The Message of Exodus: The Days of Our Pilgrimage

The Message of Exodus: The Days of Our Pilgrimage

by J. A. Motyer


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, April 16


When the Lord promised the land of Canaan to Abram and his descendants (Gen 15:7), every part of it was already occupied by other peoples. The long journey to possession of the Promised Land was prepared by God, yet it led through a path of adversity. We, the readers of the Old Testament, are left to wonder why.
In this engaging Bible Speaks Today commentary on Exodus, J. Alec Motyer explores the character of God through his covenant promises and persistent faithfulness to the people of Israel. Through the story of Israel we are exposed to an unquenchable fire: God the Savior, the Companion and the Indweller, who will not fail those who so often fail him.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780830824274
Publisher: InterVarsity Press
Publication date: 03/10/2005
Series: The Bible Speaks Today Series
Pages: 329
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.25(h) x 1.00(d)

About the Author

J. A. Motyer was formerly principal of Trinity College, Bristol, in England. Author of The Prophecy of Isaiah, he has also contributed The Message of Amos, The Message of Philippians and The Message of James to The Bible Speaks Today series.

Table of Contents

General Preface

Author's Preface

Chief Abbreviations




1. Days of Darkness (1:1—2:10)

2. The Turning Point (2:11-25)

3. Old Moses . . . New Moses (3:1-10)

4. A Sneak Preview (3:11—7:7)

5. The God Who Is Sufficient (3:11—22)

6. The God Who Is Able (4:1—31)

7. Interlude: Into the Arena (4:14—28)

8. Yes . . . No . . . Why? . . . Now (4:29—7:7)

9. Viewpoint (7:8—13:16)

10. Why the Plagues? (7:14—10:29)

11. Why the Passover? (11:1—12:42)

12. Remember and Respond (12:14—13:16)

13. The Next Stage: the Companionate God

14. God's Curious Ways (13:17—17:16)

15. Where We've Reached and Where We're Going (19:1-2)

16. To Meet with God (19:3—25)

17. The Ten Words (20:1-20)

18. The Lord Means His Law and Loves His People (20:22—24:11)

19. The Lord's Tent (24:12—27:19)

20. The Way Into the Holiest (27:20—30:10)

21. Practicalities (30:11—31:18)

22. A Dreadful Step Back, a Huge Step Forward (32:1—34:35)

23. The Glory Cloud (35—40)

Customer Reviews