The Lost Children: An absolutely heartbreaking and gripping World War 2 historical novel

The Lost Children: An absolutely heartbreaking and gripping World War 2 historical novel

by Shirley Dickson

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

As they walked towards the railway station, their mother took an envelope from her handbag. ‘I want you to keep this somewhere safe.’

‘What’s in the letter?’

‘Listen carefully. You’re never to open it unless you or your sister are in real trouble. Promise me.’

England, 1943: Home is no longer safe for eight-year-old twins Molly and Jacob. Night after night wailing bombs and screeching planes skim the rooftops overhead. They cradle each other, shivering in terror, not knowing if they will live to see dawn. Their mother, Martha, has no choice but to evacuate them to the safety of the countryside.

At the train station, Martha bites back tears as she says goodbye to her precious children. Knowing she might never see them again, she gives Jacob a letter, pressing the envelope into his hands and telling him to only read it if they are in danger.

In the country, Molly and Jacob must adjust to life with strangers. Every night they dream of returning home to the arms of their beloved mother. But then the unimaginable happens. Martha is killed in an explosion, leaving the twins all alone in the world.

The war has robbed Molly and Jacob of everything – all they have left is one another. Motherless and destitute, they face the grim reality of life in an orphanage. The time has finally come for Jacob to open the letter. What secret does it hold, and could it change the course of their tragic fate? Because if they are together, they can survive anything – but what if they are torn apart?

From the bestselling author of The Orphan Sisters comes an utterly heartbreaking and unforgettable tale of two children who must lean on each other in a time of tragedy and learn the shocking truth of their past. Fans of Wives of War, Lisa Wingate and Diney Costeloe will be swept away by this sublime World War Two novel.

Readers absolutely love The Lost Children:

THIS. BOOK. WAS. AMAZING. It made me sob so bad Beautiful… Everything was perfect

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781838881849
Publisher: Bookouture
Publication date: 09/30/2020
Sold by: Hachette Digital, Inc.
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 55,687
File size: 587 KB

Customer Reviews