The Killer Knows Why

The Killer Knows Why

by Yannis Mitsopoulos


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, November 21

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781456786618
Publisher: AuthorHouse
Publication date: 08/04/2011
Pages: 324
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.73(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Killer Knows Why: Seven Riveting Stories of Crime and Intrigue 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Alexandra-A More than 1 year ago
Author Yannis Mitsopoulos brings to life the Islands of Greece through seven short stories that offer his readers mystery and romance. Drawing his audience in from the very beginning you’ll find yourself looking forward to reading about the beautiful locations described, captivated by his complex characters, and anxious to learn their fate. The underlying theme in all seven stories deals with love and crime in one way or another and whether you find yourself rooting for the leading character or not you will most definitely be drawn in by them; by the time you finish reading each vignette you’ll wish it would last a bit longer. The wonderful part about the book being broken up into a collection of stories is that when one ends, another begins. Beginning with Oleander House, the story centers around a woman trapped in an unhappy marriage for years and through reading her father’s journals finds the secret and the strength to reclaim her life. In Red Car, a young man’s obsession with a red race car from when he was a small boy leads him down a dangerous and tragic path. With Inspiration, which was one of my favorites, the reader will find themselves completely blown away and surprised with such a riveting ending. The story centers on a lighthouse keeper who finds that love is extremely powerful and brings with it the power of change. When the main character meets and falls in love with a beautiful Italian woman he finally embraces his true passion for creating art but what turns out to be his greatest masterpiece will indeed be his biggest fall. This story promises an ending like no other. In The Epidavros Code, Mitsopoulos brings to life Greek tragedy and takes his readers on a journey not only through Greece but through the States as well. With an ending so shocking the reader will be sad to see the story end. In the remaining three stories, The Mermaid, The Teacher, and Mr. Harmless, the author continues telling great story through his visuals of the Islands of Greece along with mystery and intrigue. With each story you read you’ll be drawn deeper and deeper into this book which is appropriately titled, The Killer Knows Why.
SandraP1 More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! The Killer Knows Why is a collection of fabulously indulgent crime stories that allows each and every reader to put themselves in the story. The characters are three dimensional and complex, enriching the stories with their humanity. Yannis Mitsopoulos has a true gift for engaging readers with his words. This is a great book for any crime thriller fan!
Lynnoo More than 1 year ago
“The Killer Knows Why” is a smart, diverse, and interesting collection of short stories by Yannis Mitsopoulos. Set in the Islands of Greece and deftly translated into English, these haunting accounts emit enough raw emotion to move them out of the class of mystery and into true tales of fiction. The settings of all these vignettes are beautiful but the people involved are not….at least not always, and they certainly aren’t always what they appear to be. Love, sex, desire; Mitsopoulos serves them with sly accompaniments of money, murder and myths that will keep the reader turning pages through the night.
great_text-pectations More than 1 year ago
In The Killer Knows Why, pulp fiction author Yannis Mitsopoulos draws readers in with ease by throwing open the doors to his home of Greece, letting them experience the romance of the settings tucked in the mountains and coasts, along with the secrets that entice them to read each of his seven spellbinding stories with complete abandon. Mitsopoulos weaves the stories in and out of everyday lives, traditions, and beliefs as he allows his readers to become voyeurs into the minds of those that kill for a reason. The first story tells the tale of a woman whose life has been one of missed opportunities, only to regain a life for herself through the secret found in her father’s journal. In the second story, a little boy’s love for a race car carries him to a tragic end. The Killer Knows Why tells five more tales: Greek tragedies intertwine old curses through modern lives only to end, well, tragically as a family spins their tale for everyone to see. An artist finds that Death can be an inspiring muse. A young ex-soldier finds that fatherhood can push him to fight even the devils of the deep to bring his daughter back. A man that tries to not let others poison his life, his thoughts ends his life while attempting to poison the one that poisoned him. And, a mother that knows what is best for her daughter ensures with a little help that both their lives are secure. Seven stories wrap around the reader like a bright, beautiful day only to find that even beautiful days have their moments of cold. Yannis Mitsopoulos draws his inspiration from real life events, situations, and places, lending to the ambiance with which he weaves into his fiction. Mitsopoulos invites readers to experience a taste of Greece, so do not hesitate! Grab your favorite sweater then let yourself experience the warmth and chill of The Killer Knows Why.