The Mushroom Hunters: On the Trail of an Underground America

The Mushroom Hunters: On the Trail of an Underground America

by Langdon Cook
4.8 4

NOOK Book(eBook)

$13.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

The Mushroom Hunters: On the Trail of an Underground America by Langdon Cook

In the tradition of Michael Pollan’s The Omnivore’s Dilemma, Susan Orlean’s The Orchid Thief, and Mark Kurlansky’s Cod—a renowned culinary adventurer goes into the woods with the iconoclasts and outlaws who seek the world’s most coveted ingredient . . . and one of nature’s last truly wild foods: the uncultivated, uncontrollable mushroom.

Within the dark corners of America’s forests grow culinary treasures. Chefs pay top dollar to showcase these elusive and beguiling ingredients on their menus. Whether dressing up a filet mignon with smoky morels or shaving luxurious white truffles over pasta, the most elegant restaurants across the country now feature an abundance of wild mushrooms.
 
The mushroom hunters, by contrast, are a rough lot. They live in the wilderness and move with the seasons. Motivated by Gold Rush desires, they haul improbable quantities of fungi from the woods for cash. Langdon Cook embeds himself in this shadowy subculture, reporting from both rural fringes and big-city eateries with the flair of a novelist, uncovering along the way what might be the last gasp of frontier-style capitalism.
 
Meet Doug, an ex-logger and crabber—now an itinerant mushroom picker trying to pay his bills and stay out of trouble; and Jeremy, a former cook turned wild food entrepreneur, crisscrossing the continent to build a business amid cutthroat competition; their friend Matt, an up-and-coming chef whose kitchen alchemy is turning heads; and the woman who inspires them all.
 
Rich with the science and lore of edible fungi—from seductive chanterelles to exotic porcini—The Mushroom Hunters is equal parts gonzo travelogue and culinary history lesson, a rollicking, character-driven tour through a world that is by turns secretive, dangerous, and tragically American.

Praise for The Mushroom Hunters
 
“A rollicking narrative . . . Cook [delivers] vivid and cinematic scenes on every page.”The Wall Street Journal

The Mushroom Hunters lends fresh, sharp illumination to a little-known but vigorously contested patch of gastronomic turf. . . . [It’s an] entertaining ramble through the woods with a group of ragtag characters.”The Washington Post

“Like Susan Orlean in The Orchid Thief, Seattle author [Langdon] Cook shines a light on a shady subculture operating at the seam between wilderness and commerce. Like author Michael Pollan, he knows that every bite of food these days has a complex, often unsavory backstory. Like the late Hunter Thompson, he not only goes along for the ride with the shifty characters he’s writing about, but drives the getaway car. After reading The Mushroom Hunters, you’ll never look at a portobello the same way. . . . [A] beguiling, surprising book.”The Seattle Times
 
“Not simply about mushrooms, this book examines human behavior, economics, food, society, and nature. In the end, readers will have learned a great deal about U.S. economic and social structures—all while being entertained and enlightened by stories of gastronomy and mushrooms. Highly recommended.”Library Journal
 
“Intrepid and inspired.”Publishers Weekly
 
“Uncultivated mushrooms are one of our last truly wild foods; it often takes truly wild and rough mushroom hunters to bring them to our table. Cook travels and hunts with them in a riveting, crazy undertaking, told in often-poetic prose.”Shelf Awareness



From the Hardcover edition.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780345536266
Publisher: Random House Publishing Group
Publication date: 09/10/2013
Sold by: Random House
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 320
Sales rank: 45,970
File size: 2 MB

About the Author

Langdon Cook is the author of Fat of the Land: Adventures of a 21st Century Forager, which The Seattle Times called “lyrical, practical and quixotic.” Cook has been profiled on the Travel Channel, in Bon Appetit, WSJ magazine, Whole Living, and Salon.com, and his writing has appeared in numerous magazines and newspapers, including Sunset, Gray’s Sporting Journal, and Outside. He is also a columnist for Seattle magazine and has been the recipient of many grants and awards. He lives in Seattle with his wife and two children.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Mushroom Hunters: On the Trail of an Underground America 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
First-rate narrative nonfiction in the style of McPhee or Kidder. I'm into both food and natural history, but I had no idea this subculture even existed. The author's account of the pickers, buyers, and chefs in the wild mushroom trade reads like a good novel, with a story, eccentric characters, unusual settings, and lots of descriptive detail. Now I need more copies to give as gifts! 
Anonymous 6 months ago
It was a very interesting book for a person who has had very little foraging for mushrooms in the Northwest and lives in Seattle.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ok if u made it here u r doin good now then go to box res 7 and click even more instrctions