The Lollipop Trollops and Other Poems

The Lollipop Trollops and Other Poems

by Alexander Theroux

Paperback(1st ed)

$10.16 $10.95 Save 7% Current price is $10.16, Original price is $10.95. You Save 7%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING

Overview

The Lollipop Trollops and Other Poems by Alexander Theroux

The Lollipop Trollops gathers the poems of Alexander Theroux, one of the most brilliant novelists of our age. It is an uncompromising and explosive volume, a work of astonishing force and variety. Although written in a genre by which he has been known thus far only to a few, this book but continues what, taken altogether, including his essays, plays, stories, and fables, he understands to be a part of a single vision, the unfolding drama of a mind in action. "Ideas of a certain kind," writes the author, "thoughts of a certain nap, can properly be expressed in no other way, not merely one-take ideas, rather substances requiring a specific form, the way brandy suitably calls for a snifter, absinthe a drip glass, and champagne an eight-ounce 'tulip'."
A variety of voices and visions reflect the alternations of mood, degrees of power, and a broad array of themes, a major one of which remains Theroux's insistent exploration of the mystery at the heart of the creative process itself. The complex styles, his versatility, incorporates a vast knowledge. Here are occasional poems that explore secret moments of passion as well as sonnets, simple unadorned lyrics, blank verse, jingles, and, along with some masterful Therouvian "triplets," much scarifying satire, forms in their plenitude including everything from closed couplets to bold free verse, from the dissonant to the deeply meditative to the elegantly lyrical. There is mad exactness here, great insight, rapier wit. Theroux has a commanding genius, whether writing of love or sketching a profile or fitting out thoughts like weapons with tips barbed with ferocious signifiers.

"Alexander Theroux offers a book of poems that include some of the finest lyrical lines in recent memory. No one can match him for wit, beauty of language, sound, pathos. The Lollipop Trollops is a very great achievement by a very great writer." (Dr. Richard Selzer, author of Mortal Lessons)

"It's both refreshing and somehow appropriate to stumble on an astonishing poet of Byronic brio in the form of a novelist furtively disemployed from his Yale teaching job for political incorrectness, a man whose response to life in racing, heated, passionate language clearly makes him an unfit colleague for academic postmodernists who, as the critic Erich Heller has noted, 'take pride in not being proud of language.' . . . Like love itself, [Theroux's poems] take some subtle and surprising turns from one moment to the next." (Joseph Coates, Chicago Tribune 7-30-92)

"Here are the fanciful meditations on the novelist/poet's name, flytings and harangues, ruminations on death, lost love, and language. The humor can vary from the trans-linguistic to an imaginative jeu d'esprit." (Michael Dirda, Washington Post Book World 1-3-93)

"In the tradition of Ogden Nash and Dr. Seuss, with a sophisticated sparkle reminiscent of Noel Coward, Theroux's poetry leavens common sense with nonsense—aiming not for introspection but for truth and grace." (Library Journal 6-15-92)

"An aromatic feast of literary defiance. . . . For intelligent readers who haven't yet discovered Theroux, The Lollipop Trollops will serve as a gratifying and audacious introduction." (Memphis Daily Helmsman 11-20-92)

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781564780065
Publisher: Dalkey Archive Press
Publication date: 08/28/1992
Edition description: 1st ed
Pages: 171
Product dimensions: 5.54(w) x 8.48(h) x 0.56(d)

About the Author

Alexander Theroux is an award-winning novelist, poet and teacher whose prose works include Laura Warholic or, The Sexual Intellectual, Estonia, and the two artist monographs The Strange Case of Edward Gorey and The Enigma of Al Capp. His novel Darconville s Cat was chosen by Anthony Burgess as one of the 99 greatest post-war novels. He lives in Massachusetts with his wife Sarah-Son Theroux.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews