The Nobel Peace Prize and the Laureates: An Illustrated Biographical History, 1901-2001

The Nobel Peace Prize and the Laureates: An Illustrated Biographical History, 1901-2001

by Irwin Abrams




Abrams (formerly European history and international relations, Antioch U.) presents brief biographical sketches of the 106 recipients of the Nobel Peace Prize during its 100-year history. The information presented in the biographies is naturally geared towards the reasons the prize committee awarded the prize. Also included are three introductory chapters that describe the establishment of the prize by Alfred Nobel, the history of the Norwegian prize committee, and the gradual transformation of the meaning of the prize.

Annotation © Book News, Inc., Portland, OR

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780881353884
Publisher: Watson Publishing International, LLC
Publication date: 09/01/2001
Edition description: Centennial
Pages: 350

Table of Contents

Preface to the Centennial Editionvii
Preface to the First Editionix
Foreword to the First Editionxiii
Part 1The Nobel Peace Prize1
1Alfred Nobel and the Establishment of the Peace Prize3
2The Norwegian Nobel Committee11
3Nobel's Expectations and the Transformation of the Prize21
Bibliographical Notes33
Part 2The Laureates37
1The Peace Prize over the Years: 1901-1839
Frederic Passy (1901)44
Jean Henri (Henry) Dunant (1901)46
Elie Ducommun (1902)49
Albert Gobat (1902)51
William Randal Cremer (1903)53
Institute of International Law (1904)55
Bertha von Suttner (1905)56
Theodore Roosevelt (1906)59
Louis Renault (1907)62
Ernesto Teodoro Moneta (1907)64
Fredrik Bajer (1908)66
Klas Pontus Arnoldson (1908)67
Baron Paul Henri d'Estournelles de Constant (1909)69
Auguste Beernaert (1909)71
Permanent International Peace Bureau (1910)73
Alfred hermann Fried (1911)76
Tobias Asser (1911)78
Elihu Root (1912)79
Henri Marie La Fontaine (1913)82
International Committee of the Red Cross (1917)84
2The Peace Prize over the Years: 1919-3987
Woodrow Wilson (1919)91
Leon Bourgeois (1920)94
Hjalmar Branting (1921)97
Christian Lange (1921)98
Fridtjof Nansen (1922)101
Charles Gates Dawes (1925)104
The Locarno Pact106
Austen Chamberlain (1925)109
Aristide Briand (1926)110
Gustav Stresemann (1926)111
Ludwig Quidde (1927)113
Ferdinand Buisson (1927)115
Frank B. Kellogg (1929)117
Nathan Soderblom (1930)120
Jane Addams (1931)122
Nicholas Murray Butler (1931)125
Norman Angell (1933)128
Arthur Henderson (1934)131
Carl von Ossietzky (1935)133
Carlos Saavedra Lamas (1936)137
Viscount Cecil of Chelwood (1937)139
Nansen International Office for Refugees (1938)142
3The Peace Prize over the Years: 1940-59145
International Committee of the Red Cross (1944)149
Cordell Hull (1945)150
Emily Greene Balch (1946)153
John R. Mott (1946)157
Friends Service Council (1947) and American Friends Service Committee (1947)159
Lord Boyd Orr of Brechin (1949)162
Ralph J. Bunche (1950)164
Leon Jouhaux (1951)168
Albert Schweitzer (1952)170
George Catlett Marshall (1953)173
Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (1954)176
Lester Bowles Pearson (1957)178
Father Dominique Pire (1958)180
Philip Noel-Baker (1959)183
4The Peace Prize over the Years: 1960-87187
Albert John Lutuli (1960)190
Dag Hammarskjold (1961)193
Linus Pauling (1962)196
International Committee of the Red Cross (1963) and League of Red
Cross Societies (1963)199
Martin Luther King, Jr. (1964)202
United Nations Children's Fund (1965)206
Rene-Samuel Cassin (1968)208
International Labor Organization (1969)210
Norman Borlaug (1970)212
Willy Brandt (1971)215
Henry A. Kissinger (1973) and Le Duc Tho (1973)218
Sean MacBride (1974)223
Eisaku Sato (1974)226
Andrei Sakharov (1975)228
Mairead Corrigan [Maguire] (1976) and Betty Williams (1976)232
Amnesty International (1977)236
Mohamed Anwar el-Sadat (1978) and Menachem Begin (1978)238
Mother Teresa (1979)243
Adolfo Perez Esquivel (1980)246
Office of the United Nations High Commissioner of Refugees (1981)248
Alva Reimer Myrdal (1982) and Alfonso Garcia Robles (1982)250
Lech Walesa (1983)256
Desmond Mpilo Tutu (1984)260
International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War (1985)263
Elie Wiesel (1986)266
Oscar Arias Sanchez (1987)269
5The Peace Prize over the Years: 1988-2001273
United Nations Peacekeeping Forces (1988)277
Tenzin Gyatso, the Fourteenth Dalai Lama of Tibet (1989)279
Mikhail Sergeyevich Gorbachev (1990)283
Aung San Suu Kyi (1991)288
Rigoberta Menchu Tum (1992)292
Nelson Mandela and Frederik W. de Klerk (1993)297
Yasser Arafat, Shimon Peres and Yitzhak Rabin (1994)302
Joseph Rotblat and Pugwash Conferences on Science and World Affairs (1995)308
Carlos Belo and Jose Ramos-Horta (1996)313
International Campaign to Ban Landmines and Jody Williams (1997)318
John Hume and David Trimble (1998)323
Doctors Without Borders / Medicins Sans Frontieres (1999)326
Kim Dae-jung (2000)328
Kofi A. Annan and the United Nations (2001)330
BAlfred Nobel's Will339
CInvitation to Nominate Candidates for the Nobel Peace Prize340
DNobel Peace Prize Winners341

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews