are the norm. The year is 2025, and the United States is facing a series of unrelenting and devastating attacks engineered by Osama bin Laden's personally chosen successor, Aziz Abdul Muhammad. In response, top NSA official David Cain, Tech. Sgt. Emily Thompson, and newly minted FBI agent Dave Johnson form an unlikely team of heroes out to save the western world from an unfathomable assault on its energy supplies and safety. The action takes the reader from top-secret government offices in Washington, D.C., to the modern-day battlefields of the Middle East, with stops along the way in Chicago, Guantanamo Bay, and elsewhere. Although intensely focused on the minutiae of military and government protocol, the narrative provides plenty of mind numbing twists and turns along the way. Military buffs and fans of high-stakes action thrillers will find a lot to like. (June)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781620454954
Publisher:
Turner Publishing Company
Publication date:
06/03/2014
Pages:
348
Product dimensions:
6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 1.50(d)

Read an Excerpt

The sounds of gunfire continued for a few minutes, the AK fire seeming to diminish, followed by a brief silence, then the sound of distant, solid thumps. Aziz guessed the noises were probably small explosive charges to breach the door to the house, or possibly flash-bangs to disorient the occupants. May Allah curse them for harming the women and children!

A few moments more and Aziz heard muffled gunfire accompanied by brief flashes of light behind the first and second floor windows, and the sound of a woman briefly screaming. Then two more flashes from behind the third floor windows and the sound of muffled shots.

There were no more sounds for nearly five minutes. He then heard the high-pitched sounds of a woman’s wailing but could not make out the words.

The woman’s wailing was soon drowned out by the return of the Chinooks and remaining airborne Blackhawk. The Blackhawk assumed a hover over the eastern end of the compound, and one Chinook hovered over the south end, both helicopters broadside to the compound, giving their gunners clear fields of fire. The second Chinook maneuvered west then turned sharply east and descended toward the western end of the compound, flaring smartly and landing next to the stranded Blackhawk.

Aziz laid his face in the dirt and prayed that Allah would welcome his Father into Paradise. The transport helicopter landing had signaled that it was over, the Americans must have killed everyone – Bin Laden had promised he would be a Martyr before he would be an American prisoner. 

After a few minutes, he heard the Chinook’s power come back up and he raised his head again and scanned the compound. The Chinook was slowly rising over the wall, skidding south to clear the landing zone as its twin hovering to the south flew north, then turned west to line up for its landing. The now fully loaded Chinook held a hover over the southwestern wall to cover the compound as its sister craft set down. 

A few more minutes went by before the second Chinook lifted off, pivoted left, and headed northwest immediately, followed close behind by the second Blackhawk. Once the second Blackhawk had passed the compound, the remaining Chinook turned northwest and raced to join the formation. The helicopters stayed below a hundred feet, and were soon sprinting for the Pakistan Afghanistan border at one hundred and forty knots. A few seconds later, the grounded Blackhawk exploded in a giant fireball, sending flames forty feet in the air.

Aziz stood. There was no point in hiding now. The infidel Americans had left, may Allah consign them to hellfire. His mentor was dead. 

Aziz walked northeast, passing a few curious Pakistanis who had heard the commotion and were cautiously working their way down the road, some with cell phones to their ears, no doubt calling the local police or fire department. Avoiding as many people as he could, he walked among the houses until he saw a rusted red bike leaning against a shop’s outer wall.  

He mounted the bike and began to ride northeast toward the city of Kakul. Looking over his shoulder several times for the first mile, he began to assure himself that no one was taking any notice of him. Only then did he finally begin to relax and think. The Americans had found them. How? It did not matter now. 

Bin Laden was probably dead, and the organization he built would soon die with him. The infidels had chased them throughout Afghanistan, before, during and after their cowardly bombing and invasion of that once safe haven. He had traveled with his surrogate father and his brave fighters into Pakistan where good men of Allah in Abbottabad helped them and hid them for many years and now this had happened. 

Aziz’ eyes began to water and he allowed silent tears to drip for his mentor, his revered friend. Several miles later, when the dawn finally broke before him, Aziz had dried his tears and decided that his mentor’s struggle was not over. He would carry it on, but not just yet. There was much to do first. 

Meet the Author

Tom served his country for more than 25 years as a member of the Air Force's Intelligence, Surveillance, and Reconnaissance Agency and its predecessor organizations, the Air Intelligence Agency, the Air Force Intelligence Command, and the Electronic Security Command. He has served as an intelligence analyst at various locations, including Japan and Saudi Arabia, and is a veteran of the Persian Gulf War. During Operation DESERT SHIELD, he was selected to brief HRH Prince Charles, the Prince of Wales; the Commanders of British and French in theater forces; and the U.S. Army's VII Corps Commander on the integration of Air Force intelligence capabilities within the Tactical Air Operations Center. During Operation DESERT STORM, he provided time-critical information to the Joint Rescue Coordination Center resulting in the safe extraction of downed allied airborne personnel and the provision of location data to the USCENTCOM targeting cell that culminated in the destruction of 25 strategic targets. He has been an Intelligence Analyst, Senior Intelligence Analyst, and Special Projects Officer, working with varied elements of the intelligence community, including the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency, NSA, and other Under Secretary of Defense for Intelligence managed special activities. Tom has also led analytic teams and the design and implementation of unique intelligence processing and storage systems supporting Air Force operations during Operations ENDURING FREEDOM, IRAQI FREEDOM, and NEW DAWN. He has received the Meritorious Service Medal, three Air Force Commendation Medals, and three Air Force Achievement Medals. In addition to his Masters degree in Computer Systems Management, Tom holds professional certifications from the National Security Agency as an Intelligence Analyst, and the Director of National Intelligence as an Intelligence Community Officer (now the Joint Duty program). He lives near Baltimore.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Inheritor 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thoroughly enjoyed the book as it was very intriguing and hard to put down. Eagerly awaiting the next book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I don't know what they're talking about with the I couldn't put it down, I couldn't help but put it down. The book was almost impossible to get into and the entire thing is 327 page exposition to a series. At times, it was mildly exciting but played out from the wrong point of view. He is overly descriptive also. Go through the book and count how many times he says something is almond colored. I don't care what color the wall was before it exploded, just that it exploded. Like I said, this book was impossible to pick up and it was boring. I didn't think it was going to be a series, seeing as it wasn't even remotely hinted at in the description. I thought my questions would be answered, but no I was left with more. I received the book for free through Goodreads First Reads and it's up for a giveaway again if you don't want to pay to be disappointed. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is a quick read as the action grabs you and does not let you go. If you like reading books in the vein of Caputo, Forsythe and Clancy then add the name Wither to your reading list!! Outstanding!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a great read in the style of Clancy, the details are fantastic and I felt as if I was living the story as I read it. Couldn't put it down. Looking forward to the next book.