The Next Scott Nadelson: A Life in Progress

The Next Scott Nadelson: A Life in Progress

by Scott Nadelson

NOOK Book(eBook)

$10.99 $16.95 Save 35% Current price is $10.99, Original price is $16.95. You Save 35%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now


The Next Scott Nadelson: A Life in Progress by Scott Nadelson

Beginning in the summer of 2004, Scott Nadelson’s life fell apart. His fiancée left him a month before their planned wedding for another woman who made her living performing as a drag king. He moved into a drafty attic. His car’s brakes went out. He learned that his cat was dying. Over the next two years, he’d struggle, with equivocal and sometimes humiliating results, to get back on his feet, in the process re-examining his past to understand his present circumstances.

The Next Scott Nadelson: A Life in Progress is a literary self-portrait that revolves around the dissolution of a relationship but encompasses the long process of a young man’s halting self-discovery. Exploring episodes from the life of its author/narrator marked by failure, suffering, and hope, as well as literary and cultural influence, the book weighs the things that make us want to give up against the things that keep us going. Though many of the pieces are comic and self-deprecating—some self-lacerating—they are above all meditations on the nature of the self and the way it can be constructed through memory, desire, and the imagination. Together they form a larger narrative, a search for fulfillment and identity in a life often governed by fear.

With humor and unflinching honesty, Scott Nadelson scrutinizes his life to discover who he is and finds just how elusive such a discovery can be. To read the resulting book is to join him on a personal journey that is thoughtful, surprising, occasionally hilarious, and unapologetically human.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780986000744
Publisher: Hawthorne Books & Literary Arts, Incorporated
Publication date: 02/18/2013
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 264
File size: 401 KB

About the Author

Scott Nadelson is the author of three story collections published by Hawthorne, including Aftermath and The Cantor’s Daughter. A winner of the Oregon Book Award for short fiction, the Reform Judaism Fiction Prize, and the Great Lakes Colleges New Writers Award, he teaches creative writing at Willamette University and in the Rainier Writing Workshop MFA Program at Pacific Lutheran University. He lives in Salem, Oregon.

Table of Contents

The Next Scott Nadelson 6

Melancholy Mad in the Soft Night 33
The Two Lances; Or, Self-Portrait with Flames 41
The Secret Well 56
Scavengers 64
The Nothing That Is 86
A Minor Character 101
First Fees 112
Three Muses 126

I'm Your Man 146
Bachelors 170
Leaving Portland 176
Pal Man 180
A Box of Cat Litter and a Pair of Scars 197
Love Sick 203
The End of the End of Desire 210
Let?s Go Bowling 224
Like Fire on My Skin 228

The Other Scott Nadelson 234

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher

A poignant meditation on love, literature, and the pains as well as the perverse pleasures of loneliness. Nadelson chronicles his life in progress with the wry, warm honesty of an old friend catching up after many years. He reminds us that the world can be simultaneously huge and miniscule, that what we read and see and remember is at once nothing and everything, that wholeness is much greater than any sum total you can imagine." — Meghan Daum, author of Life Would Be Perfect If I Lived In That House

"The Next Scott Nadelson: A Life in Progress is an endearing self-portrait filled with wisdom, humor, and refreshing honesty. Nadelson examines moments in his life marked by failure and disappointment, yet nothing fails or disappoints in this fine modern memoir. A great read." — Dinty W. Moore, author of Between Panic and Desire

"In The Next Scott Nadelson, the title figure is honest, open, and searching, and his presence on the page is truly consoling: his patient excavation of his life will help readers understand their own." — David Shields, author of Reality Hunger: A Manifesto

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews