The Mis-Adventurers: An (Almost) Epic Tale

The Mis-Adventurers: An (Almost) Epic Tale

Paperback

$19.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, February 27
MARKETPLACE
6 New & Used Starting at $13.31

Overview

Thomas Edward Overdale (aka Tom), of Farshire, is an eager halfling bard determined to set out on his own, so that he can write an epic tale of legend. Along the way, he meets Ashwen, an elf with a mysterious destiny. Together, they venture to a seedy bar, looking for adventure. What they find, instead, are companions for their journey: Cole, a hotheaded mercenary; Henry, a cowardly knight; and Beryl, a dwarven professional wrestler.

However, when the five of them get arrested, they'll have to work together to gain their freedom.

With their respective checkered pasts pursuing them, the motley, dysfunctional crew will learn more about one another―and the kingdom of Arcea―than any of them bargained for.

Debacles and disaster ensue, as they struggle to survive monsters, mayhem, and worse… each other.

Will they reach their goals? Will they kill one another in the process? Only time will tell.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781951272005
Publisher: Midwest Mimics
Publication date: 08/27/2019
Series: Mis-Adventurers , #1
Pages: 428
Sales rank: 532,680
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.95(d)

About the Author

Steven Partridge hails from South Bend, Indiana. A youtuber, blogger, and all-around nerd, Steven tells compelling stories in the fantasy genre, both in his novels and weekly, with his tabletop gaming group. He enjoys aquatic sports, eating sushi, and brightening others' days with a kind word or a laugh.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Mis-Adventurers: An (Almost) Epic Tale 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was given a free ARC ebook in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own. The characterization and world building were both exceptionally well done in this manuscript. The entire cast of characters was diverse in traits, race, colour, gender, sexual orientation…really, you name it! There is a little something for everyone, it is literally impossible to not have a favourite character. Speaking of a diverse cast, can I just give a very special shoutout to gnome representation? I can only think of a small handful of books that use these adorably magical creatures, even in the genre of high fantasy. It filled me with so much glee to read a story with my favourite little fantasy creatures included! Throughout the story, we accompany our band of unlikely heroes through the various kingdoms in their world. Information about the world is sprinkled in the dialogue on a need to know basis to avoid any big info dumps. It’s clear that a substantial effort was made to create an intricate world. Throughout the novel we learn about the customs, language and even intra- and inter- national politics of the different nations that make up the world. All of this was achieved without it reading like a college text book. I partially read to escape from the real world and explore other worlds, so strong world building is a big deal for me. I loved reading about how all the different races lived and intermingled with each other! I had a really hard time classifying The Mis-Adventurers, with respect to plot vs. character driven storytelling. It has a stronger plot than the character-driven stories I’ve read, but most of the comedy and intrigue comes from characters interacting with each other rather than their reaction to events and plot points. The plot is still pretty good, but the characterization and world building really shines through and steals the show. The book is written in third person limited, with multiple POVs giving each character in the main cast more or less equal focus. I must admit, this was the first time I read a multi-POV book so it was a little weird at first. But ultimately I think it works for this story, so that each character has time to shine. The only places where it didn’t work so well was during action sequences, as they broke up the action a little too much for my taste. The writing style is very direct and to the point. There was absolutely zero purple prose; every sentence had a purpose and the descriptions were just long enough to set the scene while still leaving room for the reader's own imagination. Overall, I give The Mis-Adventurers 4 stars. It’s a fun romp through a world with a rich history and entertaining characters. It gave me a good chuckle and I thoroughly enjoyed the Dungeons and Dragons (DnD) references and inside jokes. But what if you aren’t in to DnD, you ask? Fear not! Even though it’s a DnD inspired adventure story and there are inside jokes sprinkled throughout, it’s not written with the assumption that the reader is familiar with the material. You will still be able to enjoy it to it’s full extent. I think The Mis-Adventurers would appeal to anyone who enjoys reading high fantasy really, but would especially appeal to fans of DnD, Final Fantasy, RPGLit, or the anime Slayers. Not long after the book release, it was announced that a sequel is in the works, possibly leading to a series. I can't wait to see what mis-adventures our heroes get themselves in to next! :D
Gretchen Turonek More than 1 year ago
This is seriously one of the better books I've read this year. It's funny but unafraid to be serious or emotional when it needs to be. Its callbacks to tropes and other elements from similar fantasy stories make it feel familiar, but it plays around with them for comedy and drama. With a great cast of characters, solid worldbuilding, and a plot with very real stakes, this novel was a great debut for both the author and the series, and I can't wait to read more. If you're looking for a funny fantasy story with referential humor that feels like a Terry Pratchett novel or the around-the-table shenanigans of a Dungeons & Dragons campaign, this book is for you. If you're hoping for a darker, more "realistic" fantasy novel in the style of George R.R. Martin, you're not going to find it here. I received a free ARC in exchange for an honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of the funniest books I’ve read! It made me laugh out loud so many times! It was also full of action, never a boring moment. The characters are all very unique and lovable, I couldn’t pick a favorite. I also appreciated that the villains in the story were well developed with great story lines. All I can say is more please because I loved it!
AmeliaCMMoseley More than 1 year ago
This book is a ride, through and through. It's funny, exciting, and emotional, all when it needs to be. The world is fantasy classic with enough awareness that there's never a slow moment. The characters are witty, clever, and unique, with stories I can't want to read more of as the series continues. If I was to be critical of anything, it would be that this novel can be a bit of a mood read. If you like stories that lean into self awareness and fourth wall nods, you will love this book. Even if you aren't as big a fan of that kind of narrative, I would still highly recommend this book on account of its fantastical world and unique cast, with a story that holds its own regardless. I can't recommend this book enough and I'm excited for the chance to read the rest of the series. I received an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.