The Papers of Sherlock Holmes Volume I

The Papers of Sherlock Holmes Volume I

by David Marcum

NOOK Book(eBook)

$9.49 $9.99 Save 5% Current price is $9.49, Original price is $9.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


Spanning events over thirty years, Volume I of The Papers of Sherlock Holmes relates narratives of Holmes and Watson's days in Baker Street, as well as particulars of Holmes's supposed retirement. Follow along as The Master and his Boswell travel from the streets of London to the Kent countryside, to Oxford and Sussex. Written in traditional canonical style, these stories provide fresh details of Holmes's world. Join us as we climb the seventeen steps to the Baker Street sitting room, where Holmes and Watson prepare to begin their next adventure. The game is afoot!

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781780924281
Publisher: Andrews UK
Publication date: 07/26/2013
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 1,238,623
File size: 1 MB

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Papers of Sherlock Holmes: Volume One 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Philip_K_Jones More than 1 year ago
This is the first collection of Sherlockian tales from this author. It includes eight novellas and two short stories as well as an explanation of the source of the stories. “The Adventure of the Least Winning Woman,” is not to be confused with “…the most winning woman…” cited in The Sign of Four. It describes an interesting case of blackmail and appropriation of a business for criminal purposes. In “The Adventure of the Treacherous Tea,” Holmes is engaged by a man arrested for murder who escaped from the police simply to flee to Holmes to plead with him to look into his arrest. “The Singular Affair at Sissinghurst Castle” brings Holmes and Watson face-to-face with another local legend of historic evil. This one seems to have been used by a sharp business practitioner. “The Adventure of the Second Chance” is a short story that describes Holmes’ dealings with the family of a man in Professor Moriarty’s employ. It begins during ”Silver Blaze” and concludes in 1901 with an execution. “The Affair of the Brother’s Request” is another tale that covers decades in time. It cites a separate tale of Holmes’ adventures in the post-Civil-War Southern USA and concludes with a trip to the area by Holmes and Watson after WW-I. “The Adventure of the Madman’s Ceremony” occurs during the same trip by Holmes and Watson after WW-I and involves some chance-met acquaintances. “The Haunting of Sutton House” tells two tales. One is yet another use of legends for profit that Holmes wrecks and the other is a tale of family wrangling that arises from insanity. “The Adventure of the Missing Missing Link” tells of Holmes and Watson’s involvement in the Piltdown discovery. It also tells of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s involvement and of some of the principals as well. “The Adventure of the Other Brother” goes into some depth in describing the other members of the Holmes family as well as their relations and pseudonyms over the years. Two well-known detective duos are identified and related to each other in roundabout fashion. The final item is titled “Postscript: Two Letters.” It provides some continuity and explanation for the sources of these tales. This collection is difficult to describe. This is clearly a different Holmes and Watson than the characters we see in the Canon. This Watson is sensible, curious and sensitive while this Holmes is human and caring. The explanation, we are told, is that these are not tales prepared by Watson for publication, but rather are tales prepared by the editor from notes taken by Watson, either as the events occurred or shortly thereafter. These are darker and more realistic tales than we see in the Canon. Here criminals are filled with fear and hatred and pride. Victims are afraid and confused and distracted and events often occur at random, not as part of a plan. The stories are interesting and the Holmes and Watson we meet are also interesting, if not the same as their Canonical counterparts. Reviewed by: Philip K. Jones, November, 2012 NOTE: This book was re-issued in two volumes. Volume #1 includes five tales and volume #2, which will be available in September, 2013, will include the other three tales. Minor changes have been made to some stories.
DarkRavenDH More than 1 year ago
Shades of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle! The Papers of Sherlock Holmes: Volume One by David Marcum My thanks to Steve and Timi of MX Books for my review copy of this volume! You guys have been wonderful! This book consists of six short stories told in the classic style of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. Mr. Marcum does an excellent job of finding the voice of the original canon. This book is highly recommended! “The Adventure of the Least Winning Woman” deals with a hostile takeover of a messenger business. The firm was established by Mrs. Trapp and her daughter Jane. However; a woman named Margeaux has taken over after one of Mrs. Trapp’s gambling trips to Monte Carlo. Holmes has Margeaux down in his files as “the least winning woman…” “The Adventure of the Treacherous Tea” begins with a young man dashing to 221B just ahead of the police. He had been drinking tea at his desk in Gilder and Sons building trade with a man named Cheltenham when the latter collapsed and died from strychnine poisoning. The young man, named Billy Ericson, was formerly a police inspector who had been forced to resign under a cloud… (I found the reference to number 7 Pared Street a nice touch! I love Solar Pons!) “The Singular Affair at Sissinghurst Castle” involves Mr. Stanley Cornwallis, the owner, who is being plagued by a trespassing treasure hunter. The man has pried up some of the castle’s flagstone terrace. This trespasser named Philo T Burke states that a former owner of the castle, Sir John “Bloody” Baker left buried treasure. So when a skeleton is unearthed… “The Adventure of the Second Chance” starts with a Moriarty aide named Tom Morgan asking Holmes to help Morgan’s son James from being forced into the gang. James has a remarkable talent for art, which Tom Morgan knows will be twisted to suit the needs of the Moriarty gang. Essentially he is asking Holmes to give his son a break, a second chance to live a crime free lifestyle… “The Haunting of Sutton House” goes against everything Holmes stands for. He stands firm upon science and “no ghosts need apply.” But Raymond Thorne claims he is buying Sutton House from his cousin, Banker Walter Mason. But the house has a reputation for being haunted, and Thorne wants Holmes opinion on it as a skeptical investigator. This story has an added ‘case within the case’ that only ups the value of the story! “The Adventure of the Missing ‘Missing Link’” has to do with the excavations at Piltdown, which resulted in the now infamous “Piltdown Man.” The skull had been sent to Sir William Olster for examination. However; he only manages a cursory glance before the skull is expertly stolen from his house. The twists in this tale are truly amazing. Each story here is worth five stars on their own merit, and I give the volume five stars plus! Quoth the Raven…