The Professor of Secrets: Mystery, Medicine, and Alchemy in Renaissance Italy

The Professor of Secrets: Mystery, Medicine, and Alchemy in Renaissance Italy

by William Eamon
3.4 7

NOOK Book(eBook)

$12.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

The Professor of Secrets: Mystery, Medicine, and Alchemy in Renaissance Italy by William Eamon

In the tradition of Galileo's Daughter and Brunelleschi's Dome, this exciting story illuminates the captivating world of the late Renaissance—in this case its plagues, remedies, and alchemy—through the life of Leonardo Fioravanti, a brilliant, remarkably forward-thinking, and utterly unconventional doctor. Fioravanti's marvelous cures and talent for self-aggrandizement earned him the adoration of the people, the scorn of the medical establishment, and a reputation as one of the age's most colorful, combative figures. Written by Pulitzer-prize nominated historian William Eamon, The Professor of Secrets entices readers into a dangerous scientific underworld of sorcerers and surgeons. Meticulously researched and engagingly written, this gripping narrative will appeal to those interested in Renaissance history, the development of science, and the historical thrillers so popular today.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781426206856
Publisher: National Geographic Society
Publication date: 07/20/2010
Sold by: Penguin Random House Publisher Services
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 368
Sales rank: 1,170,356
File size: 1 MB

About the Author

William Eamon is a widely published, internationally known and respected scholar based at New Mexico State University. His first book, Science and the Secrets of Nature: Books of Secrets in the Medieval and Early Modern Culture was nominated for a Pulitzer Prize in history and won the History Book Award from the Association of American Publishers. He is co-editor of the excellently reviewedBeyond the Black Legend: Spain and the Scientific Revolution.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Professor of Secrets: Mystery, Medicine, and Alchemy in Renaissance Italy 3.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a nursing major who has always found the history of medicine to be a fascinating subject. For me, this was a wonderfully written book, showing not only details of procedures from the time period, but the politics that surrounded the issues of medicine as well. However, I cannot say that I recommend this for all, since many might find the subject boring, if they are not history nerds like I am. But if the history of medicine is what interests you, then I really do recommend this for you!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago