The Machine God

The Machine God

by MeiLin Miranda

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
LendMe® See Details
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now


The Machine God by MeiLin Miranda

One thing makes life in Eisenstadt bearable for exiled Professor Oladel Adewole: the island floating a mile above the city. Adewole's an expert in world mythology about it, but no one's ever been there, nor knows how it got there.

When a brilliant engineer makes it to the island in her new invention, the government sends Adewole up with its first survey team. The expedition finds civilization, and Adewole finds a powerful, forbidden fusion of magic and metal: the Machine God.

The government wants it. So does a sociopath bent on ruling Eisenstadt. But when Adewole discovers who the mechanical creature is--and what it can do--he risks his heart and his life to protect the Machine God from the world, and the world from the Machine God.

The Drifting Isle Chronicles

This unique fantasy series was created by an international team of writers who collaborated to create a new shared world full of original and diverse people, places, creatures, and ideas. Perhaps for the first time in history, a team of writers has written and published an entire series of novels all at once!

Each author wrote their own book in this new world, telling very different stories about very different people living in one fantastical city during the greatest discovery of the modern age. The writers worked closely to weave their characters and plots carefully together, in order to bring you this unique tapestry of steampunk action and fantasy adventure.

The first three books, which you can read in any order, are:

Black Mercury . . . Charlotte E. English
The Kaiser Affair . . . Joseph Robert Lewis
The Machine God . . . MeiLin Miranda

Are you a fantasy writer? Would you like to join this exciting, ongoing collaboration project? To learn how you can write and publish your own official Drifting Isle novel, visit the series website:

Author site:

Product Details

BN ID: 2940016775890
Publisher: Sans Culotte Press
Publication date: 04/02/2013
Series: The Drifting Isle Chronicles
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 198
File size: 946 KB

About the Author

MeiLin Miranda came back from the dead to write books. In 2006, she suffered a cardiac arrest and realized it was high time to get on with writing fiction after 30-plus years of professional nonfiction writing.

Her main series is the fantasy epic saga An Intimate History of the Greater Kingdom, and she is a co-creator of the shared steampunk fantasy series The Drifting Isle Chronicles. Her influences include Ursula K. LeGuin, Anthony Trollope, Jane Austen, Patrick O'Brian, Georgette Heyer, MFK Fisher and Neil Gaiman. She can't seem to get away from writing stories set in the 19th century (or something like it) no matter what she does.

MeiLin lives in Portland, OR with a husband, two kids, two cats, a floppy dog and far, far too much yarn. You can find her at her website:

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Machine God 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Angie_Lisle More than 1 year ago
Interesting concept and likable characters. The fantasy world is told in a way that is easy to imagine and the story is appropriate for a younger audience. I found a single editing error but the story is well-written and so very nearly polished that it shouldn't bother most readers. I received a copy of this book in exchange for a review. I'm interested in seeing how the rest of the series holds up to this book.
WolfFaerie17 More than 1 year ago
Book exchanged for an honest review:Professor Adewole, a Jerian who specializes in ancient languages, hopes to ease his heartache from his sister's passing. Being in Eisenstadt is a trying experience for Professor Adewole where he comes from there are no talking birds at all. Professor Adewole closest friend is Professor Karl Deviatka of the engineering department at The University of Eisenstadt. When Hilegard Goldstien lands her autogyro on the legendary isle Inselmond causes an unexpected uproar. Professors Adewole and Deviatka are selected to be apart of the diplomatic mission. Upon reaching Inselmond, the diplomatic party is in for a state of shock. Inselmond is known as Risenton by all appearances is primitive culture with a common phrase~Metal and Magic No More. Professor Adewole is stunned to learn that nobody can read or write any more. He's given access to the only library in Risenton and makes shocking discovery. Can the residents of Risenton survive? What is Professor Adewole's discovery? What does metal and magic mean? Your answers await you in The Machine God. Unique perspective for this series so far. I particularly enjoyed the whole Metal and Magic No More phrase because it should just how vastly different the two cultures were. I thought that Professor Adewole was very much like the bumbling professor from the movie Flubber just not so absentminded. There just seems to be so many stories that can be created in this series. I will definitely look forward to the next installment in The Drifting Isle Chronicles.