The Memory Book

The Memory Book

by Lara Avery

Hardcover

$17.98 $17.99 Save 0% Current price is $17.98, Original price is $17.99. You Save 0%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Friday, October 19?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

The Memory Book by Lara Avery

They tell me that my memory will never be the same, that I'll start forgetting things. At first just a little, and then a lot. So I'm writing to remember.


Sammie McCoy is a girl with a plan: graduate at the top of her class and get out of her small town as soon as possible. Nothing will stand in her way—not even the rare genetic disorder the doctors say will slowly steal her memories and then her health.

So the memory book is born: a journal written to Sammie's future self, so she can remember everything from where she stashed her study guides to just how great it feels to have a best friend again. It's where she'll record every perfect detail of her first date with longtime-crush Stuart, a gifted young writer home for the summer. And where she'll admit how much she's missed her childhood friend Cooper, and the ridiculous lengths he will go to make her laugh. The memory book will ensure Sammie never forgets the most important parts of her life—the people who have broken her heart, those who have mended it—and most of all, that if she's going to die, she's going to die living.

This moving and remarkable novel introduces an inspiring character you're sure to remember, long after the last page.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780316283748
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication date: 07/05/2016
Pages: 368
Sales rank: 1,203,002
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.30(h) x 1.30(d)
Age Range: 15 - 17 Years

About the Author

Lara Avery is the author of A Million Miles Away and Anything But Ordinary. She lives in Minneapolis, Minnestoa, where she is a contributor at Revolver and at work on her next novel.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Memory Book 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good...sweet...sad.?
francescayoung More than 1 year ago
The Memory Book by Lara Avery is an interesting story about a girl name Sammie who has a memory-degenerative disease called NPC. Though the premise was intriguing, I wouldn’t give it more than two stars. Filled with sarcastic comments and laments about daily life, The Memory Book is written in an interesting way that I don’t particularly enjoy. I understand it’s supposed to be in a perspective of someone talking to herself (but NOT in a diary-like format, Sammie claims), but it doesn’t work for me. I don’t like Sammie’s attitude and I don’t like the author’s style of writing, but that’s just my personal preference. If you’re looking for a pretty easy ready with comedy and a little emotional arc, this book might be for you. Otherwise, I probably wouldn’t recommend The Memory Book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I chose to read THE MEMORY BOOK because of the premise, a girl with a rare degenerative disease that robs her of her memory bit by bit. I remember reading FLOWERS FOR ALGERNON when I was a teen, how that story tore me to pieces emotionally and has stuck with me for more than 30 years. Still one of my top ten fav reads of all time. So I was hoping Avery's book would be like that for me. Overall, it was a great read. I read late into the night, turning pages. The romance was sweet. The book sometimes humorous, sometimes emotional. The downside was that it could have been more. I think the story ended a little abruptly. I suppose I wanted to really experience the end of this disease with the character whom I'd fallen in love with over the course of the book. But she sort of disappears, which I guess is realistic, but I did not feel satisfied with the way the ending was written. I guess that's really it. My only other complaint is that I think there are way too many YA books where the protagonist is an outsider--a nerd or disabled or sick or fat or whatever. Not that this was really an issue with THE MEMORY BOOK. Samantha was a great character, but she made me want more books with mainstream teens who also face challenges in their otherwise "normal" lives. Got me thinking. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and do recommend it highly. Perfect for fans of books like THE FAULT IN OUR STARS.
BlkosinerBookBlog More than 1 year ago
I have done this several times on my blog. Books that just don't work for me. I know my reading style pretty well, and I can tell whether I will like the book or not accurately about 80-90% of the time. If I finish a book, then there are aspects of that book that I enjoyed. I never talk about the author in a negative way, I only say what doesn't work for me. Normally if I finish a book, I give it at least 3 stars, meaning that I liked it. Stopped after skimming at 10% This is totally a it's not you it's me I let the description of a young girl who has a disease and she's going to lose her memory woo me because that is exactly the kind of thing that I would normally be into. And I say normally because I also saw in the description that it said it was told in journal entries and letters and such and that is not usually my thing. But like I said I requested it hoping that I could get into it but the format just didn't mesh with me Disclaimer: I received this book as an ARC (advanced review copy) for free. I am not paid for this review, and my opinions in this review are mine, and are not effected by the book being free. That isn't to say that the writing is poor or the characters are poorly constructed, it's personal on my end.
DownrightDystopian More than 1 year ago
**Thank you so much to the publisher for allowing me to read this in exchange for an honest review!** I had pretty high hopes after reading and enjoying A Million Miles Away which was Lara Avery's last YA novel. However, I found this one to fall a little bit short. I really liked the whole concept. I haven't really read any memory loss novels, so it was very interesting to get into the head of someone who was honestly losing her memory. That has to be so heartbreaking to know that it's happening but also there's nothing that can be done about it. I also really liked Sammie. I couldn't help but like her, not only because of what she was going through, but because of what kind of person she is. Somehow, she even managed to have humor while writing to her future self who couldn't remember anything. Sammie had dreams of going to college and was honestly so headstrong. Because of that, I could relate to her. I just had my senior year of high school so I honestly know what it's like to work so hard for so long. All you really want is for all of your hard work to pay off. Sammie was a nerd. So yes, I can relate to her even more, as can pretty much every other book lover. Stuart was so amazing and the romance was pretty interesting. He basically has dreams of being a writer, so yet again, he's like going to be the #1 crush for everyone who reads this book. Plus, Sammie had a crush on him for years and Stuart didn't even know it, so it was great to see that kind of all unravel through Avery's writing. Despite the fact that I liked all of that, there were some things that kind of pushed me away from utterly loving this book. For instance, there was a love triangle. I used to be a fan of love triangles, and honestly I still am sometimes, but I only really think that love triangles are okay in series. That way the characters are way more developed so it makes more sense for them to kind of have difficulties choosing who they want to be with. But in a normal novel? I'm not the biggest fan. So, there were obviously way more likes than dislikes, which is why I'm giving this novel 3 stars. I'll probably still check out Lara Avery's next novel.
Falln2books More than 1 year ago
The Memory Book was touching, depressing, and inspiring, all at the same time. Sammie was such a brave character and fantastic narrator. If you want a strong female lead in YA lit, then Sammie is your girl. I can't get over how brave she was. I know I already used that word, but the dictionary should be rewritten to say "Brave (adj): Sammie." If I had been in her position, I'm not sure that I would have been able to keep my sense of humor, go after the guy I had a crush on, or rekindle old friendships. She really made the most of her life, even though it wasn't the life she wanted or had planned to have. She was valedictorian, an amazing debater, and planned to go to NYU and become an attorney. Those dreams were shattered when she found out she had what basically amounted to be super-early-onset Alzheimer's, but did she just lay down and feel sorry for herself in a fit of depression? No, she didn't. It would have been justified had she done that, and I would have completely understood that, but she didn't. She carried on, trying to get as much out of her life as she could before she couldn't remember it any longer. And writing herself a journal to let her future self remember the good and bad times was a beautiful and inspiring way to deal with what had to be a terrifying diagnosis. Avery's voice is strong, and I was hooked from the first page. The writing was wonderfully done, and the descriptions were vivid and beautiful. The relationships formed were realistic and touching, and everything that happened fit perfectly and felt natural. The pacing was spot on, and I wasn't bored for one second of this text. I'm not a huge contemporary fan, but I got this ARC at BEA and decided to give this one a try, and it did not disappoint. Avery is a fantastic author. This book broke my heart and gave me hope. I'd recommend it to anyone.
book_junkee More than 1 year ago
This is 100% not the type of book I would normally request. Angsty times are okay in very small and short doses, but there was something about that synopsis that intrigued me. I loved Sammie. I loved how smart she was and how she determined to deal with the disease. Her family was awesome and I adored her parents. This subject is a little {a lot} heartbreaking and how it was handled with the journal entries was just about perfection. The chapters without titles and wonky spelling/wording were so effective in showing how Sammie was progressing. And man, that last chapter gutted me. Overall, it was devastating and hopeful and maybe a little profound. I'm so happy I took a chance and read something out of my comfort zone. **Huge thanks to Poppy and NetGalley for providing the arc in exchange for an honest review**