The Little Bookshop at Herring Cove

The Little Bookshop at Herring Cove

by Kellie Hailes

NOOK BookePub edition (eBook - ePub edition)

$2.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

Don’t miss the delightfully uplifting new book from Kellie Hailes – coming soon! Perfect for fans of Caroline Roberts, Cathy Bramley and Heidi Swain.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780008336134
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 07/10/2019
Sold by: HarperCollins Publishers
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 400
Sales rank: 15,275
File size: 2 MB

About the Author

At the age of five Kellie Hailes declared she was going write books when she grew up. It took a while for her to get there, with a career as a radio copywriter, freelance copywriter and web writer filling the dream-hole, until now. Kellie lives on an island-that's-not-really-an-island in New Zealand with her patient husband, funny little human and neurotic cat. When the characters in her head aren't dictating their story to her, she can be found taking short walks, eating good cheese and jonesing for her next coffee fix.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Little Bookshop at Herring Cove 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
gaele 10 days ago
I make no secret of the fact that I love UK settings, particularly those set in small towns and villages with people who are engaging, intriguing and make me care about them. Kellie Hailes has done this with each book in this series that I’ve read, and this is no exception. Sophie has lived over the little bookshop her entire life, first with her parents, then an aunt, and now with her adopted cat Puddles. It’s always been a struggle, and she’s tied to the place emotionally because of her parents’ deaths when she was just five, as well as feeling comfortable in the place where her friends and the people rarely change. While she’s had a disastrous relationship and the bookshop is struggling, she is more determined than ever to reject the offers coming in from the Fletcher Corporation who is planning a big and exclusive resort in Herring Cove. Having already secured the farm and one of the two other buildings next to her shop, she’s been visited by Alexander Fletcher, heir apparent and ‘closer’ for her sale. Alexander Fletcher has been groomed to take over the family business since birth – but he’s always felt as if he is the better ‘front man’ for the closing, as he’s not quite as manipulative and demanding as his father. But he’s also watched the difficulties and aftermath in the small towns where the company’s resorts are located: from increased rents that price out locals, to infrastructure and pr issues, and until Sophie flat out rejects his offer – not even looking at the numbers, and her look and mannerisms intrigue him, he hasn’t actually thought about the effect to Herring Cove or the aftermath. Soon he’s seeing that Sophie, despite all of her struggles with the business and her stubborn refusal to consider change has ideas that make a new sort of investment in the area a better idea, and as he starts to come around to that idea, his feelings for her increase. While she’s still struggling with trust issues, he’s got to manage his own place in the firm and be heard by his overbearing father and mother, while seeing the pieces and people that make Herring Cove so special. While there were some issues with Sophie and her on-again-off-again feelings about Alex, and the slowness with which she opened up and communicated, her ideas and loyalty to the area and the people was striking, and together, without really being a “made for” match, the two worked well. If you like atmospheric, low-angst (mostly) stories that have you wanting to see things work for each of the characters – this is the perfect read for you. I received an eArc copy of the title from the publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.
jjthor 20 days ago
A nice quick summer read. This book is a cozy romance about sophie , a bookstore owner and Alexander a property developer that comes to Herring cove. I enjoyed the book but wish Sopie had a little more depth. The characters and storyline were good. Liked that Her friends Ginny and Natalie lived close by and were also in the story. A nice book to loose yourself in for a little while and relax.
Karen-Hollins 3 months ago
The little Bookshop at Herring Cove.is the perfect summer read. Its setting of a seaside village is idyllic. Sophie Jones loves her little bookshop at Herring Cove. She’ll never give it up to big property developer, Alexander Fletcher – no matter how handsome he might be… Yet beneath Alex’s sharp suit and persuasive manner, there’s something about him that makes Sophie want to trust him. So when he offers to help make her little shop a success again, she wonders whether this could be the start of something wonderful for both Sophie and Alex – together? This is a light easy read for a lazy summer day. I instantly fell in love with Herring Cove and its townspeople. The I found that the author brought the little village to life for me and I could picture it in my mind. The characters are wonderful which makes reading even more pleasurable. I highly recommend this novel to all who who love Chic Lit novels. I requested and received an Advanced Readers copy from the publisher and Netgalley. All thoughts and opinions are my own
