The Mistress of Pennington's: Can a woman succeed in a man's world?

The Mistress of Pennington's: Can a woman succeed in a man's world?

by Rachel Brimble

NOOK Book(eBook)

$5.49

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781788546508
Publisher: Head of Zeus
Publication date: 07/01/2018
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 336
Sales rank: 530,979
File size: 2 MB

About the Author

Rachel Brimble lives in Wiltshire with her husband of twenty years, two teenage daughters and her beloved chocolate Labrador, Tyler. Multi-published in the US, she is thrilled to have a new beginning writing for Aria in the UK. When Rachel isn't writing, she enjoys reading across the genres, knitting and walking the English countryside with her family... often stopping off at a country pub for lunch and a chilled glass of Sauvignon Blanc.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Mistress of Pennington's: Can a woman succeed in a man's world? 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Suze-Lavender 9 months ago
It’s 1910 and Elizabeth Pennington would love to take over the reigns of her father’s department store. Pennington’s is the market leader in Bath and the fancy shop carries a large range of luxurious products. Elizabeth’s father Edward is old fashioned and stubborn, he doesn’t have anything good to say about women and he treats them with disrespect, but Elizabeth doesn’t let her father win. She wants to inherit the store and will do anything she can to improve what she sees as rightfully hers. She’s smart and understands how the business works, but can she convince her father to follow her ideas and give her more responsibility? Joseph Carter is a master glove-maker. He wants Pennington to carry his designs and has ideas that will bring guaranteed success, both for his own products and for the lady’s department of Pennington’s. Elizabeth is running this part of the shop and he has to convince her to give him a chance. Will she listen to his ideas and can they secure a prosperous future for Pennington’s together? Edward will surely be against a collaboration between Joseph and his daughter. What will he do when they don’t only click on a business level, but also are a great personal match? Will he ruin things for them before they’ve properly started? The Mistress of Pennington’s is a brilliant story about independence and following your heart. I loved how passionate Elizabeth and Joseph are about their work. They share an exceptional drive and this is what instantly binds them. They have a lot in common and I loved their easy friendship and close connection. It’s clear from the start that they have something special, but they have many obstacles on their way and the biggest one is Edward Pennington. Elizabeth’s father wants to control his daughter’s life and doesn’t want her to take her own decisions. She has to fight hard for each small win, but she never gives up and always stands her ground. I loved her spirit and with Joseph’s support Elizabeth becomes truly formidable, which is something I really enjoyed witnessing. Rachel Brimble has a fantastic engaging writing style. I loved how she makes Pennington’s come to life. I could effortlessly picture the department store itself, the products, the staff and the strategies to make it even more successful. I enjoyed every single description. The Mistress of Pennington’s is dynamic and filled with energy, spirit and hope. I liked the romance a lot and was fascinated by each part of the process of running such a big business. Rachel Brimble paints a clear picture of the time she’s writing about, which makes the story feel authentic and natural. I really loved The Mistress of Pennington’s, it’s a beautiful must-read filled with passion, fierceness and strength.
Anonymous 11 months ago
Bath England - 1910 Miss Elizabeth Pennington, age 24, is the only child of Edward and Helena Pennington. Even with her good education and wealthy background, her interest lies in retail and her father’s mammoth department store, Pennington’s. Elizabeth started work there as a shop girl and has moved up to become the head of the ladies’ department. Now, her father will not let her advance further which frustrates Elizabeth. He feels that women have no true place in business. The large majority of the store’s profits come from sales to women. Elizabeth’s mother took her own life several years ago because she could no longer take the constant disdainful treatment from her husband. Today, Elizabeth has approached her father with her ideas for improving the store and their profits. Once again, he has refused to allow her to advance and only wants her to marry a wealthy man he has chosen for her. Joseph Carter is hoping to get Pennington’s to sell the line of Carter and Son gloves he and his father make. Joseph’s wife, Lillian, had been murdered two years ago when she was trying to help the poor and her killer has never been found. When Joseph shows Elizabeth his ideas and gloves, she is impressed with the quality of his gloves and also with his determination to succeed which matches her own. After some meetings at the store to discuss the production of the gloves, Elizabeth finds herself drawn to him. They begin to work closely together to improve the store to continue to serve their clientele of the elite, but also offer merchandise that is affordable to everyone. As Elizabeth strives to help the store, she also must battle her father who seeks to belittle her and her efforts. Will she be successful in her goals? Is it possible for Elizabeth and Joseph to have a future together? I really enjoyed this clean story and found both Elizabeth and Joseph to be strong characters who truly love their jobs and want the best for everyone. There are twists and turns that the reader will find very interesting and I hope many will read it. Copy provided by NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review.
WisReader 11 months ago
Very well written with characters I really cared about, this historical novel will appeal to fans of Downton Abbey and Selfridges historical television series. Set in a time of emotional change and hard fought struggle, this story is about women being seen as more than possessions and bargaining chips for their fathers and families. Edward Pennington is a difficult man to read, easy to dislike, but I wanted to feel there was more to him. His daughter feels his behavior is responsible for her mother's death. In the book this is paralleled by Joseph's guilty feelings of responsibility for his own wife's death. Elizabeth Pennington is in the difficult position of being heir to a retail dynasty with the fault that she is not male. She is intelligent and strong willed and passionate, most of which are not given credit simply because she is female in a patriarchal society. Joseph Carter is also intelligent, passionate, talented and strong willed. He is a visionary with philanthropic dreams. His father and grandfather before him were milliners and leather workers. His specialty is gloves. Although he wants to continue the family name and reputation for fine goods, his dreams are even grander. Joseph takes a bold step toward achieving greater recognition and making his gloves available to a wider audience. Changes begin to happen the moment he and Elizabeth meet. Will secrets between the two families be enough to be their downfall or can potential attraction between visionaries who are fighting for their own lives as well as for the future of the masses prevail and be strong enough to give birth to dreams? The tension is thick as fog as they struggle to move forward and not encourage Mr. Pennington's wrath. Can they bring the store into a modern age? Will they open their hearts to each other and risk pain? A well rounded historical novel filled with growth potential and champions to root for.
GraceJReviewerlady 7 months ago
I've been looking forward to reading this one since I first spotted it on social media; I'm very fond of historical stories with women at the heart of the tale! Elizabeth Pennington is a forward thinking young woman, full of admiration for the rising suffragette movement. She is determined to resist her father's attempts to marry her off to a rich man who will expect her to knuckle under to all of his demands. Having fought long and hard to take her place in the family business, a stunning new department store in the wonderful city of Bath, she is determined to prove that she is a worthy successor to her father - not easy when he is a stubborn man very much set in his ways. Joseph Carter is the heir to his father's small millinery and glove business; he sees that a contract with Pennington's would put their future on a sound footing and allow his father to enjoy a well earned retirement. With this is mind, he is determined to gain a contract from the mega store, and discovers that Elizabeth Pennington, as head of the Ladies Department, is the person he has to persuade that supplying his goods would be beneficial to them both. Day to day life in the new concept of a large department store is never dull, and this author brings it to life beautifully. With superbly created characters and an exciting and fast-moving storyline, this is a marvellous book, and one which I thoroughly enjoyed. There were a couple of things, however, which didn't ring true with the setting of early twentieth century Britain, and which prevented me from awarding a full house of stars. Nevertheless, it's definitely one I fully recommend and even better, there's more to come! I shall definitely watch out for the next in series. My thanks to publisher Aria for providing my copy via NetGalley, and for inviting me to take part in this blog tour. This is my honest, original and unbiased review.