The Last to Die

The Last to Die

by Kelly Garrett

NOOK Book(eBook)

$1.99 $9.99 Save 80% Current price is $1.99, Original price is $9.99. You Save 80%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

What started as a game turns into something much more deadly in this fast-paced YA thriller, perfect for fans of Natasha Preston!

Harper Jacobs and her friends are just looking for some fun when they decide to start breaking into one another's houses. It's enough to give them a rush, and it's pretty harmless since they all promise not to take anything that can't be replaced. But when they target the home of a classmate, it crosses a line, and one of the group turns up dead.

Harper needs to figure out what's happening fast...or else she might be next.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781492698456
Publisher: Sourcebooks
Publication date: 11/05/2019
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 240
Sales rank: 194,714
Lexile: HL660L (what's this?)
File size: 1 MB
Age Range: 14 - 18 Years

About the Author

Kelly Garrett's debut novel, The Last To Die, was a 2018 Oregon Book Awards finalist. When not writing, Kelly spends her time hiking with her Great Pyrenees mix and seeking out new coffee shops. After growing up in a small, rainy town on the Oregon Coast, Kelly now calls Portland home, where she organizes several literary-related lecture series. She's an alumnus of Pacific University. You can track her on twitter as @garrett_kelly and on both Instagram and Facebook as @writerkellygarrett. Or stop by and visit her at garrettkelly.com.

Customer Reviews

The Last to Die 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
Anonymous 10 months ago
This book was okay. Very predictable. The ending wasn’t the greatest. I just couldn’t connect with the protagonist Harper. She was completely lacking in empathy and emotion. Although I did appreciate her fierce loyalty to her sister. It had good promise and for a debut author I think they will grow into a stronger writer. Thank you to netgalley and Sourcebooks Fire for the copy in exchange for the honest review!
HeresToHappyEndings 11 months ago
The Last to Die really made me excited to read it based on the premise and the blurb on the front cover, which claimed that it is "a twisty puzzle of a mystery." I really love mysteries and thrillers, and something that keeps me guessing the whole time I'm reading it, so I was so delighted to have the chance to read this book. I did like this book - reading it gave me a night of guessing and trying to figure out the mystery within its pages. However, I didn't love it - it felt way too short for one, and because of this, so much felt rushed. I feel like there could have been a lot more detail in the book that would have helped to make it seem like a more fleshed out story. Also, the title seemed a bit misleading. Anyway. "One just doesn't go around with an idiotic smile splashed across her face fro no reason. Especially after committing a crime." Harper and her group of friends are entitled and well off, with wealthy parents and too much time on their hands. Because of this, they come up with a game to make their lives more exciting, and to help them get some extra cash. The game? They break into each other's houses when they are out of town, stealing items that they can sell to get extra money to buy alcohol, drugs, and whatever else their hearts desire. They only have two rules. The first rule is to only break into one another's houses: not the homes of their neighbors or those with whom they are not friends. The second rule? They are only allowed to take things that can be replaced easily. While money is not an object, they are sure to take things that are easily replaced - no important family heirlooms, for example. And for a while, this whole arrangement works. Then they start to get bored, and begin seeking out the homes of other kids in school, breaking in and stealing things that they can easily sell. Eventually, Harper and her boyfriend decide that they want out of this. Their two friends also decide that they're done, which is great: no more breaking into homes and stealing, and instead they can focus on more important things and find new ways to have fun. Plus, no more risk of getting caught, right? When Sarah, one of the group, dies from an apparent overdose, things take a dive south - police get involved, things get messy, and it leaves Harper wondering the truth - did Sarah really die from an overdose? Or was she murdered? When tragedy strikes again, it becomes apparent to Harper that someone is out to get them - but is it who she thinks it is? Or is it someone else entirely? And who will believe her? The Last to Die didn't have me guessing who the bad guy was - it was glaringly obvious that it wasn't who the author wanted you to think it was, because she put so much effort into trying to pin it on that person. So of course it had to be someone else, right? That's not to say I figured out who it was - I just knew that it wasn't the obvious choice. It took me a while to put some things together, but when you do reach that part of the book, it's a bit of a surprise. I did mention earlier that I felt like this book was way too short. It was rushed - too rushed. Another fifty to a hundred pages would have made this so much better - too many ideas were introduced here and not explored as fully as they could have been. I also would have loved a few more deaths...it would have added to the suspense. The idea behind the story was definitely interesting, though! I loved the whole "stealing from each other" bit - it was
dlvandruff 12 months ago
Friends are forever. Or are they? They thought it would be fun to rob each others houses. Only steal stuff that was replaceable and easy to fence or pawn. Sometimes people aren't what they seem. And this story is like that. Remember the saying, keep your friends close and your enemies closer? That is what this story definitely conveys. That, or you may end up dead.
P-Lopez More than 1 year ago
The synopsis is what intrigued me about The Last To Die by Kelly Garrett. The story fell a bit flat, however, as I was hoping for more of a suspenseful murder mystery. I did like the younger sister, Maggie, but had a hard time connecting or liking the other characters. They seemed shallow, and their behaviors were irritating, especially Alex (which I know is typical of some teenagers). I know it’s intended to be their character development, but their actions and behaviors were a bit much. I did like that the ending was a surprise and didn’t get wrapped up in a neat bow.  The book was a quick read with a good, surprise ending, and for that, I rated it higher (3.5 star rounded to 4).
InspirationalAngel531 More than 1 year ago
Title: The Last to Die Author: Kelly Garrett Publisher: Poisoned Pen Press Published: 4-4-2017 Pages: 157 Genre: Mystery, Thrillers & Suspense Sub-Genre: Detectives; Teen & Young Adults; Literature and Fiction ISBN: 9781929345304 ASIN: B01MV75WPA Reviewed For NetGalley and Poisoned Pen Press Reviewer: DelAnne Rating: 4.5 Starts Thinking it was of no consequence 16 year old Harper Jacobs and a group of her friends break into one another's homes using their keys and security codes. After all it is nothing important just small things. Then they decide on the home of one outside the group. Then one of them turns up dead. Suddenly Harper must face the truth of their criminal activity and decide to tell the truth. The wrong decision can get her killed. . The teens portrayed are realistic in that they have the habit of acting not thinking of how their actions have consequences. They live in the moment. Suddenly they're forced to leave youth behind and face the results of what they have done. Kelly Garrett has written a story that is both frightening in its truth and hopeful as well. Fast paced and well developed characters bring it to life as the reader follows where Garrett leads. A great first novel. My rating of "The Last to Die" is 4.5 out of 5 stars.