boclairedesigns 3 months ago
What a cute and uplifting story! Alex works for the family firm that builds resorts in small struggling villages. Sophie owns and runs her family bookstore, ever since her parent's death's and her aunt left after raising her. After a disastrous romance where the guy took her money and keft, she's wary of men. Alex gets under her skin. She refuses to sell her bookstore, but he helps her as she struggles to regain her financial footing. Her friends are fun, quirky, and supportive. The British slang and descriptions were a bit confusing so for that reason I would give it a 3.5 star rating. I received a free ARC eBook from Net Galley and the publisher for my honest review.
KivicCT140 3 months ago
First off I'll admit to having a certain weakness for stories about bookstores and quaint English villages. That being said The Little Bookshop at Herring Cove is an enjoyable clean, easy read with wonderful characters and of course the perfect HEA. All around this is a solid 4 star book that's perfect fora summer beach read. #TheLittleBookshopAtHerringCove #NetGalley
KimReadsBooks 3 months ago
Classic small business owner vs property developer tale. The characters didn’t click much with me and I felt Sophie and Alexander’s relationship moved too fast in a confusing way. The setting was nice and I enjoyed the supporting characters.
Lizzieblovestoread 3 months ago
The book takes place in Herring Cove, where the main character, Sophie, runs a bookstore. Her parents opened the original bookstore, and it is Sophie’s only piece of them that she has left. Due to a tragedy, Sophie lost both of her parents at a young age. She was then taken in by family members and developed friendships as close as family. Her two best friends, Ginny and Natalie live close by and have created lives for themselves, but still make time for Sophie. Alexander, the son of a very wealthy family has come to Herring Cove to build a resort. In order to do so, he has to have the community of people who own buildings near the shore, sell their stores in order to build upon them. Many of the people in the community have agreed, due to the amount of compensation being beyond their expectations, but Sophie absolutely refuses. Alexander has no idea who he is up against. After Alexander has encountered Sophie, something triggers in him that he needs to get to know her more and ends up agreeing to help “freshen” up her bookstore by returning to his love of carpentry. He is torn between honesty with his father, who is breathing down his neck to get this deal done, and his feelings for Sophie. Sophie and Alexander form an odd friendship/relationship where they both feel a push and pull. When they finally succumb to their feelings, things get even more complicated. Sophie has a difficult time trusting Alexander and Alexander is the most confused he has ever been. Alexander returns to London, leaving Sophie behind. She can barely pretend to be ok. Her best friends know she is heartbroken. How will they leave it? Will Alexander come back? And if he does, what will it cost him?
MKF 3 months ago
aelily 3 months ago
‘Sorry. I guess it’s been a long time since I felt anything that...hard.’ I don’t read much romance. Especially not recently since I just had a terrible breakup and I am very anti love and romance at the moment but this book and these cute people broke me...It’s like when I watch a Korean drama and the tension gets too heavy that I have to look away. At the root of it and this novel, romance is about hope. Sophie Jones lives at Herring Cove a lovely, sleepy seaside village located near London. She runs an old bookstore that has been in her family for generations and things...Well, things aren’t looking great for Sophie and the business financially. Alexander Fletcher is the son and heir to the Fletcher Group. A company that builds on fabulous locations like Herring Cove and transforms them into into destination resorts. Alex is sent to the village to get permission and offer each landowner a lot of money to begin construction but faces resistance when he meets Sophie. Sparks and hammers fly. This was a cute romantic summer read which had the right amount of awws and laughs. Alex and Sophie are adorable and you genuinely felt the connection they had. The rich boy, poor girl cliche has been used to death but I liked how self sufficient Sophie was. All in all this was a pretty cute book that serves as a fun beach read. Thanks very much to Netgalley and the publisher for this ARC. Please visit my blog for more reviews: https://aelilyreads.home.blog