The Paradox of Vertical Flight

The Paradox of Vertical Flight

by Emil Ostrovski

Hardcover

$17.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Usually ships within 6 days

Overview

Hilarious, deeply moving, mind-bending, original, romantic, and surprising, this debut teen novel by Emil Ostrovski will appeal to fans of John Green, Chris Crutcher, and Andrew Smith. Gary Shteyngart, author of the New York Times bestseller Super Sad True Love Story, says: "Do yourself a favor and get inside a car with Emil Ostrovski immediately! The Paradox of Vertical Flight is an amazing road trip. You're in for one heck of a ride." An Indie Next Pick!

On the morning of his eighteenth birthday, Jack Polovsky kidnaps his own baby, names him Socrates, stocks up on baby supplies at Walmart, and hits the road with his best friend, Tommy, and with the baby's mother, Jess. As they head to Grandma's house (eluding the police at every turn), Jack tells baby Socrates the Greek myths—because all stories spring from those stories, really. Even this one. By turns funny, heart wrenching, and wholly original, this debut novel by Emil Ostrovski explores the nature of family, love, friendship, fatherhood, and myth.

"Shares a sense of humor and philosophical bent with such YA authors as John Green and Chris Crutcher. But the story and likable characters are Ostrovsky's own, a delightful mix of quirky, intelligent, naive, well-intentioned, and just plain dumb teens. A delightful success."—ALA Booklist

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062238528
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 09/24/2013
Pages: 272
Product dimensions: 5.80(w) x 8.30(h) x 1.10(d)
Age Range: 14 - 17 Years

About the Author

Emil Ostrovski emigrated from Russia when he was two years old. He graduated from Vassar College in 2012 with a degree in philosophy and currently attends the MFA program in creative writing at Columbia University. The Paradox of Vertical Flight is his first novel.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Paradox of Vertical Flight 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Seghetto More than 1 year ago
Not bad for a first try.