ISBN-10:
0792343379
ISBN-13:
9780792343370
Pub. Date:
12/31/1996
Publisher:
Springer Netherlands
The Present Status of the Quantum Theory of Light: Proceedings of a Symposium in Honour of Jean-Pierre Vigier / Edition 1

The Present Status of the Quantum Theory of Light: Proceedings of a Symposium in Honour of Jean-Pierre Vigier / Edition 1

Hardcover

Current price is , Original price is $379.99. You

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Please check back later for updated availability.

MARKETPLACE
2 New & Used Starting at $319.81

Overview

This volume contains the proceedings of a symposium held in honour of Jean-Pierre Vigier in Toronto, Canada, in August 1995. It encompasses many areas in which he has been active over the years, such as stochastic interpretations of quantum mechanics, particle physics and electromagnetic theory. The papers have been loosely ordered in the following categories: ideas about the nature of light and photons; electrodynamics; the formulation and interpretation of quantum mechanics; and aspects of relativity theory. Some of the papers presented deal with alternate interpretations of quantum phenomena in the tradition of Vigier, Bohm et al. The current experimental situation allows for the first time for individual quantum events to be studied, and this opens possibilities for challenges to the orthodox interpretation to be realised. Audience: This book will be of interest to graduate level students and researchers whose work involves quantum mechanics, electromagnetic theory, optics and optoelectronics.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780792343370
Publisher: Springer Netherlands
Publication date: 12/31/1996
Series: Fundamental Theories of Physics , #80
Edition description: 1997
Pages: 554
Product dimensions: 6.10(w) x 9.25(h) x 0.24(d)

Table of Contents

Preface. Introduction to the Conference. A Quantum of Light Shed on a Classical Problem; C.K. Whitney. A Classical Photon Model; R.J. Beil. Stationary Vacuum-Polarization 'P Fields': the Missing Element in Electromagnetism and Quantum Mechanics; M.H. MacGregor. Electrons and Photons as Soliton-Waves; G. Hunter. Topological Solitons in Non-Linear Electrodynamics; G. Kälbermann. A Particle or a Photon in a Field; T.W. Marshall, E. Santos. Could the Photon be Superfluous? M. Sachs. Fluctuation-Dissipation Quantum Electrodynamics; G.F. Efremov, et al. Einstein-de-Broglie-Proca Theory of Light and Simultaneous Existence of Transverse and Longitudinal Photons; S. Roy, M. Roy. Origin, Observation and Consequences of the B(3) Field; M.W. Evans. Opto-Magnetic Effects in Non-Absorbing Media: Problems of Measurement and Interpretation; S. Jeffers, et al. Generalized Equations of Electrodynamics of Continuous Media; V.M. Dubovik, et al. Maxwellian Analysis of Reflection and Refraction; R.D. Prosser, et al. Solutions of Maxwell Equations for a Hollow Curved Wave Conductor; N. Bashkov, A. Tchernomorov. Maxwell's Equations Directly from the Dynamics of Point Particles; G.N. Ord. Obtaining the Schrödinger and Dirac Equations from the Einstein/KAC Model of Brownian Motion by Projection; G.N. Ord. Derivation of the Schrödinger Equation; T.B. Andrews. An Appraisal of Stochastic Interpretations of Quantum Mechanics; M. Baublitz, Jr. Compatible Statistical Interpretation of Quantum Beats; M. Bozic. Stochastic Non-Markov Model of Quantum Mechanical Behaviour; S.R. Vatsya. A Fundamental Force as the Deterministic Explanation of Quantum Mechanics; B.J. Dalton. A Geometric Approach to the Quantum Mechanics of the Broglie and Vigier; W.R. Wood, G. Papini. Stable Orbits as Limit Cycles; S. Bergia. The Correspondence Principle: Periodic Orbits from Quantum Mechanics; D. Provost. Neutron Interferometric Experiments on Quantum Mechanics; G. Badurek. Enigmatic Neutrons; V.K. Ignatovich. Experiments to Test the Reality of De Broglie Waves; J.R. Croca. Preselected Quantum Optical Correlations; M. Pavičić. Apparent Contradiction in EPR Correlations; L.C. Ryff. The Wave- particle Duality; E. Bitsakis. Quantum Mechanical Tunneling in a Causal Interpretation; M. Clarkson. Quantum Uncertainty, Wave-particle Duality and Fundamental Symmetries; P. Rowlands. On the Contradiction between Quantum Mechanics and Relativity: a Superluminal Quantum Morse Telegraph; A. Garuccio. Incompatibility between Einstein's Relativity and Lorentz's Equations; P. Marmet. On Self-Interaction and (Non-)Perturbative Quantum GRT; H.-H. von Borzeszkowski. Classical Physics Foundations for Quantum Physics; L. Motz, D.W. Kraft. Inertial Transformations: A Review; F. Selleri. The Lorentz Invariance Revisited; M. Surdin. A New Type of Massive Spin-One Boson: And Its Relation with Maxwell Equations; D.V. Ahluwalia. Implications of Extended Models of the Electron for Particle Theory and Cosmology; E.J. Sternglass. The Takabayasi Moving Frame, from the A Potential to the Z Boson; R. Boudet. The Nature of the Cosmological Redshift; M. Moles. A Quantum Digital Theory of Light; N.V. Pope. Toward a Comprehensible Physical Theory: Gravity and Quantum Mechanics; H. Yilmaz. Hidden Background Field and Quantum Non-Locality; R. Ramanathan. Einstein-Podolsky-Rosen Correlations within Bell Region; R. Horodecki. Electromagnetic Gauge as Integration Condition and Selection of the Source Adhering Gauge; O. Costa de Beauregard. Author Index.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews