The John Carter Trilogy of Edgar Rice Burroughs: A Princess of Mars, The Gods of Mars and The Warlord of Mars -A Pulp-Lit Annotated Omnibus Edition

The John Carter Trilogy of Edgar Rice Burroughs: A Princess of Mars, The Gods of Mars and The Warlord of Mars -A Pulp-Lit Annotated Omnibus Edition

by Edgar Rice Burroughs, Finn J.D. John


$37.23 $39.99 Save 7% Current price is $37.23, Original price is $39.99. You Save 7%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 24  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


The John Carter Trilogy of Edgar Rice Burroughs: A Princess of Mars, The Gods of Mars and The Warlord of Mars -A Pulp-Lit Annotated Omnibus Edition by Edgar Rice Burroughs, Finn J.D. John

The original interplanetary swashbuckler:

John Carter is a fighting man of Earth (or is he?) transported suddenly to the surface of a strange planet full of fierce green giants, savage white apes, and noble but warlike humans — including the one he loves. But can he save her from the doom that threatens to destroy the entire planet?

In a little over 100 years, the Martian tales of Edgar Rice Burroughs have changed the literary world, launching science fiction as a literary category and inspiring generations of young readers to spin their own wildly imaginative tales of distant planets and strange civilizations. This collection, gracefully and unobtrusively annotated, comprises the first three books of the series, which combine as a trilogy to tell the story of Captain Jack Carter’s adventures among the many strange civilizations of a dying planet.

About the Author:

Edgar Rice Burroughs came to the craft of fiction writing late in life, after trying his hand at a wide variety of trades and business ventures. By the time he sat down to write his first novel, A Princess of Mars, he had been a high-plains cowboy, a U.S. Cavalry soldier, an industrial gold miner, a railroad policeman, a door-to-door salesman, a store owner and a serial entrepreneur.

Then one day, while working as a wholesale representative for a going-nowhere pencil sharpener maker, Burroughs decided to while away some of the extra time by getting started on a crazy story to submit to one of the pulp fiction magazines. The result was A Princess of Mars — and the launching of the literary career of one of the most prolific, successful authors in history.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781945032004
Publisher: Pulp-Lit Productions
Publication date: 08/01/2016
Pages: 636
Product dimensions: 6.14(w) x 9.21(h) x 1.56(d)

Table of Contents

Preface 1
How to use this book 5
Introduction 7
A Princess of Mars 21
Foreword 23
Chapter I: On the Arizona Hills 27
Chapter II: The Escape of the Dead 35
Chapter III: My Advent on Mars 41
Chapter IV: A Prisoner 49
Chapter V: I Elude My Watch Dog 55
Chapter VI: A Fight that Won Friends 59
Chapter VII: Child-Raising on Mars 65
Chapter VIII: A Fair Captive from the Sky 71
Chapter IX: I Learn the Language 77
Chapter X: Champion and Chief 81
Chapter XI: With Dejah Thoris 91
Chapter XII: A Prisoner with Power 97
Chapter XIII: Love-Making on Mars 103
Chapter XIV: A Duel to the Death 109
Chapter XV: Sola Tells Me Her Story 117
Chapter XVI: We Plan Escape 125
Chapter XVII: A Costly Recapture 135
Chapter XVIII: Chained in Warhoon 143
Chapter XIX: Battling in the Arena 147
Chapter XX: In the Atmosphere Factory 153
Chapter XXI: An Air Scout for Zodanga 161
Chapter XXII: I Find Dejah 171
Chapter XXIII: Lost in the Sky 181
Chapter XXIV: Tars Tarkas Finds a Friend 187
Chapter XXV: The Looting of Zodanga 195
Chapter XXVI: Through Carnage to Joy 201
Chapter XXVII: From Joy to Death 207
Chapter XXVIII: At the Arizona Cave 213
Annotations: A Princess of Mars 215

Book Two: The Gods of Mars 229
Foreword 231
Chapter I: The Plant Men 235
Chapter II: A Forest Battle 245
Chapter III: The Chamber of Mystery 257
Chapter IV: Thuvia 269
Chapter V: Corridors of Peril 279
Chapter VI: The Black Pirates of Barsoom 287
Chapter VII: A Fair Goddess 295
Chapter VIII: The Depths of Omean 305
Chapter IX: Issus, Goddess of Life Eternal 317
Chapter X: The Prison Isle of Shador 325
Chapter XI: When Hell Broke Loose 333
Chapter XII: Doomed to Die 345
Chapter XIII: A Break for Liberty 353
Chapter XIV: The Eyes in the Dark 365
Chapter XV: Flight and Pursuit 377
Chapter XVI: Under Arrest 385
Chapter XVII: The Death Sentence 395
Chapter XVIII: Sola's Story 403
Chapter XIX: Black Despair 411
Chapter XX: The Air Battle 423
Chapter XXI: Through Flood and Flame 435
Chapter XXII: Victory and Defeat 443
Annotations: The Gods of Mars 453

Book Three: The Warlord of Mars 463
Chapter I: On the River Iss 465
Chapter II: Under the Mountain 475
Chapter III: The Temple of the Sun 485
Chapter IV: The Secret Tower 495
Chapter V: On the Kaolian Road 505
Chapter VI: A Hero in Kaol 517
Chapter VII: New Allies 525
Chapter VIII: Through the Carrion Caves 535
Chapter IX: With the Yellow Men 545
Chapter X In Durance 553
Chapter XI: The Pit of Plenty 561
Chapter XII: Follow the Rope!" 571
Chapter XIII: The Magnet Switch 581
Chapter XIV: The Tide of Battle 591
Chapter XV: Rewards 599
Chapter XVI: The New Ruler 607
Annotations: The Warlord of Mars 617

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews