B&N Audiobooks Subscription = SAVINGS. Sign Up Today for a Free Book!
The Matriarch of Ruins: A Novel of Civilians and the Wounded at Gettysburg

The Matriarch of Ruins: A Novel of Civilians and the Wounded at Gettysburg

by Edison McDaniels


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, June 30


Husbands and wives. Sons and daughters. Soldiers and surgeons. Free men and slaves. Widows and ghosts.
The long dead come alive again in this epic novel of a widow struggling to keep her family together amid the carnage of the Battle of Gettysburg.

It is summer, 1863, and the war has come home to the Gamble farm in Southern Pennsylvania. With her husband buried under the willow tree in the back yard, newly-widowed Purdy Gamble must cope with renewed loss when a rebel surgeon conscripts her farm for use as a Confederate hospital. Hannah, Purdy's daughter, disappears into the chaos of war to chase her own ghosts, both imaginary and real. And then there are the twins Loli and Coal, just fourteen. One, struck dumb by a mule kick at age five, will find a disturbing peace amid the flames of war. The other will twice save a man's life, unearthing a family secret in the process-a secret at once as alive as warm flesh and as dead as cold bones moldering under the ground.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781937997663
Publisher: Northampton House
Publication date: 09/07/2015
Series: Gettysburg Trilogy , #2
Pages: 280
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.63(d)

About the Author

Edison McDaniels's writing is informed by medicine and the supernatural. His work received honorable mention in the seventeenth edition of The Year's Best Fantasy and Horror, and has been published in Paradox Magazine, The Summerset Review, The Armchair Aesthete, On The Premises Magazine, and others. McDaniels, a graduate of Stanford University, is board certified in adult and pediatric neurosurgery, with over 7,000 operations to his credit. The Matriarch of Ruins follows the first volume in the Gettysburg Trilogy, Not One Among Them Whole (2014).

Customer Reviews