The Light Princess [Original Cast Recording]

The Light Princess [Original Cast Recording]


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Based on the 1864 fairy tale by Scotsman George MacDonald, itself inspired by Sleeping Beauty, the 2015 stage musical The Light Princess tells of a grief-stricken princess in a state of perpetual weightlessness until she's grounded by love. The musical's tunes were written by beloved alt-singer/songwriter Tori Amos, with a book by playwright/screenwriter Samuel Adamson, and lyrics by the pair. The Light Princess premiered at London's Royal National Theatre in October 2013, and the cast recording was made over the course of several months in 2014 and produced by Amos. It features lead actors Rosalie Craig and Nick Hendrix, over 30 songs, and two bonus performances of songs from the show by the songwriter herself ("Highness in the Sky" and "Darkest Hour"). Arranged for a classical ensemble including harpsichord, strings, and woodwinds, the sweeping music bears Amos' quirky and melancholic melodic manner while remaining firmly in the realm of operatic-leaning musical theater.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/09/2015
Label: Mercury
UPC: 0028948119004
catalogNumber: 002379102
Rank: 41025

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Tori Amos   Vocals,Hammond B3
C.J. Johnson   Vocals
Caroline Dale   Cello
Mark Hawley   Drums
Mary Scully   Double Bass
Rolf Wilson   Violin
Katherine Rockhill   Piano
Martin Lowe   Conductor
Hal Fowler   Vocals
Patrick Savage   Violin
Malinda Parris   Vocals
Clive Rowe   Vocals
Landi Oshinowo   Vocals
Debbie Preece   Violin
David Langham   Vocals
Rosalie Craig   Vocals
Amy Booth Steel   Vocals
Philip Anthony   Drums
Adam Pearce   Vocals
Anna Stokes   Alto Flute
Joan Martinez   Violin
Caspar Phillipson   Vocals
Luke Johnson   Vocals
Ben Thompson   Vocals
Daniel Bhattacharya   Violin
Sarah Thurlow   Clarinet
Phoebe Street   Vocals
Laura Pitt-Pulford   Vocals
Nick Hendrix   Vocals
Vivien Carter   Vocals
James Charlton   Vocals
Jamie Muscato   Vocals
Kane Oliver Parry   Vocals
Douglas Harrison   Violin
Tommy Luther   Vocals
Owain Gwynn   Vocals
Lois Au   Bassoon
Stephanie Bron   Vocals
Nicola Hart   Vocals
Nino Silva   Vocals
Nicola Hands   Oboe
Jamie Lowe   Vocals
Tom Brady   Keyboards
Richard Lowe   Vocals

Technical Credits

Tori Amos   Composer,Producer,Orchestration,Vocal Arrangements
John Philip Shenale   Orchestration
Mark Hawley   Programming,Engineer
Marcel VanLimbeek   Engineer
Martin Lowe   Orchestration,Vocal Arrangements
Simon Baker   Engineer
Samuel Adamson   Composer,Direction,Book
Charlotte Sutton   Casting

Customer Reviews