The Old Testament Story / Edition 4

The Old Testament Story / Edition 4

by John H. Tullock
Pub. Date:
Prentice Hall Professional Technical Reference

Hardcover - Rent for

Select a Purchase Option (Older Edition)
  • purchase options

Temporarily Out of Stock Online


The Old Testament Story / Edition 4

Designed for students with little or no knowledge of the Old Testament, this text provides complete background detail as it follows the story told by the Old Testament/Hebrew Bible. Examines the separate biblical books and illustrates the literary structure of each of the books of the Protestant Christian Old Testament/Hebrew Bible.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780132663472
Publisher: Prentice Hall Professional Technical Reference
Publication date: 11/28/1996
Edition description: Older Edition
Pages: 448
Product dimensions: 7.21(w) x 9.56(h) x 0.97(d)

Table of Contents

  1. The Book and Those Who Study It.

  2. The Geographical and Historical Setting for the Old Testament Prior to 1200 B.C.E.

  3. Israel Looks at the Beginnings.

  4. Israel Becomes a People: Exodus and Wilderness.

  5. Israel Gains a Home: Joshua and Judges.

  6. Israel Gains a King: Samuel and Saul.

  7. Israel's Time of Glory: David and Solomon.

  8. Israel Becomes Two: The History of the Northern Kingdom.

  9. Judah: Rehoboam to Hezekiah (922-687 B.C.E.).

10. Judah: Manasseh to Zedekiah and the Exile.

11. The Exile: Judah's Dark Night of the Soul.

12. The Postexilic Period: Judah Revived.

13. A Legacy of Israel: Wise Men and Psalm Singers.

14. The Time of Silence: Judah in Eclipse.

Epilogue: The Continuing Story.

For Further Study.

Comprehensive Chronological Chart.


Endnote and Bibliographical Abbreviations.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews