The Only One In The Room: A Lifetime of Observations on Race

The Only One In The Room: A Lifetime of Observations on Race

by Milton Thompson


$11.69 $12.99 Save 10% Current price is $11.69, Original price is $12.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
5 New & Used Starting at $1.99


The Only One in the Room is a serious treatment on the subject of race in America, exploring why the problems persist, and what Christ-followers must do to help our nation heal.
Throughout his life, especially while working as a high-profile professional in the Midwest, author Milton Thompson was often the only African American in his circles. A minister and educator, he uses the backdrop of his personal journey to skillfully and knowledgeably assess where we’ve been as a nation, and where we are now.
The Only One in the Room crosses several literary genres, and offers readers ~
  • The moving story of a remarkable African American family
  • Provocative social and political commentary
  • An intimate look at an enduring love story
  • Biblical hope and inspiration  
Thompson says he’s become more reflective about race as he’s gotten older. He possesses a seasoned, gracious, and godly perspective, which is just what we need right now.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781629985404
Publisher: Charisma Media
Publication date: 07/05/2016
Edition description: First
Pages: 176
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.20(h) x 0.60(d)

About the Author

Milton Thompson was born in Racine, Wisconsin, to parents who came North during the 1950s as part of the Great Migration of African Americans from the South. He grew up during the Civil Rights movement, and has witnessed the successes and failures in America’s struggle with the issue of race. He holds a master’s degree in Educational Administration, and has served as a pastor and school district superintendent. He is married, and the father of four adult children. 

Table of Contents

Acknowledgments ix

Introduction xiii

Chapter 1 My Constant Companion 1

Chapter 2 The Superficial Wound 11

Chapter 3 Arzell and Mary Thompson 19

Chapter 4 Follow the North Star 31

Chapter 5 Age of Discovery 37

Chapter 6 Crossing the Line 45

Chapter 7 Learning My Place 53

Chapter 8 The Professor 63

Chapter 9 Guess Who's Coming for Christmas? 67

Chapter 10 A Slice of Heaven 73

Chapter 11 "The Cousins" 77

Chapter 12 Irish for Good Measure 83

Chapter 13 My Brothers and the Success of My Family 93

Chapter 14 Justice and the Lens of Race 109

Chapter 15 Progress and the Unfinished Work 117

Chapter 16 Out of Character 129

Epilogue 139

Notes 153

About the Author 155

Contact the Author 156

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Only One In The Room: A Lifetime of Observations on Race 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book helped me understand the deep challenge of living with black skin in America today. His accounts of family vacations to the South during his youth were chilling.