The Laird and I: A Kilts and Quilts of Whussendale novella

The Laird and I: A Kilts and Quilts of Whussendale novella

by Patience Griffin

Paperback

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details

Overview

Praise for the Kilts and Quilts series

"Griffin's lyrical and moving debut marks her as a most talented newcomer to the romance genre." ---Publishers Weekly Starred Review

"Patience Griffin gets love, loss, and laughter like no other writer of contemporary romance."-Grace Burrowes, New York Times bestselling author of The First Kiss

Last summer, Sophie Munro met Hugh McGillivray for the first time and she liked him instantly. But the dashing young Laird behaved as if she didn't exist...even though she was Summer Sophie-sunny and cheerful. Now in the dead of winter, Winter Sophie has arrived, and she's one despondent lass without her therapy lamp!

When Sophie receives a cryptic email from Hugh-Can you housesit for me while I'm away?-she's surprised, but agrees on one condition. While she's there, she wants to learn the ancient art of kiltmaking at his woolen mill. But mischief is afoot. The quilters of Gandiegow and Whussendale have plotted to bring the pair together, thinking they would make the perfect match. But Hugh isn't so sure. Although...Sophie has become indispensable as the kiltmaker's apprentice. And even the dogs like her best!

The Laird starts to realize Sophie's presence is healing his grieving heart, and he's doing his best to bring sunshine into her dark winter days. Will the Laird allow Sophie to leave when her time at Kilheath Castle is up? Or will he take a risk and keep her there forever?

Fans of Janet Chapman, RaeAnne Thayne, JoAnn Ross, Robin Carr, Susan Mallery, and Susan Elizabeth Phillips will enjoy Patience Griffin's novels.

Note:
Patience Griffin's THE LAIRD AND I is a love story set in Scotland, previously published in MUST LOVE HIGHLANDERS, a duet anthology with New York Times bestseller Grace Burrowes. THE LAIRD AND I is not a historical or time travel story, but a contemporary Scottish romance with a hint of women's fiction set around the small town quilters of Gandiegow and Whussendale.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781530696260
Publisher: CreateSpace Publishing
Publication date: 03/22/2016
Series: Kilts and Quilts Series
Pages: 132
Sales rank: 186,106
Product dimensions: 7.80(w) x 5.20(h) x 0.40(d)

About the Author

Award-winning author Patience Griffin has been writing and sewing her whole life but didn't discover her love of quilting until her late thirties. She decided the best way to acquire her first quilt was to make one for herself.
At nearly the same time, she started commuting three and half hours a day for her dream engineering job. To pass the time on the long drive, she got hooked on audiobooks-especially books with love stories. Within a couple of years, she was writing stories of her own. It was no surprise to her family and friends when she combined her love of quilting, her small-town roots, and her obsession with Scotland into novels.
She has gained some recognition with her September 11th Story Quilt which has toured the country as the property of the Pentagon. She has a master's degree in nuclear engineering but spends her days writing stories about hearth and home, and dreaming about the fictional small town of Gandiegow, Scotland.

Customer Reviews