The Legacy of Ogma

The Legacy of Ogma

by E.A. Rappaport

Paperback

$13.68 $14.95 Save 8% Current price is $13.68, Original price is $14.95. You Save 8%.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780595464043
Publisher: iUniverse, Incorporated
Publication date: 11/20/2007
Pages: 251
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.40(h) x 0.60(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Legacy of Ogma 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 6 reviews.
BellaReadz More than 1 year ago
wow, I’m actually surprised by how much I loved this book! Fantastic fantasy adventure suitable for adults and mature teens. Although there are the common themes/elements present to make it a standard epic-fantasy…from demons to night spirits, dragons to wizards, ferfolk to human, “The Legacy of Ogma” is high fantasy at its best! But it really struck me as so much more due to the depth of the characters and the fact that even for a fantasy the rules seemed to go out the window a few times and really threw me for a loop (no spoilers). The writing is very strong and the plot is compelling and intelligent enough to really jeep our interest – which is honestly saying a lot considering I got bored reading “Lord of the Rings” trilogy! (Shhh, don’t tell). This one just flows so much smoother and faster and keeps picking up steam as it goes along. Short chapters and a super strong female lead in Halia and a complex and intelligent storyline kept me entertained for hours! Recommend for fans of the high-fantasy genre, as well as action or adventure. Ready to read more from E.A. Rappaport soon. Happy to see he has quite a body of work to read!
KayleeeKS More than 1 year ago
I was immediately intrigued by this book because of interesting premise and the opening chapters, but I was in no way prepared for how totally addicting this novel would be, and the sheer magnitude of the world, the characters, the multi plots, the battles, magic and lore with good and evil… I was really impressed! The way Rappaport writes is captivating from the beginning and you just want to keep reading and reading and not stop. It is both descriptive and has great world building but also is fast moving so that you aren’t bored. I was reading as fast as I could, and even though it’s a really long book I finished in a few nights and I was disappointed when it was over, especially because it ends after something surprising happens and you want to know what will happen next. But I think the concept of having these different trilogies form an ‘interlocking matrix’ is so genius, and I am really curious to see what else lies in store for us with the rest of the “Legends of the Four Races”. Recommend for fans of fantasy/action ages 16+
BrendaMax More than 1 year ago
fast-paced, well-written and immensely entertaining, “The Legacy of Ogma” (Legends of the Four Races Book 1) from E.A. Rappaport is an absolute must-read for fans of novels such as Lord of the Rings, Game of Thrones, Merlin, Mists of Avalon, etc. “Legacy” holds its own with the top-notch writing and plot structure, and an exciting, varied cast of colorful characters and plenty of evil and action and thrills to go around. There are some familiar tropes here (as required with most standard fantasy), however, I feel Mr. Rappaport did a great job of bringing in a unique voice and making the story wholly his own, and giving it a fresh feel. I didn’t feel like I’ve read this million times before. But an engrossing story with more complex subplots and layers than one would initially think –and I was impressed with the level of character development, especially with Halia, but also with others. Has a unique vibe of feeling almost mythological and modern at the same time. Very professional feel, from the cover to the formatting to the editing. A great start to a promising series. Recommend.
BookPrincessSF More than 1 year ago
4.5 stars I certainly enjoyed “The Legacy of Ogma (Legends of the Four Races Book 1)” by author E.A. Rappaport, even though “epic” fantasy isn’t usually one of my more preferred genres (don’t dislike it, just don’t generally gravitate). But I was looking for something out of my comfort zone so I thought I’d try this, I was SO impressed! I really liked the characters ((especially Halia- she’s so badass!)), and thought that Mr. Rappaport did such a wonderful job with the descriptions of the world/scenes and the different characters. There are so many of them it’s hard to keep track at times, but I liked the different races/species and the magical element and the fact that despite being so ‘fantastical’, these characters (and their goals) felt very real and relatable. It is fast paced and the dialogue moves the story at a nice clip, as opposed to narrative ‘telling’ (which I can’t stand!!). Overall very emotionally engaging and with lots of action and clean writing, so descriptive where we really feel like we are there in the story, but not so much that it weighs us down with needless detailing (something that I usually can’t stand in most epic fantasy). I had a great time reading this, and I’m looking forward to the next book in the series/matrix.
JennaBrewster More than 1 year ago
this book was great… very entertaining to read and very well written. Familiar, yet original… Describing it is a hard task! All sorts of really interesting characters, and a terrific mix of fantasy, adventure, and a dangerous journey and dark, gritty world with realistic characters (even the ‘fantasy’ ones). While it was very captivating and easy to get sucked into this world that E.A. Rappaport created, action-wise I did think the beginning started off kind of slow until I got more of a feel about this new world and the characters and their backgrounds. I do like that the chapters are told from different perspectives as this gives it a broader, more epic feel, it just took me some time to connect and feel grounded. But once I got used to it and things got moving along I was really hooked. I liked that it was so descriptive that we can really put ourselves inside the various character’s perspectives, and there are several here- almost too many, to be honest. But the world-building here was so deliciously original and descriptive… (absolutely essential for a quality fantasy), and with gorgeous narrative prose that was both literary and powerful. And sometimes even funny. Great dialogue and I liked that the characters felt ‘real’ even ones who could have felt more like a caricatures. I didn’t *love* the ending as it felt a bit abrupt to me, but I am definitely curious to see where this all goes next. Recommend for fantasy fans who want a powerful, original, literary epic fantasy with great characters and a compelling storyline.
MarcellaGonz More than 1 year ago
I read a lot of fantasy books, so this is a genre I’m quite familiar with. But I’ve been suffering high/epic fantasy burnout as of late as to me it all is feeling the same these days… too many “Game of Thrones” wanna-bees. But the description for “The Legacy of Ogma” was intriguing and included the tropes that I like (quest, magic, dragons, good v evil, etc) and the opening sample caught my attention so I gave it a shot. I must say that E.A. Rappaport is unarguably a very talented writer, but more than that he genuinely impressed me with his thorough world-building here and sheer creativeness on many levels. All too often I read works that feel clearly derivative of other books, and although I appreciate literary influences (as is felt here on occasion as well), when something this fresh-feeling and fun comes along it is a really nice change of pace! I liked how straightforward and easy to read the narrative was, and some of the writing was downright lyrical in the simple elegance of the prose, and other times I was nearly breathless from the intensity and violent passion. I finished the book in less than a week, and went through so many highs and lows, it felt like a rollercoaster. Great cast of characters, and a really good action/battle scenes at the end. I like that some questions get answered, but the ending definitely leaves us wanting more, so I hope the next book is available soon so we can see what happens with Halia, Minaras, Oswynn and all the others… oh, and the editing was flawless!! A must read for fans of high fantasy.