Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
The Last Carolina Girl: A Novel

The Last Carolina Girl: A Novel

by Meagan Church
The Last Carolina Girl: A Novel

The Last Carolina Girl: A Novel

by Meagan Church

Paperback

$16.99
Available for Pre-Order. This item will be available on March 7, 2023

Overview

A searing book club novel for fans of Where the Crawdad's Sing and The Girls in the Stilt House following one girl fighting for her family, her body, and her right to create a future all her own

Some folks will do anything to control the wild spirit of a Carolina girl...

For fourteen-year-old Leah Payne, life in her beloved coastal Carolina town is as simple as it is free. Devoted to her lumberjack father and running through the wilds where the forest meets the shore, Leah's country life is as natural as the Loblolly pines that rise to greet the Southern sky.

When an accident takes her father's life, Leah is wrenched from her small community and cast into a family of strangers with a terrible secret. Separated from her only home, Leah is kept apart from the family and forced to act as a helpmate for the well-to-do household. When a moment of violence and prejudice thrusts Leah into the center of the state's shameful darkness, she must fight for her own future against a world that doesn't always value the wild spirit of a Carolina girl.

Set in 1935 against the very real backdrop of a recently formed state eugenics board, The Last Carolina Girl is a powerful and heart-wrenching story of fierce strength, forgotten history, autonomy, and the places and people we ultimately call home.



Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781728257150
Publisher: Sourcebooks
Publication date: 03/07/2023
Pages: 320
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.25(h) x 0.80(d)

Read an Excerpt

Elise Paschen is the author of Infidelities, winner of the Nicholas Roerich Poetry Prize

Customer Reviews