The Music of Eric Von Essen, Vol. 3

The Music of Eric Von Essen, Vol. 3


$15.83 $17.99 Save 12% Current price is $15.83, Original price is $17.99. You Save 12%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, October 25


Eric von Essen never recorded as a leader during his lifetime, though he played bass and cello as a sideman on a number of memorable releases between 1980 and 1994. This third (and evidently, final) volume of his original compositions features a number of different artists, including a few who collaborated with him on earlier releases. Guitarist Nels Cline, with whom the composer made his recording debut, plays 12-string acoustic guitar with Ken Filiano's arco bass in the moving "Blues for Me," which isn't really a blues at all. Violinist Jeff Gauthier and drummer Alex Cline, both of whom appeared on von Essen's first date as well, join the guitarist and bassist Michael Elizondo for the tense, very complex "Unresolved." The brisk, Latin-flavored "It's Just One Big Party" showcases tenor saxophonist Chuck Manning and pianist Theo Saunders. The delightful trio arrangement of "Norton's Last Words" is not a slow, mournful elegy as its title might imply, but a catchy post-bop vehicle with superb solos by pianist Jeff Colella and bassist Putter Smith. "Finska Flues" is a roller coaster ride centered around Stacy Rowles' tasty flügelhorn. Kate McGarry contributed the vocals and the lyrics to the reflective "One Eye Laughs, One Eye Weeps," which she also performed at Eric von Essen's funeral. Jazz fans should regret the premature death of this talented composer before he had a chance to record many of his compositions, though at least his friends and admirers seem dedicated to making his rewarding music more widely known.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/25/2002
Label: Cryptogramophone
UPC: 0671860011521
catalogNumber: 600115
Rank: 172667

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Nels Cline   Electric Guitar,Classical Guitar,Guitar (12 String Acoustic)
Peter Erskine   Drums
Stacy Rowles   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Tom Garvin   Piano
Putter Smith   Bass
Kate McGarry   Vocals
Steve Cardenas   Electric Guitar
Dave Carpenter   Bass
Alex Cline   Percussion,Drums
Scott Colley   Bass
Ken Filiano   Bass
Jeff Gauthier   Violin
Karen Hammack   Piano
Jerry Kalaf   Drums
Larry Koonse   Electric Guitar
Paul Kreibich   Drums
Darek Oles   Bass
Alan Pasqua   Piano
Ralph Penland   Drums
Tom Warrington   Bass
David Witham   Piano
Chuck Manning   Tenor Saxophone
Kenny Wollesen   Percussion,Drums
Theo Saunders   Piano
Jeff Colella   Piano
Mike Elizondo   Bass
Joel Hamilton   Bass

Technical Credits

Jeff Gauthier   Producer
Michael Marciano   Engineer
Jon Rosenberg   Engineer
Bill Kohlhaase   Liner Notes
Rich Breen   Engineer
Gareth Jiffeau   Graphic Design
Steven Santoro   Producer
Scott Fraser   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews