The Lure

The Lure

by Lynne Ewing

Hardcover

$16.19 $17.99 Save 10% Current price is $16.19, Original price is $17.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, June 24

Overview

From bestselling author Lynne Ewing comes a gritty, sexy novel perfect for fans of books like Perfect Chemistry—about a teen forced to become a "lure," a beautiful girl used by her street gang to seduce and entrap rival gang members.

The Lure tells the story of fifteen-year-old Blaise Montgomery, who lives on the dangerous outskirts of Washington, DC, where a stray bullet can steal a life on the way to school and death lurks around every corner. Drugs and violence are the only ways to survive, so Blaise and her friends turn to gangs for safety, money, and love. And when Blaise is accepted into one of the toughest gangs in the city, she's finally part of a crew. A family.

But as Blaise is put in increasingly dangerous situations, particularly as her gang's newest lure, she begins to see there's more to lose than she ever realized. Should Blaise continue to follow the only path she's ever known, or cut and run?

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062206886
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 02/11/2014
Pages: 288
Product dimensions: 7.40(w) x 11.10(h) x 1.60(d)
Age Range: 14 Years

About the Author

Bestselling author Lynne Ewing began writing as a way to unwind from her job with the Los Angeles County Department of Public Social Services. She is the author of Drive-By, an ALA Quick Pick for Reluctant Young Adult Readers and a New York Public Library Book for the Teen Age; Party Girl, an ALA Quick Pick for Reluctant Young Adult Readers, an Amazon Editor's Choice, and a Teen People recommended read; and the bestselling Daughters of the Moon series, which was also an ALA Quick Pick for Reluctant Young Adult Readers. She lives in Washington, DC.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Lure 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
majibookshelf More than 1 year ago
Blaise is such a cool name. Like, I am slightly jealous of her name. Anyway, Blaise Montgomery lives just outside of Washington D.C, and it's a hard life. Her grandma works two jobs, and barely spends any money because she tries to put it towards Blaise's college fund. In desperate need of a family and money, Blaise takes up an offer to be beaten into Core 9, the most notorious gang in her town. Her best friends Rico and Satch warn her against it, and they had reason to. A little while after, Trek, the leader of the gang, asks Blaise to dress in provocative clothes and lure other gang members to their impending doom. All the money and power he offers her sways Blaise's decision, and she agrees. Will Blaise regret this decision-and possibly pay with her life?When I opened to the first page, I was a bit wary. I've never read a book like this. At first, the read was very tedious, and I would have to force myself to focus on the book. Then, things started picking up. I liked Blaise as a character, although I couldn't really relate to her. I mean, if someone gave me the chance to make money by becoming a "lure" like Blaise had, I would've gave a very firm "No" and then run for my life. I can say that I didn't like Rico. He was a bit too explosive and impulsive for my cautious, thirteen year old self.The ending hurt me. It was unexpected, but it was expected. It's like a tiny part of your brain was like Hey! This is totally going to happen. And you brush the idea aside. 50 pages later, said thing happens and you get surprised, but not entirely. I hope that made sense. I was trying to describe it without spoiling it. Anyway, the ending was well written, and it made me kind of happy to read such a good ending to such a good book. Recommended to teens 13-17, The Lure has definitely earned a place on my bookshelf.
BookloverGE More than 1 year ago
Realistic down to the cockroaches with nonstop, heart pounding action.  Highly recommended.  Blaise fights back and it's like pushing back the ocean.  She goes up against the neighborhood psychopath Trek who manipulates and controls everyone.  She does this, knowing she will die, in order to save the one person she loves.  Many surprises including two at the end that bring the story together.  I bought one book, then after reading it  bought two more for my classroom.
Sarah_UK1 More than 1 year ago
(Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.) 15-year-old Blaise lives in a bad neighbourhood, where gangs roam the streets, there are battles waged over drugs and territories, and even innocent bystanders get shot if they happen to be in the wrong place at the wrong time. Blaise lives with her grandmother who works herself to death every night trying to keep a roof over their heads. Blaise thinks that things would be easier if she joined a gang, and she’s set on joining C9. Will life really be better as a gang member though? Will she survive the beating to get into the gang? And is being a ‘lure’ all she’s really worth? This book started off strong, but I began to lose interest at the 30% mark, and by the 50% mark I felt like I was forcing myself to keep reading. Blaise was an okay character, but I couldn’t help but think that she was stupid to join a gang. Admittedly she didn’t have a lot of money or options, but she was all her grandmother had, and although they didn’t have much, I didn’t think that joining a gang was her best option. Personally I thought she should be getting a part-time job or something, rather than getting involved in gangs and guns. The other characters in this book were all just as stupid as Blaise as well unfortunately. We had her stupid friend who was dating someone from an opposing gang, which was going to get her killed, there was the kid who was selling drugs on someone else’s turf, who was going to get himself killed, and then there was the girl who thought that being gang raped by half the male members of the gang was a good initiation option. Why did any of these kids feel the need to join a gang? Why not stay away from the whole business and try and keep your nose clean? Why not try to earn an honest living? The storyline in this was okay, although the actually ‘becoming a lure’ part didn’t happen until around the 40% mark. The writing in this was okay, and I did appreciate the little details that the author included that made this book feel authentic – like the fact that Blaise had removed the light bulb from her fridge so that ‘no shooter could catch (her) silhouette’. I liked the action and detail at the start of the book, but by the 30% mark I had begun to feel bored, and by the 50% mark I felt like I was forcing myself to keep reading. By the 60% mark I didn’t really want to keep reading at all, and even after taking a break it was really hard to find the motivation to go on. I don’t know why as such, just that I was bored, and the story didn’t hold my interest. Maybe this was because I got sick of the constant stupidity of the characters who just seemed to get themselves into bigger and bigger messes, or maybe I just got sick of the constant threats on people’s lives over nothing. The ending was also a bit of a let-down, as so much was left unanswered. I felt like the book just stopped, and nothing had really been resolved. I couldn’t quite believe that the book stopped where it stopped, but I have to say that I was glad that it was over as I was losing the will to live. I don’t know if this will remain a standalone novel, or whether this will be a series, but if it is a series I won’t be continuing with it. I’ve had enough. 4.5 out of 10.