The Nearly Girl

The Nearly Girl

by Lisa de Nikolits

Paperback

$20.61 $22.90 Save 10% Current price is $20.61, Original price is $22.9. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, August 27

Overview


Fiction. Women's Studies. Fans of A Prayer for Owen Meany and One Flew Over The Cuckoo's Nest will love this clever, fast-paced and enjoyable thriller. Like a modern-day Joan of Arc, Amelia Fisher attempts to carve out a "normal life", showing us how mythic the idea of "normal" really is. With a poetic genius for a father, an obsessed body builder for a mother, and an enchantingly eccentric group seeking the help of an unorthodox therapist, what could possibly go wrong? A chance discovery propels Amelia and fellow therapy attendee, Mike, with whom she is in love, into a life-threatening situation instigated by the crazed doctor's own dark secret but Amelia's psychosis saves the day. Told with warmth, humor and populated with vividly original characters, this sprint-paced novel has it all, from restraining orders to sex in office bathrooms, and a nail-biting ending. A novel about an unusual family, expected social norms and the twists and turns of getting it all slightly wrong, the consequences of which prove fatal for some.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781771333139
Publisher: Inanna Publications
Publication date: 08/30/2016
Pages: 300
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.10(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author


Lisa de Nikolits is the award-winning author of five novels. Her first novel, THE HUNGRY MIRROR (Inanna Publications) won a 2011 IPPY Awards Gold Medal and was long-listed for a ReLit Award. WEST OF WAWA (Inanna Publications) won the 2012 IPPY Silver Medal and was a Chatelaine Editor's Pick. A GLITTERING CHAOS (Inanna Publications) won the 2014 Silver IPPY Silver Medal. THE WITCHDOCTOR'S BONES (Inanna Publications) was published in 2014, and BETWEEN THE CRACKS SHE FELL (Inanna Publications) was an IPPY Bronze Medal winner in 2015. Canadian Living magazine declared BETWEEN THE CRACKS SHE FELL "a must-read book of 2015." Lisa is a member of the Mesdames of Mayhem as well as a member of the Crime Writers of Canada, the Sisters in Crime, Toronto Chapter and the International Thriller Writers. She lives and works in Toronto.

Table of Contents


ON

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Nearly Girl 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
BooksDirect More than 1 year ago
When Megan meets Henry, it's love at first sight. But love isn't always perfect. Henry is a poet who uses LSD, he's slightly unhinged, eccentric, and mentally unstable. Megan's parents Ethel and Ed are very supportive, especially when she gets pregnant. But when her daughter Amelia starts behaving like Henry from an early age, Megan withdraws and becomes obsessed with body building. They call Amelia the "Nearly Girl" because she nearly gets things right but can also get them so wrong. Fast forward to Amelia at twenty-two, when she meets Mike in a group therapy session run by Dr. Frances Carroll, whose mantra is to "do the opposite thing". The members of this group of misfits each purport to be in therapy for one reason, but we find out each one has a much deeper problem. They all fall victim to Dr. Carroll's unorthodox therapy - in more ways than one. But, when Amelia discovers a shocking truth about her therapist, who will believe a mental patient? "The Nearly Girl" gives us a heartbreaking look at those who suffer from mental illness and how it impacts the lives of those around them. Much like its quirky characters, this book offers a whole lot more than what you see at first glance. Based on the cutesy cover and the light-hearted beginning of the book, I wasn't expecting a thriller. But "The Nearly Girl" is a unique combination of literary fiction, humor, romance ... and thriller. With its truly beautiful writing and memorable characters, this book is sure to appeal to many different types of readers. I received this book in return for an honest review. Full blog post (24 November): https://booksdirectonline.blogspot.com/2016/11/the-nearly-girl-by-lisa-de-nikolits.html