The Listener's Companion: Great Composers and Their Works

The Listener's Companion: Great Composers and Their Works

by Nicolas Slonimsky


View All Available Formats & Editions

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING


The Listener's Companion: Great Composers and Their Works by Nicolas Slonimsky

For many decades, Nicolas Slonimsky's writings about music and musicians have educated and entertained millions, from the beginning music student to the seasoned scholar. Famous for his literary style as well as his musical scholarship, he created model reference works, read for their artistry as well as their content. The foundations of his legacy are the classic volumes found in every music library, the indispensable Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians (now in its eighth edition) and Music Since 1900 (in its fifth). In addition to these magisterial works, over the years Slonimsky wrote program notes for major symphony orchestras, including the Los Angeles Philharmonic, as well as articles, liner notes, and columns for numerous newspapers and periodicals. The best of these writings are collected here for the first time, providing an excellent introduction to the classical repertoire from Bach to Shostakovich. Arranged by composer, chapters open with biographical essays describing the composer's life and times. Individual articles then address several of each composer's finest and most popular works, providing historical and cultural background as well as a detailed discussion of the music itself. Pronunciation guides and definitions of key terms provide a useful tool for new listeners. A complete index further facilitates research.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780825672781
Publisher: Omnibus Press
Publication date: 04/28/2002
Pages: 350
Product dimensions: 7.00(w) x 9.90(h) x 1.00(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews