The Lost Soldiers: A gripping historical novel of love, secrets and sisterhood

The Lost Soldiers: A gripping historical novel of love, secrets and sisterhood

by Liz Trenow

Paperback

$9.99
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details

Overview

From the New York Times bestselling author comes a remarkable novel of three women whose lives have been torn apart by war. For fans of The Nightingale, Wives of War and Lilac Girls, The Lost Soldiers reveals the strength, love and courage found even in the darkest of times, and the ultimate triumph of hope.



In the summer of 1919, British Ruby is mourning her beloved husband Bertie, missing since 1916. His grief-stricken parents ask one last task of her: travel to the Belgian battlefields to find Bertie’s grave, and with it the peace that will come with knowing his final resting place.



Alice, an American, knows in her heart that her brother Sam is alive – but after he signed up under a false name, no news has been heard from him since he arrived in Belgium. Leaving her life and her fiancé behind in Washington, Alice sets sail for Europe, promising herself that she will not rest until she finds her brother.



Martha has risked everything to travel to Belgium. A German, she knows she will be met with neither sympathy nor understanding. But her son lies somewhere in Belgian soil, and her husband’s dying wish was for his grandfather’s bravery medal to be passed down to his son. It is a promise Martha will do anything to keep.



When the lives of these three women collide, they begin to question whether that which unites them could be greater than their differences. As an unlikely friendship blossoms, their story reveals their untiring determination to find out what happened to the men they love, no matter how painful the truth.

Previously published as In Love and War.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781786815842
Publisher: StoryFire LTD
Publication date: 07/12/2018
Pages: 302
Sales rank: 650,477
Product dimensions: 5.06(w) x 7.81(h) x 0.63(d)

Customer Reviews