The Music of Luther Vandross

The Music of Luther Vandross

by Luther Vandross


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


The Music of Luther Vandross

If the two-disc Essential Luther Vandross isn't enough and the four-disc Love, Luther is too much, Epic/J/Legacy has the remedy (sort of) in the form of this three-disc box. Packaged like a DVD set, The Music of Luther Vandross contains 45 songs and, for whatever reason, includes the live versions of "Stop to Love" and Change's "The Glow of Love" -- two of Vandross' best-known songs, which most casual fans would prefer to have in original studio form. (Yet the compilers chose to include both studio and live versions of "Creepin'.") Many of Vandross' notable hits are featured -- such as "Never Too Much," "Any Love," "Here and Now," "Give Me the Reason," and "Power of Love/Love Power" -- but several major cuts are missing, including the Top Ten R&B singles "There's Nothing Better Than Love," "She Won't Talk to Me," and "Sometimes It's Only Love." While the box is crammed with quality material, there's no getting around the fact that it is less than ideal, no matter your level of Luther fandom.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/29/2009
Label: Epic
UPC: 0886975739226
catalogNumber: 757392

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Luther Vandross   Primary Artist,Background Vocals
Patti Austin   Vocals
Babyface   Guitar
Billy Preston   Organ,Soloist
David Lasley   Vocals
Jeremy Lubbock   Conductor
Phil Perry   Vocals
Ava Cherry   Vocals
Robin Clark   Vocals
Darlene Love   Vocals
Lisa Fischer   Vocals
Kevin Owens   Vocals
Tawatha Agee   Vocals
Skip Anderson   Synthesizer
Phillip Ballou   Vocals
Tinker Barfield   Bass
Bashiri Johnson   Percussion
Errol Crusher Bennett   Percussion
Johnny Britt   Vocals
Alex Brown   Vocals
Cissy Houston   Vocals
Michelle Cobbs   Vocals
Paulinho Da Costa   Percussion,Conga,Wind Chimes
Charlotte Crossley   Vocals
Lynn Davis   Vocals
Sammy Figueroa   Percussion
Jim Gilstrap   Vocals
Ivan Hampden   drum overdubs
Rev. Patrick Henderson   Choir Director
Doc Powell   Guitar
Yogi Horton   Drums
Phillip Ingram   Vocals
Paul Jackson   Guitar
Anthony Jackson   Bass
Jimmy Jam   Keyboards
Brenda White-King   Vocals
Steve Kroon   Bongos,Conga
Yvonne Lewis   Vocals
Paulette McWilliams   Vocals
Jason Miles   Synthesizer
Marcus Miller   Synthesizer,Bass,Keyboards,Vocals
Cindy Mizelle   Vocals
Myrna Smith-Schilling   Vocals
Sybil Thomas   Vocals
Fonzi Thornton   Vocals
Ed Walsh   Synthesizer
Michael White   Percussion
Buddy Williams   Drums
Jay Williams   Guitar
Stevie Wonder   Harmonica
Alfa Anderson   Vocals
Genobia Jeter   Vocals
Nat Adderley   Synthesizer,Piano,Keyboards,Arra
Pat Joyner   Vocals
Tamira C. Sanders   Vocals
Georg "Jojje" Wadenius   Guitar
John Anderson   Synthesizer
Lauren Evans   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Babyface   Composer
Lionel Richie   Composer
Steve Stills   Composer
Luther Vandross   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Author,Vocal Arrangements,rhythm arrangement
Jeremy Lubbock   Orchestral Arrangements
Bonnie Bramlett   Composer
Richard Rodgers   Composer
Burt Bacharach   Composer
Nile Rodgers   Composer
Bobby Russell   Composer
Skip Anderson   Arranger
Ray Bardani   Producer,Engineer
Jeff Bova   Sound Design
Hal David   Composer
Oscar Hammerstein   Composer
Jimmy Jam   Producer
Terry Lewis   Producer
James Mtume   Composer
Mauro Malavasi   Composer
Richard Marx   drum programming
Earl McIntyre   Orchestration
Marcus Miller   Arranger,Producer,rhythm arrangement,Synthesizer Arrangements
Leon Pendarvis   Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements
Alexander Richbourg   Programming
Rex Rideout   Arranger,drum programming
Paul Riser   Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements
David Romani   Composer
Fonzi Thornton   Producer
Reed Vertelney   Arranger,drum programming
Stevie Wonder   Composer
Jon B.   Producer,drum programming
Leo Sacks   Producer
James Harris   Composer
Walter Afanasieff   Arranger,Producer,Vocal Arrangements
Nat Adderley   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements,rhythm arrangement,Synthesizer Arrangements
Jason Rome   Producer,drum programming
Morris Broadnax   Composer
Ron "Amen-Ra" Lawrence   Composer,Producer,drum programming
Shep Crawford   Arranger,Producer,Instrumentation
Rob Carter   Art Direction
Warryn Campbell   Producer
M. Miller   Composer
B.H. Edwards   Composer
Bryan-Michael Cox   Producer,Instrumentation
John Anderson   Arranger
Jonny B   drum programming
J. Thompson   Composer
Lynell George   Liner Notes
B. Hilliard   Composer
S. Crawford   Composer
T. Steele   Composer
D. Elliott   Composer
W. Moore   Composer
V. Barrett   Composer
S. Cooke   Composer
J. Thomas   Composer
Soulshock & Karlin   Arranger,Producer,Instrumentation
T. Lewis   Composer
C. Shack   Composer
R. Vertelney   Composer
R. Lucas   Composer
W. Garfield   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews