The Lost Rose (Carol Karuso Mystery, #1)

The Lost Rose (Carol Karuso Mystery, #1)

by R. Marquez

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Product Details

BN ID: 2940154735756
Publisher: R.Marquez
Publication date: 06/10/2017
Series: Carol Karuso Mystery , #1
Sold by: Draft2Digital
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 618,112
File size: 322 KB

About the Author

R. MARQUEZ resides in the Pacific Northwest, a place that inspired her to create the fictional city of Couper, Washington, located across the Columbia River from Portland, Oregon.

She was brought to the region in a similar fashion as her main character in the Matty Cruz Adventure series, and, like Matty, she had to reinvent herself quickly—but in a less colorful way.

Now that she has finished the Matty Cruz Adventure series, she is working on the Carol Karuso Mystery series.

R. Marquez’s short stories have been published in various magazines.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Lost Rose (Carol Karuso Mysteries) 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
booklover- More than 1 year ago
Published previously under the title of Fallen Angel Carol Karuso is a Private Investigator in the making. A friend asks her to help find a woman who disappeared 20 years ago. Carol agrees as this will help her investigating skills. After 20 years, there's really no leads but Carol is a bulldog if nothing else, and she has sunk her teeth into this one. But she does find a tenuous link here and there and she follows each and every one ..... even when one of those leads her to a man who will stop at nothing to keep the secret of the missing woman. This is first in a new series and Carol Karuso is a terrific character. She's been married 3 times and each of her husbands have died. That could be a story in and all by itself. She's a natural redhead with a bit of temper to go with it. Her teen years were not great as she had an abusive stepfather. But she's changed her life completely and should be proud of herself. As she follows the steps that Rose made 20 years ago, she talks to the people who knew her. Some liked her, some didn't. Some talk to Carol, some don't. There are small town secrets and big city lies. And not everyone wants the light shined on Rose's disappearance. Every other chapter or so, the reader is treated to the words of the people who knew her. And at one point, Carol is given a journal written by Rose. With Carol reading from that journal, Rose becomes a real life person... her loves, her hates. This is a very subtle murder mystery. There's very little signs of police, no screaming sirens, no bodies falling. The story is very well written and quite an enjoyable read. I look forward to seeing more of this author and of Carol Karuso. Many thanks to the author - publisher and Netgalley for the advance digital copy. Opinions expressed here are unbiased and entirely my own.