Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
The Lives of Diamond Bessie: A Novel

The Lives of Diamond Bessie: A Novel

by Jody Hadlock
The Lives of Diamond Bessie: A Novel

The Lives of Diamond Bessie: A Novel

by Jody Hadlock

Paperback

$16.95
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, October 5

Overview

Pregnant out of wedlock, sixteen-year-old Annie Moore is sent to live at a convent for fallen women. When the nuns take her baby, Annie escapes, determined to find a way to be reunited with her daughter. But few rights or opportunities are available to a woman in the 1860s, and after failing to find a respectable job, Annie resorts to prostitution in order to survive.

As a highly sought-after demi-mondaine, Annie—now Bessie—garners many expensive gifts from her admirers, and eventually meets and marries the son of a wealthy jeweler. With her marriage, she believes her dream of returning to proper society has finally come true. She’s proven wrong when she suffers the ultimate betrayal at the hands of the man she thought would be her salvation. But Bessie doesn’t let her story end there.

Inspired by a true story and set amid the burgeoning women’s rights movement, The Lives of Diamond Bessie is a haunting tale of betrayal and redemption that explores whether seeking revenge is worth the price you might pay.

Perfect for fans of Emma Donoghue, MJ Rose, and Hannah Kent.


Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781684631179
Publisher: SparkPress
Publication date: 04/05/2022
Pages: 328
Sales rank: 98,949
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.40(h) x 1.00(d)

About the Author

Jody Hadlock’s love of history goes all the way back to junior high, when she was a member of the Junior Historians of Texas—so it’s no surprise her first novel is historical. She studied journalism at Texas A&M Universityand worked as a broadcast journalist and then in nonprofit public relations before turning her focus to fiction. She also writes screenplays and won the 2020 Dallas International Film Festival’s screenplay contest. She lives in Colleyville, TX.

Customer Reviews