The Queen Alone [Bonus Tracks]

The Queen Alone [Bonus Tracks]

by Carla Thomas

CD(Expanded / Remastered / Bonus Tracks)

$16.21 $18.99 Save 15% Current price is $16.21, Original price is $18.99. You Save 15%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Wednesday, October 25 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


The Queen Alone [Bonus Tracks]

Carla Thomas was more than deserving of her title "The Queen of Memphis Soul", but she was hardly oblivious to the sleeker, more pop-influenced sweet soul and uptown soul coming out of Detroit, Philadelphia and Chicago. One of her strongest albums, The Queen Alone isn't the work of someone who took a Memphis-only approach, but of someone who was well aware of what Gladys Knight, Dionne Warwick, Martha Reeves and others were up to. What's surprising is the fact that this album (reissued on CD in 1992) contains only two hits: the playful "Something Good (Is Going to Happen to You)," which made it to number 29 on Billboard's soul singles chart, and the idealistic, gospel-influenced ballad and number 11 R&B single "I'll Always Have Faith in You." Songs ranging from the sweet and vulnerable "I Want to Be Your Baby" to the remorseful "All I See Is You" and the pessimistic "Any Day Now" (a song co-written by Burt Bacharach) weren't singles, but it wasn't for a lack of heartfelt singing. Drawing on both Southern and Northern soul, Queen Alone is a pleasant reminder that they were equally attractive options. [This 2007 reissue edition includes five bonus tracks, "Me and My Clock," the impressive "Same Thing," "I Wonder About Love," "I Want to Know" and "Your Love Indeed," all of which were outtakes from the original sessions.]

Product Details

Release Date: 03/20/2007
Label: Stax
UPC: 0888072301108
catalogNumber: 30110
Rank: 292377

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Carla Thomas   Primary Artist

Technical Credits

Steve Cropper   Composer
Eddie Floyd   Composer
Burt Bacharach   Composer
Homer Banks   Composer
Isaac Hayes   Composer
Bob Hilliard   Composer
David Porter   Composer
Ben Weisman   Composer
Deanie Parker   Composer
Rob Bowman   Liner Notes
Loring Eutemey   Cover Design
Joe Shamwell   Composer
Clive Westlake   Composer
Joe Bogart   Author
Alvertis Isbell   Composer
Larissa Collins   Art Direction
Frank Costa   Author
Allen Jones   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews