The Marann

The Marann

by Christie Meierz

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
LendMe® See Details
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

The Marann by Christie Meierz

A story that will appeal to fans of Marion Zimmer Bradley and Zenna Henderson, The Marann recounts one woman's experience on a world where everyone can read her emotions.

Marianne Woolsey is a high school Spanish teacher in rural Iowa, when Earth Central Command decides her linguistic talents would be better exercised if she spent 26 years teaching the daughter of an alien ruler on a planet 24 light years from Earth. Deeply wounded by a childhood trauma, she avoids men, but now she's thrown into close contact with a man who is as gentle as he is dangerous.

Driven by duty, and deadly to anyone who dares cross him, the Sural has ruled his province and led his planet far longer than he can admit to his daughter's human tutor. He hides much more from the space-faring races of the Trade Alliance than he is willing to reveal. What he doesn't want Central Command to know, he has to conceal from Marianne, but that becomes increasingly difficult as years pass and her exotic beauty breaks down the walls he long ago built around his heart.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940015595901
Publisher: Christie Meierz
Publication date: 10/07/2012
Series: Tales of Tolari Space , #1
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 252
File size: 189 KB

About the Author

Christie Meierz lives in Pittsburgh with her husband, her son, her piano, and a very sharp oboe. When she's not writing, she enjoys reading, quilting, knitting, and trying to prevent her menfolk from telling odious puns.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Marann 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I consider myself a connoisseur of Sci-fi romance and Sci-fi erotica (yes there is a big difference usually). I have been reading this “stuff” for a very long time 30 something years. Even though I was looking for a ahem, warmer book when I picked this one up. I have never been happier to have found this gem of a romance and a fabulous new writer.  The world she has created is so wonderful, and I have never seen this take on the premise before ever, it is very original, the characters are compelling the world has great depth and some surprises you certainly do not expect with lovely touches that catch you off guard. I hope there are many more books to come. Unfortunately there are only 2 so far. I could not put them down until I had read them both on a work night no less, I was riveted and could simply not put it down. I had to see what happened next come HL or high water.  Thankfully there are more on the horizon according to Ms. Meierz website. Thank you thank you Ms. Meierz!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
northamericanwordcat More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this engaging and sweet read of a woman coming to live another world. I love all the little details of the geography and how the empathic nature of the people shaped the culture.  The love story was a slow and tender one. I would have enjoyed being in the hero's point of view more than we were but overall it was  nicely done. The sexy times are very much behind close door and the courting takes years. This is a lazy river of a book and not a waterfall. Relax and enjoy the ride.  I didn't care much that we were so much in the heads of the Earth Ship people. I just didn't like them. This is a find debut overall and I look forward to the next book in the serial.