The Journey: Leaving Religion, Following Jesus

The Journey: Leaving Religion, Following Jesus

by Ronnie McBrayer


Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 24?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.


The Journey: Leaving Religion, Following Jesus by Ronnie McBrayer

Leaving Religion, Following Jesus is a book about running after Jesus, about a journey with the Christ-his journey and yours. It is a book about looking and listening to the unexpected. It is a book about opening our eyes, unstopping our ears, and soaking up the gracious wonder that he is, the wonder that surrounds us.

We do not know where Jesus will lead us; we have no idea of the long journey that waits for any of us. But it begins with that first step; that first halting, timid step that puts you on the road away from religion and onward to the Christ.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781573125314
Publisher: Smyth & Helwys Publishing, Inc.
Publication date: 05/28/2009
Pages: 226
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.48(d)

About the Author

Ronnie McBrayer was born in the foothills of the North Georgia mountains and claims to have barely survived the fire-and-brimstone, fundamentalist upbringing of his childhood. But in the great comedy of God, Ronnie has spent his adulthood in ministry, both preaching in and protesting against; both loving and leaving; both running from and returning to the church. The faith he is trying to keep isn't in organized religion, however; it is in Jesus.

Ronnie holds degrees in Christian education and theology. He has been a pastor, chaplain, leader in social justice ministries, and a writer. But the role he enjoys most is being husband to Cindy and father to Blayze, Bryce, and Braden.

Ronnie is the author of But God Meant It for Good and Keeping the Faith. He also writes a popular faith-based weekly column for the newspapers of the Freedom Communications group. You can visit Ronnie's website at

Table of Contents

Introduction 1

Chapter 1 A Hazardous Journey 3

Chapter 2 The Greatest Story Ever Told 15

Chapter 3 Wear Your Religion Like You Wear Your Underwear 29

Chapter 4 A Fool and His Money 43

Chapter 5 Whose Side Is God On? 55

Chapter 6 Who Could Blame Him? 69

Chapter 7 The Gospel according to Gatorade 83

Chapter 8 Brides, Birthdays, Baptists, and Born Again 97

Chapter 9 Leaving Salem 109

Chapter 10 God Ain't a Quitter 125

Chapter 11 Take Off Your Feet 139

Chapter 12 Imagine 153

Chapter 13 The Burning Hell 165

Chapter 14 I Came Back, One Last Time, to Say "Thank You" 179

Chapter 15 Kyrie Eliason 191

Conclusion 203

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews