The Meme Plague

The Meme Plague

by Angie Smibert


$15.29 $16.99 Save 10% Current price is $15.29, Original price is $16.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions


You, my friend, have been hacked.

It begins with the name JONAS W. on the side of a cardboard coffin—right before the funeral procession blows up. Then it’s the whisper in the back of Micah’s head: Your father betrayed his country. You can’t always trust your own brain. Not when you have one of the mayor’s mandatory chips in your skull. Micah knows that the chip developed by TFC (the corporation that runs the Therapeutic Forgetting Clinics) does more than just erase unpleasant memories—it implants new ones. The MemeCast warns citizens to “fight the hack.”

Micah and his friends have each lost something—a parent, a relationship, a home, maybe even their own identities as they remembered them to be. But, together, they can make sure some things are never forgotten.

Election Day is coming, and Mayor Mignon is set to be elected to Congress. It’s time to build a new electronic frontier, one that’s not controlled by the mayor and his cronies. It’s time to get out the vote and shake up the system. It’s time to finally say enough.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781477816608
Publisher: Amazon Publishing
Publication date: 08/13/2013
Series: Memento Nora Series , #3
Pages: 234
Product dimensions: 5.30(w) x 7.10(h) x 1.00(d)
Age Range: 12 - 17 Years

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Meme Plague 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
AllBookedUp More than 1 year ago
A Finale Not to be Missed For those of you who fell in love with Angie Smibert’s series Memento Nora, the saga continues with the third installation, The Meme Plague that released today, August 13, 2013.  The Meme Plague delivers some exciting new character development as well as resumes the quest to retrieve lost memories from the TFC (Therapeutic Forgetting Clinic).  Let me start by saying that compared to Memento Nora and The Forgetting Curve, The Meme Plague does not feel as much the action packed adventure you might be accustomed to based on the other two books, which surprised me as this is the finale in the series.  That being said, there are key storylines that really come to the forefront and are highlighted that weave a web that altogether creates an amazingly interesting story that builds to a dynamic end. Nora's parents are in a battle for custody, Aiden is attempting to create new chips that are immune to government programming but still pass the authenticity tests and our group of rebels are hiding routers all around the city to launch their non-corrupted internet.  Can these friends stop the governmental corruption and tyranny? This is a great short read that is sure to entertain and engage!  Definitely one to add to your list! 
FeatheredQuillBookReviews More than 1 year ago
The subject of youth rebellion has appeared as the plot in many YA books over the past few years. But this one series has most certainly gone beyond the same-old, same-old when it comes to the subject. Not since the extremely popular Maze Runner series has a plot been so intense. For those who are unaware, Books I and II introduced readers to an array of characters who were beyond intelligent. They have each gone through something tragic, with a loss in their backgrounds that range from a parent to a home to their own memories. But when these friends come together they can literally overpower the evil people who are trying to control others by putting a chip into each person’s head. The combination of government and police are using fear to make people conform. And these chips are a way to make sure people forget bad things, and insert new ‘happy’ memories of things that never happened. This group of friends, however, were smart enough to find a way around the chip. Broadcasting a concert, they were able to embed a signal that erased the chip’s effects. As we open on the grand finale of this series, a radio is playing that tells all listeners that summer is over, school is starting, and the evil Mayor is running for election. With a company called TFC, the Mayor and his so-called Patriot Party uses mind control tactics to hack a person’s brain. If you know the wrong thing, a black van simply pulls up, takes you to the Big D (which is a detention facility), and then gives you a pill so you can happily forget everything you shouldn’t know and go on your way. Micah Wallenberg has just finished her community service and is headed home when she sees a very strange sight. A cardboard coffin procession is walking down the street toward the Big D. On one of the coffins is carved Jonas W. (her father’s name). Suddenly an explosion occurs and a strange thought enters Micah’s mind: 'Did her father betray his country?' Velvet is a girl who’s sick of knocking on doors in support of the Mayor when she’s working for the other side. Add in Winter, Nora, Aiden, Spike - all of these friends who are standing together to stop the tyranny, and you have a story that is out of this world cool. Although this is a series, Book III is stand-alone simply because the author has done a great job catching people up on all the action that’s already occurred. The one thing that will constantly be running through your head, however, is how easily a government could do something like this if they really wanted to. After all, we are in the digital age… Quill says: Exhilarating and intense. The author weaves feel-good fiction with suspense to give readers a triumphant victory.