The Jazz Singer

The Jazz Singer

by Eddie Jefferson


$14.24 $14.99 Save 5% Current price is $14.24, Original price is $14.99. You Save 5%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Friday, October 19  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


The Jazz Singer

Eddie Jefferson, one of the great jazz singers and an important pioneer of vocalese, is heard in peak form on this Evidence CD which reissues an Inner City LP and adds six previously unissued selections to the program. The bulk of the music is from 1959-1961, with Jefferson backed by several horns including trumpeter Howard McGhee and tenor saxophonist James Moody, and sometimes three other vocalists. There are many highlights including Jefferson's original classic versions of "Body and Soul" (a tribute to Coleman Hawkins, the "king of the saxophone") and "So What" (dedicated to Miles Davis), a remake of "Moody's Mood for Love" and vocalese adaptations of a few Lester Young and Charlie Parker solos. Most of the unissued tracks are from these sessions, but there is also "Silly Little Cynthia" from 1964 (a duet with pianist Tommy Tucker) and a meeting with guitarist Louisiana Red on 1965's "Red's New Dream." When one considers that Jefferson otherwise did not record during 1963-1967, it makes those two numbers not only enjoyable but historic. This CD is highly recommended for all jazz collections. [Inner City reissued the album in 2008.]

Product Details

Release Date: 02/19/2008
Label: Inner City Jazz
UPC: 0077712010160
catalogNumber: 1016
Rank: 122570


  1. So What?
  2. Moody's Mood for Love
  3. Sister Sadie
  4. It's Only a Paper Moon
  5. T.D.'s Boogie Woogie
  6. Now Is the Time
  7. Body & Soul
  8. Workshop
  9. Sherry
  10. Baby Girl
  11. Memphis
  12. Honeysuckle Rose
  13. The Preacher
  14. Night Train
  15. N J R
  16. I've Got the Blues/Lester Leaps In

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews