The Orphan's Daughter: A heartbreaking and absolutely unforgettable page-turner set in Ireland

The Orphan's Daughter: A heartbreaking and absolutely unforgettable page-turner set in Ireland

by Sandy Taylor

$10.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, February 24

Overview

Ireland, 1924. For thirteen-year-old Nora Doyle every day is a fight for survival in Ballybun, the rural Irish village she calls home. Each night, as she feels the cold wind blowing through the cracks of her family’s cramped cottage, Nora longs to escape the poverty surrounding her, and find her place in the world.



When she meets Edward, from the grand house that looms over her tiny village, she feels an unlikely kinship that is impossible to explain, and as she grows from an impulsive child into a beautiful woman, Nora spends every moment she can with him. But Edward holds the key to a devastating truth about Nora’s own family that will change her life forever, leading Nora away from the village, to the bright, dazzling lights of Dublin, and the charming baker Joe Lynch.



But sorrow is never far away for an Irish village girl, and when tragedy strikes, Nora must return to Ballybun and face up to the truth that drove her away. But back amongst the familiar sights and smells of her childhood, Nora feels herself drawn once more to her old life, and love, and she faces an impossible choice. Can she deny her roots, or will she always be the girl from Paradise Alley?



A heart-wrenching story of love, loss and the power of friendship during unimaginable hardship. This book is perfect for fans of Orphan Train and Diney Costeloe’s The Girl with No Name.

What readers are saying about Sandy Taylor:



Oh my word what a fabulous bookI just loved every page of it. This book drew me right in and I was glued to it right up to the final page… A massive 5 stars from me.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars



Wowright from the start I was hooked to the pages… brilliant… full of joy and also heartbreak… my heart was being wrenched out… an absolutely gorgeous story full of highs and lows… I couldn’t put this book down.’ Katie’s Book Cave, 5 stars



Wow!! What a heartbreaking story I ever read! I absolutely loved that book sooooo much… I definitely will read more books from this author… amazing!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 star



Oh WOW… What a beautiful heart-warming story this is… drew me in and I loved it from the very first page. I couldn’t get enough… I was reading this until 1am.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars



I fell in love fabulous an enthralling read that I didn't want to put down. I was so wrapped up heart-warming and beautifully written… will have you hooked until the very last page.’ By the Letter Book Reviews, 5 stars

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781786819086
Publisher: StoryFire LTD
Publication date: 02/05/2020
Pages: 314
Sales rank: 831,451
Product dimensions: 5.06(w) x 7.81(h) x 0.70(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Orphan's Daughter: A heartbreaking and absolutely unforgettable page-turner set in Ireland 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
gaele 6 days ago
The book starts when Nora and Kitty are thirteen, best friends and have slipped through a hole in the fence to the grounds of Bretton Hall, the big house in their little rural corner of County Cork. The two are gossiping and mimicking the attendees to a funeral procession, and in breaking in to be closer to the place they both hope to work in the future, they meet Edward, the groom’s son. Full of adventure and a bit of the forbidden, the three see the walled garden, learn about the plants from Edward, and the first bonds of a lasting friendship will be sown. But the girls have been told, frequently, to stay away from the big house: Nora’s mother was once employed there and refuses to talk about that time. Yet the friendship between Nora and Eddie strengthens, much to everyone’s dismay. With growth and upheaval, it’s soon up to Nora to make choices between her friends and family, while still not completely understanding all of the possible ramifications. Oh this was lovely and fully of “it’s time” as there is an undercurrent of innocence and purity that seems to thread through even the most trying of situations. From Nora and Kitty and their friendship, to the true bond that she and Eddie form, all the way through to her own relationship with her family and some secrets that they reveal, the story is touching, clever and feels utterly plausible. There is plenty of atmosphere, as Taylor’s prose takes on the feel of the Irish Storyteller at the pub - allowing the moments to stand alone and be unique before other elements are coming into play. A lovely story that brings the place and people forward while allowing the reader to escape into the pages and stories. I received an eArc copy of the title from the publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.
Joycerl 6 days ago
Some books get a hold of you right from the first sentence.This is one of those books. It follows the life of 13 yr old Nora Doyle and her friend Kitty.They find a hole in the wall of the big house they are forbidden to go near.They crawl through it and find Eddie. The story starts from that point and keeps you wondering what Eddies secret is.Beautifully written story of enduring friendships,loss and hardships. Thankyou Netgalley for this ARC
Anonymous 9 days ago
Somewhere along the line this title got changed from "The Girl from Paradise Alley" to this one and I don't understand why. It literally makes no sense as she is not an orphan nor are her parents. In fact, it's the strong family unit that is the heart and soul of this story. Nora Doyle is a 14 year old girl and with her best friend, Kitty, likes to attend funerals and rate them on a star system. Living in the small town of Ballybun in the County of Cork, this is what passes for entertainment. There is a large house that is full of secrets and when she meets Edward, the young boy from the house, she starts uncovering them. The book is full of the love of books and in fact Nora's goal is to work in a bookstore. Grandpa Doyle teaches her big words that she uses. Other than that, there is not much of a story. She grows older and things happen but slowly. I am not even sure what type of book this is. It's a pleasant read where nothing much happens. I don't know why they changed the title name but it's a shame. It has nothing to do with the story and should be changed back. Thanks to Net Galley for a copy of this book in exchange for a fair review.
suesue62 12 days ago
We meet 13 year old Nora Doyle , her best friend Kitty, and Nora's family in the small Irish village of Ballybun. Nora and Kitty share adventures together and one day discover a hole in wall surrounding the big house on the hill. The house were Nora has been forbidden to go. But, the hidden garden and the boy, Eddie, that they find once through the hole in the wall proves to be an instant draw and Nora can't stay away. As her relationship with Eddie develops, she finds a connection she can't describe or explain. A trip with her Mammy reveals truths Nora will find hard to hear but will explain so much. Life's difficulties and tragedies shape Nora's decisions and future but just when she thinks she got it figured out, a tragic accident changes her path once again. Compelling writing will leave the reader with a lasting impression and a yearning to read more of Sandy Taylor's books!
Rhonda-Runner1 14 days ago
Wow, this is another great book that really deserves more than 5 stars. It is a heartwarming as well as a heartbreaking story all at the same time. Nora Doyle and Kitty Quinn are two thirteen-year-olds growing up in Ballybun, Ireland in 1924 who are best friends and seem to be joined at the hip. As the girls mature and finish school, they begin their careers. Kitty goes to work at Bretton Hall and Nora leaves for Dublin to work in a book store. The story takes on a lot of different threads which are all tied nicely together in the end by this author. I absolutely loved this book and how this author wove all the characters and story lines together without it being confusing. Thank you NetGalley and Bookouture for the ARC of this wonderful book in exchange for an honest review. Warning: Keep the tissues handy!
Shelley-S-Reviewer 14 days ago
Sandy Taylor is one of those authors whose books I eagerly wait for and pick up without even reading the blurb - she always delivers. With this book she has raised the bar already set so very high with her previous stunning stories. This story is exquisite perfection. Well crafted, beautifully written, emotional, poignant and immersive. I lived every word. The sense of time and place is, as with all her books, just perfect. All the characters come alive on the page. I felt for both Nora and Eddie and their circumstances. I felt that this book was hopeful enough, while still telling the sad, realistic stories that accompany this period in time. I enjoyed the characters and thinking about how different scenarios were taking place with the children of similar ages but different classes. How they experienced similar things, but with their own personal elements. I was enthralled with the story all the way to the end and stayed up too late reading, but it was worth it. A wonderful story, masterfully written. Very highly recommended to everyone.
PatriciaFairweatherRomero 14 days ago
The setting is Ireland in 1924. Nora Doyle is a thirteen-year-old girl, living in a rural area where the struggle for survival is very real. She and her family live in a small cottage that is cold and cramped. She wants to escape being poor, but she doesn't let it stop her smile. One day as she and her best friend, Kitty, are watching another funeral procession they notice the big house on the hill. Nora really wants to see the place where her mother worked at one time and has now forbidden Nora from ever going there but won't say why. When Kitty talks her into sneaking into the garden, the adventure begins. They find an opening and in they go. The garden is beautiful and they aren't the only ones there. A boy named Edward is there. The three form a fast friendship that has Nora spending all the time she can in their secret garden. But Nora is sneaking around going against her mother's wishes. And Edward is the key to a family secret that could change Nora's life forever. This one tugged on my heartstrings. The brutal hardships, the loss, and even the friendships. Well Done! The author pulls us in and doesn't let go. I like that. NetGalley/ February 5th, 2020 by Bookouture