The Love Project

The Love Project


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


The Love Project

In the early twentieth century, German composer Paul Hindemith coined the term gebrauchsmusik to describe music that serves a functional purpose beyond simple aesthetic enjoyment. That concept is what comes to mind while listening to Love Project, one of the most plainly utilitarian compilations currently on the market. Timed strategically for release around Valentine's Day, Love Project is an album with a simple mission: to facilitate canoodling. It features such tried-and-true artists as Jeff Lorber, Ramsey Lewis, and Urban Knights, many of them delivering smooth, sensual instrumental versions of bedroom soul classics of the past like "What the World Needs Now," "Love T.K.O.," and "Wonderful Tonight." Most of these work just fine, such as Urban Knights' take on "Baby Come to Me" and Joyce Cooling's rendition of the Leon Russell classic "Song for You." Warren Hill overdoes things just a bit on his version of Eric Clapton's "Wonderful Tonight," and Nancy Wilson overdoes things terribly with her take on Van Morrison's "Moondance," obliterating the melody and breaking the romantic mood with unnecessary vocal acrobatics. But otherwise, this album is a pretty perfect mood setter. Recommended.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/27/2004
Label: Narada
UPC: 0724359647920
catalogNumber: 96479

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Walter Beasley   Alto Saxophone
Warren Hill   Saxophone
Peter White   Guitar,Chimes
John Beasley   Piano,fender rhodes,Wurlitzer
Jeff Golub   Guitar,Guest Appearance
Phil Davis   Synthesizer
Ramsey Lewis   Piano (Grand)
Ernie Adams   Drums
David Benoit   Piano
Andre Berry   Bass
Baron Browne   Bass Guitar
Alex Bugnon   Piano
Joyce Cooling   Guitar
Buddy Fambro   Guitar
Ronnie Garrett   Bass,Vocals
Larry Gray   Acoustic Bass
Keith Henderson   Guitar
Bobby Lewis   Drums,Vocals,Background Vocals,Group Member
Frayne Lewis   Bass,Group Member
Tim Pierce   Guitar
Alejo Poveda   Percussion
Dean Taba   Bass
Mars Williams   Saxophone
Ronnie Gutierrez   Percussion
David Nathan   Keyboards
Sharay Reed   Bass
Jeff Olson   Drums
Maurice Fitzgerald   Bass
Mike Logan   fender rhodes
Jay Wagner   Keyboards
Rick Watford   Guitar
Calvin Rodgers   Drums
Ron Haynes   Trumpet
Jeff Caruthers   Guitar,Keyboards
Kevin Randolph   Keyboards,Group Member
Cristino Sanchez   Vocals,Background Vocals,Group Member
Tyrone Chase   Guitar
Stereo   Group Member
Eric D. Jackson   Guitar,Group Member
Euge Groove   Soprano Saxophone
John Roberts   Drums
Dennis Winslett   Saxophone
Nancy Jo Wilson   Vocals
Amanda Dumond   Vocals
Lynette Gittens   Background Vocals
David Kole   Drums
Johnny "Showtime" Janowiak   Trumpet

Technical Credits

Deniece Williams   Composer
Buddy Holly   Composer
Leon Russell   Composer
James Taylor   Composer
Walter Beasley   Producer
Jeff Lorber   Producer,Instrumentation
Burt Bacharach   Composer
Phil Davis   Producer,drum programming
Chris Jasper   Composer
Norman Petty   Composer
Ramsey Lewis   Executive Producer
Tom Sweeney   Engineer
Paul Brown   Producer,Engineer
Baron Browne   Producer
Eric Clapton   Composer
Hal David   Composer
DeBarge   Composer
Clark Germain   Engineer
Marvin Isley   Composer
O'Kelly Isley   Composer
Ronald Isley   Composer
Rudolph Isley   Composer
Frayne Lewis   Arranger,Producer,Executive Producer
Van Morrison   Composer
David Rideau   Engineer
Cecil Womack   Composer
Linda Womack   Composer
Stevie Wonder   Composer
Susaye Greene   Composer
Mike Logan   Arranger
Nathan Watts   Composer
Brad Young   Engineer
Jay Wagner   Producer
Matt Prock   Engineer
Jeff Caruthers   Arranger,Programming,Engineer
Kevin Randolph   Producer
Stereo   Programming,drum programming
Lambert Waldrip   Programming
Eddie Gip Noble   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews