The Mystic Hours: A Daybook of Inspirational Wisdom and Devotion

The Mystic Hours: A Daybook of Inspirational Wisdom and Devotion

by Wayne Teasdale


$17.90 $18.95 Save 6% Current price is $17.9, Original price is $18.95. You Save 6%.


One reads not for information, writes Brother Wayne Teasdale, but for inspiration. In his new book, Teasdale presents a powerful daily guide to interspiritual wisdom with 365 quotes from the great religious and spiritual traditions, from sources as varied as St. John of the Cross, Confucius, the Dhammapada, and Allen Ginsberg. Designed as an aid for daily reflection and meditation, Teasdale's illuminating commentary follows each passage.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781577314721
Publisher: New World Library
Publication date: 10/10/2004
Pages: 369
Product dimensions: 5.32(w) x 8.02(h) x 1.17(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Mystic Hours: A Daybook of Inspirational Wisdom and Devotion 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Sinetrig on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
"The Mystic Hours" was the last book Brother Wayne Teasdale wrote before he died of cancer in 2004. A lay monk in the Christian Contemplative tradition, he had been committed to building common ground between religions, based on the idea that at the core of all religions is mystical wisdom. In this collection of 365 quotes from people of all walks of life (scientists, mystics, writers, and "everyday" people, et. al, ) followed by his own short commentaries, the objective is to "nourish you spiritually, aesthetically, philosophically, poetically, mystically, and especially humanly".The title, "The Mystic Hours", refers to a Benedictine practice of fixed-hour prayers in which specific prayers are designated for particular hours of the day. This book is not structured along those lines, nor is this a book of prayers. however, Teasdale suggests that a practice of "divine reading" called "Lectio Divina" be considered by the reader. The objective of "divine reading" is inspiration, not information. This type of reading has four parts: 1) reading, 2) reflection, 3) a "movement" in the depths of one's being (called prayer of the heart), and 4) rest, or contemplation.As a rule, I have always tried first to read and then to reflect, regardless of what I was reading, but have rarely initiated the third and fourth steps. My experience when I first brought this book home in 2004 was that as a daybook of inspirational pages it fell short, and I put it back on the shelf after 2-3 days of reading. It was not until 2009, as I was clearing out my library of books, that I read the author's introduction, which included the 4-step process of divine reading. Since then the cumulative effect of my "daily reading" has enriched each day in ways I had not expected.