The Replacement Wife: A Psychological Thriller (New Hope Series, #2)

The Replacement Wife: A Psychological Thriller (New Hope Series, #2)

by Britney King

NOOK Book(eBook)

$4.99
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
LendMe® See Details
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

The Replacement Wife: A Psychological Thriller (New Hope Series, #2) by Britney King

From the bestselling author of The Social Affair comes a new riveting, powerful psychological thriller which offers a savage look into a utopian cultish society where beauty and perfection are valued at all costs.

For readers of Gillian Flynn and Paula Hawkins, The Replacement Wife offers a peek into the lives of a married couple up against impossible odds and the notion that history has a way of repeating itself.

Statistically speaking, fifty percent of marriages end in divorce. What are the odds for murder?

Widower Tom Anderson is a savant with more affinity for numbers than people.  Problem is, one is a lonely number. Thankfully, he solved for X by finding the perfect woman. It wasn't easy. Tom is very specific. He has to be. 

Having checked 'find trophy wife' off his list, life was moving along swimmingly. Until that perfect woman let it slip—she has a past. One she kept hidden, almost perfectly.

Sure, she lied—she fudged the numbers. Most women do. 

Now, Tom has buyers' remorse and according to cult rules only two options: get rid of her—or single-handedly erase her past. 

She's a liar. But she does keep house well. And she makes a mean lasagna. 

Decisions, decisions. 

Razor-sharp and utterly gripping, this electrifying story explores the lengths one will go in the pursuit of perfection, little white lies that can turn lethal, and the danger lurking behind the smiles of those we trust most.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940155445814
Publisher: Hot Banana Press
Publication date: 05/03/2018
Series: New Hope Series , #2
Sold by: Draft2Digital
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 58,039
File size: 920 KB

About the Author

Britney King writes psychological, domestic, and romantic thrillers set in suburbia. She is currently writing three series and several standalone novels. 

The Bedrock series (psychological/domestic/romantic thriller) features an unlikely heroine who should have known better. Turns out, she didn't. Thus she finds herself tangled in a messy, dangerous, forbidden love story and face-to-face with a madman hell-bent on revenge. The series has been compared to Fatal Attraction, Single White Female, and Basic Instinct.

The Water Trilogy (psychological/domestic/romantic thriller) follows the shady love story of an unconventional married couple-- he's an assassin--she kills for fun. It has been compared to a crazier version of Mr. and Mrs. Smith. Also, the hit series Dexter. 

Around The Bend, is a heart-pounding standalone (romantic suspense/domestic/psychological thriller), which traces the journey of a well-to-do suburban housewife, and her life as it unravels, thanks to the secrets she keeps. If she were the only one with things she wanted to keep hidden, then maybe it wouldn't have turned out so bad. But she wasn't.

The With You series (romantic suspense/contemporary romance) is a coming of age, friends to lovers, second chance (plus a few) love story about unlikely friends who travel the world; trying to find themselves, together and apart. It has been compared to Love, Rosie.

Britney lives in Austin, Texas with her husband, children, two dogs, one ridiculous cat, and a partridge in a pear tree.

She enjoys hearing from readers and would love it if you would connect with her at britneyking.com or the plethora of social media accounts she posses. 

To receive an email whenever the author releases a new title, sign up for the VIP newsletter at britneyking.com/subscribe-to-new-releases-newsletter(just copy and paste into your browser).

Her characters may be hard to pin down, but she's not. She loves talking to readers, so feel free to email her at britney@britneyking.com—she does her best to respond to everyone. 

Happy reading.

Connect here:
Web• http://BritneyKing.com
Instagram • https://instagram.com/britneyking_ 
Facebook • https://www.facebook.com/BritneyKingAuthor
Twitter• http://twitter.com/BritneyKing_

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Replacement Wife: A Psychological Thriller 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 6 reviews.
Anonymous 17 days ago
"Too many people believe that just because they're good, everyone else is...People forget how good humans are at rationalizing their behavior. " -Britney King- This book was great! I didn't want to put it down. Definitely a cult perspective with the nuances of such a situation. I liked the ties to The Social Affair but it is not necessary to read that book first.
Anonymous 7 months ago
Good book with twists and turns
Momma_Becky More than 1 year ago
The Replacement Wife takes the reader inside cult lifestyle with all the little ways that the innocent get sucked in. But what if you aren't so innocent? Just when I thought I knew where the author was going, she hit me with another twist, and I was back to square one. The only drawback lay in the abrupt move from present to past and back again without clarification. Nevertheless, the story does keep moving at a fast pace and the almost whiplash inducing twists hit you when you least expect it. Assume nothing, but expect anything with this story of deceit, endless plotting, and a search for perfection that is nothing short of diabolical.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Pretty good read.
Honolulubelle More than 1 year ago
My Rating: 4.5 Favorite Quotes: I’m not ready to die. I always thought I’d be old. I thought I’d have wrinkles and saggy skin…laugh lines well earned… Regret tastes horrible, in case you’re wondering. I might be sick and not for the reason he thinks. That name—his dead wife’s—it’s the first four letter word, not counting work, that I actually dislike. In my experience with organized religion, people wore fake smiles they stretched across their face. They had to grin and bear it, but they were glad when it was over so they could get back to their judging and their sinning. Her chest heaves. It’s like she’s deflating. No need to worry, her implants will keep her afloat. I’m impressed by the way they’re so…out there. The little boy’s face flashes in my mind. I have to admit, he was kind of cute. For a split second, I wonder what it would have been like to have kept him. You know, like finders, keepers. It must be the liquor talking. I’m naked in a trunk. How much worse can it get? It’s like Mark Twain said, it’s no wonder that truth is stranger than fiction. Fiction has to make sense. Secrets do a lot of things. They make you exciting. They make you adventurous. They make you important. But there comes a point where having a secret without anybody knowing loses its fun. And while, maybe you don’t necessarily want to let others in on what that secret is, you at least want them to know you have one. My Review: I’m more than a bit conflicted on how to rate this one. The premise was chilling and the writing was more often than not compelling and shot through with brilliant observations and insight, yet there were times I grew exasperated with the storyline and characters, who were all quite vile. What a nest of vipers! I feel a considerable level of skepticism toward all organized religions and cults, but this church and their “programs” took it to a new level. And I just couldn’t get a handle on the oily Melanie, she obviously thought herself to be quite intelligent, yet she was often moronic, and almost always contemptible. Yet I couldn’t put this intriguing and tautly written book down. This was my first time reading the massively talented Brittany King – the gal has mad skills and may just be an evil genius. But I would caution her family members to tread lightly and always remain on her good side.
SairaM More than 1 year ago
That was an ending I was not expecting. After reading The Social Affair, I just knew I had to read The Replacement Wife. Britney King writes a certain way that captivates a reader. I also enjoyed hearing about characters from previous books. As to not spoil anything, In this book at a certain point a certain thing happened that I had to wrap my head around. I then had to re-read parts to make sure what I read was what I read, it was riveting. Britney King has wowed me again.