The Modern Girl

The Modern Girl

by Diana K Holmes

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

Two women, ninety years apart, and an abandoned house that holds the key to a secret.

When Frances Stewart wins a beauty pageant in 1931, she also wins a Hollywood screen test which enables her to leave behind her staid Victorian lifestyle in New Zealand and become the 'modern girl' she aspires to be. But she soon finds the reality behind the glamorous Hollywood facade isn't as wonderful as she'd imagined.

Ninety years later, Paige Sinclair travels to New Zealand to meet her previously unknown and ailing grandmother, and an ancestral home she's been told she will inherit. With a failed marriage and alone in the world, Paige feels compelled to look back into the past to satisfy her need for family and connections. So she starts with her grandmother and the mysterious, abandoned house which holds the key to a secret Paige is determined to uncover. But some secrets are never quite as they seem...

A compelling and emotional story of love, family and secrets, for fans of Kate Morton and Hannah Richell.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940162884583
Publisher: Bay Books
Publication date: 01/21/2020
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 370,772
File size: 578 KB

About the Author

Diana grew up on the north Norfolk coast of England but now lives near Wellington in New Zealand. She writes dual timeline women’s fiction—the kind of books for people who love forgotten houses, secrets kept too well and for too long, and romance—in all its shapes and forms.

She lives near the settings of her books—Wellington, the Wairarapa, Napier—and has plenty of photos, historical tidbits and reviews of dual timeline books on her blog. You can find out more about Diana and her books at www.dianakholmes.com.

Customer Reviews