The Platinum Collection

The Platinum Collection

by Joe Dolan


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


The Platinum Collection

Released less than a year after Joe Dolan's death, The Platinum Collection is a comprehensive greatest-hits collection that spans five decades over the course of 59 tracks. Dolan hit the Top Ten in five straight decades, from the 1960s to the 2000s, and remained not only active but relevant up until his death in 2007. While there's no shortage of Dolan compilations on the market, The Platinum Collection is the best and most comprehensive to date. Sequenced in chronological order, it opens with his first single, a cover of Del Shannon's "The Answer to Everything" that was a Top Five hit on the Irish charts in 1964. He continued to score hits throughout the mid- to late '60s, and many of them are compiled here, including "I Love You More and More Everyday," "My Own Peculiar Way," and "Aching Breaking Heart." The 12th track, "Make Me an Island," marks a turning point in his career. Written by Albert Hammond and Mike Hazlewood, the song was his biggest hit to date; it reached the Top Five of the U.K. singles chart in 1969 and was also a hit in many other countries. Another turning point comes at track 20, the 1974 hit "Sweet Little Rock n Roller," the first of many songs written for him by Roberto Danova and Peter Yellowstone. The biggest hit of his career, "Lady in Blue" from 1975, one of those Danova/Yellowstone songs, shows up a couple tracks later. One of his last international hits, "I Need You" from 1977, is sequenced halfway through the compilation at track 26. From this point onward, the material steadily lessens in quality. Dolan continued to score hits in the 1980s, but it wasn't until the late '90s that he turned his career around with Joe's 90's (1998) and 21st Century Joe (1999). Comprised of contemporary pop covers such as Blur's "The Universal," Pulp's "Disco 2000," and R.E.M.'s "Everybody Hurts" (all three of which are compiled here, along with a few others), these albums introduced Dolan to a new generation of listeners. Lastly, The Platinum Collection closes with a handful of post-millennial hits by Dolan that were released up until his death.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/01/2005
Label: Imports
UPC: 5099926628028
catalogNumber: 1127401


Disc 1

  1. The Answer to Everything
  2. I Love You More and More Everyday
  3. My Own Perculiar Way
  4. But I Do
  5. Pretty Brown Eyes
  6. Aching Breaking Heart
  7. Tar and Cement
  8. The House With the Whitewashed Gable
  9. Love of the Common People
  10. Unchained Melody
  11. Westmeath Bachelor
  12. Make Me an Island
  13. Teresa
  14. You're Such a Good Looking Woman
  15. It Makes No Difference
  16. Sometimes a Man Just Has to Cry
  17. You and the Looking Glass
  18. Saturday Night at the Movies
  19. Danny Boy
  20. Sweet Little Rock N Roller
  21. I'll Take the Money and Run
  22. Lady in Blue
  23. Crazy Woman
  24. Sister Mary
  25. You Belong to Me Baby

Disc 2

  1. I Need You
  2. Midnight Lover
  3. Hush Hush Maria
  4. Don't You Ever Change Your Mind
  5. If I Could Put My Life on Paper
  6. My Love
  7. Ave Maria
  8. More and More
  9. Deeper and Deeper
  10. Goodbye Venice Goodbye
  11. Silent Night
  12. It's You, It's You, It's You
  13. Take Me I'm Yours
  14. Sometimes When We Touch
  15. Come Back Home
  16. Wait Till the Clouds Roll By (Jenny)
  17. She Doesn't Live Here Anymore
  18. Ciara
  19. I'll Give All My Love to You
  20. Endless Magic

Disc 3

  1. Disco 2000
  2. The Universal
  3. Place Your Hands
  4. Everybody Hurts
  5. Brilliant Disguise
  6. Better Man
  7. Dreaming of You
  8. Have I Told You Lately
  9. Little Green Bag
  10. These Are the Days of Our Lives
  11. Let There Be Love
  12. Just a Gigolo/I Ain't Got Nobody
  13. Volare (Nel Blu Di Pinto Di Blu)
  14. O Holy Night

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Joe Dolan   Primary Artist

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews