The Last Librarian

The Last Librarian

by Brandt Legg

NOOK Book(eBook)

$2.99
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
LendMe® See Details
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

The Last Librarian by Brandt Legg

A thought-provoking thriller from the USA Today bestselling author of The Cosega Sequence and The CapStone Conspiracy. 


The last library. 
The last books. 
The last chance.


Eighty years from now there is no war, no hunger, no pollution. After overcoming a series of calamities in the first half of the century, human advancements birthed a utopian society. The world is secure and Earth's 2.9 billion people are healthy and happy. 

When everything is perfect, the only thing left to fear is the truth.  


With a single government ruling the entire planet, using a common currency and one language, the population is unified and enjoying the prosperity that comes with more than seven decades of peace. Free healthcare for all, and guaranteed employment, make the future a dream. But this future is only safe if those in power can hide the past.  


The books must be destroyed! 


When the single remaining library of physical books is ordered closed and its "dangerous" contents burned, almost no one notices, almost no one cares. The impossible task of rescuing the books, discovering their secrets, and unraveling a coded paradox, is up to an angry author, a brazen revolutionary and the last librarian. If they fail, humanity will lose more than just what is printed on those antique pages . . . if it survives at all. 


Never let them catch you reading! 


This conspiracy thriller will appeal to fans of Ray Bradbury, George Orwell, Marcus Sakey, Ernest Cline, Hugh Howey, Daniel Silva, Clive Cussler, Orson Scott Card, Pierce Brown, Blake Crouch, Douglas E. Richards, A.G. Riddle, Ursula Le Guin, and Suzanne Collins. 


Praise for the Justar Journal 
"Pushed all the right buttons - SciFi, mystery, techno-thriller, quotes from great authors . . . "
"Fascinating, clever story reminiscent of 1984." 
"Richly deep characters. His words flow smoothly over a textured plot that's interlaced with an imaginative world of science fiction, captivating readers." 
"A complex conspiracy that kept me guessing and reading until I consumed the entire series!" 
"Very engaging plot with thought provoking turns. Very exciting read."

Find out why nearly a million copies of Brandt Legg's books have been sold/downloaded worldwide. 

The complete series is available now! 
THE LAST LIBRARIAN (Justar Journal #1) 
THE LOST TREERUNNER (Justar Journal #2) 
THE LIST KEEPERS (Justar Journal #3) 




Product Details

BN ID: 2940151106177
Publisher: Laughing Rain
Publication date: 11/01/2015
Series: Justar Journal , #1
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 307
Sales rank: 2,010
File size: 1 MB

About the Author

USA TODAY Bestselling Author Brandt Legg uses his unusual real life experiences to create page-turning novels. He’s traveled with CIA agents, dined with senators and congressmen, mingled with astronauts, chatted with governors and presidential candidates, had a private conversation with a Secretary of Defense he still doesn’t like to talk about, hung out with Oscar and Grammy winners, had drinks at the State Department, been pursued by tabloid reporters, and spent a birthday at the White House by invitation from the President of the United States.


At age eight, Legg's father died suddenly, plunging his family into poverty. Two years later, while suffering from crippling migraines, he started in business, and turned a hobby into a multi-million-dollar empire. National media dubbed him the “Teen Tycoon,” and by the mid-eighties, Legg was one of the top young entrepreneurs in America, appearing as high as number twenty-four on the list (when Steve Jobs was #1, Bill Gates #4, and Michael Dell #6). Legg still jokes that he should have gone into computers.


By his twenties, after years of buying and selling businesses, leveraging, and risk-taking, the high-flying Legg became ensnarled in the financial whirlwind of the junk bond eighties. The stock market crashed and a firestorm of trouble came down. The Teen Tycoon racked up more than a million dollars in legal fees, was betrayed by those closest to him, lost his entire fortune, and ended up serving time for financial improprieties. 


After a year, Legg emerged from federal prison, chastened and wiser, and began anew. More than twenty-five years later, he’s now using all that hard-earned firsthand knowledge of conspiracies, corruption and high finance to weave his tales. Legg’s books pulse with authenticity. 


His series have excited nearly a million readers around the world. Although he refused an offer to make a television movie about his life as a teenage millionaire, his autobiography is in the works. There has also been interest from Hollywood to turn his thrillers into films. With any luck, one day you’ll see your favorite characters on screen. 


Legg now writes full time – his favorite endeavor ever! For more information, visit BrandtLegg.com, or to contact Brandt directly, email him: , he loves to hear from readers and always responds!

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Last Librarian 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 38 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read both of Mr. Legg's previous trilogies and found this first book to be consistent with this writer's fabulous sense of the intrigue. It was difficult to put down and begs for the continued reading of the second book of this thrilling trilogy. Nhb.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book was good. The formatting was a bit distracting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really liked this book. It was far in the future but could still be related to today's world. I can't wait to start The Lost Treerunner!
Anonymous 11 months ago
This is the first review I've ever written, after having read tens of thousands of novels over my lifetime. The characters are both believable and engaging. The books and movies I like best are those that draw me in do deeply that, for a time, I'm living in their world. This book held me each time I picked it up, to the finish! Thanks Brandt Legg!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really enjoyed this great chsracters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not great felt a little forced in some chapters the characters were not portrayed well but the book was free on book bub
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Could this all be very close to the truth? I think so! Please, please keep up the wonderful writing, Brandt Legg! I'm on board! :-)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
We need imaginary ways to change ourselves and the world around us. Books can do that and so can music. Keep both alive forever.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So captivating couldn't put it down
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A plague killed most of the population. No more global warming and wars. Life is peaceful. Corporations control most business. Internet is available for all. Who needs books? Thus begins the premise of this book..soon to be a series if the author continues his plot. Loved the plot development and the characters in the story. A really thoughtful read.
AvidReader2015 More than 1 year ago
THE LAST LIBRARIAN is not only a futuristic story. It is visionary one, enthrallingly so. Opening at once with a universal calamity and a utopian reversal, it states, “With the population more than halved, it was as if humanity had been given a fresh start. A reset. From the pandemic death and nightmare, a near utopian world emerged.” The author offers a grand vision of a new world order, where there is no more war, no more hunger and no more pollution, and where the government strives to create a disturbingly monolithic society. Throughout the story I found myself oscillating between this nearly cosmic vision, and the perspective of its characters, their attempts to cope with the threat to extinguish the past, to lose all memory of it, by closing down the last library. Runit Happerman, a bookish, cautious single dad, has his doubts about this apparently perfect vision. Wondering why the Aylantik government can’t just leave his library open, he quotes the question, “Without libraries what have we? We have no past and no future.” The last librarian is at first an unwilling hero. He must overcome his fear and step into his new mission to save the world, and find others who have the same determination as he does, the same fire. Five stars.
Anonymous 5 months ago
This book was totally gripping from first page to last. This isn't a genre that i usually like, but the ttitle drew me in! I was so disappointed when it was over. As soon as I'm done writing this review, I'm going to purchase the next book!
Anonymous 8 months ago
Very good except for the two deaths towardsthe end. Not sure they were sensical. Also, both lacked grieving which really stuck out as very odd. Up till then, I really enjoyed the writing and the storyline. DMB
Anonymous 8 months ago
Liked it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Liked it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Too many sub plots. Sometimes it is more entertaining to just have the good guys win. Thought this would be a little more pro hard copy / less digital in its theme.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is so timely considering Trump taking the Presidency!
Anonymous 4 months ago
Well defined characters and story.
Anonymous 5 months ago
Anonymous 5 months ago
Anonymous 5 months ago
Anonymous 5 months ago
Anonymous 5 months ago
Anonymous 5 months ago