The RIAS Second Viennese School Project

The RIAS Second Viennese School Project


$56.99 $59.99 Save 5% Current price is $56.99, Original price is $59.99. You Save 5%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Monday, August 28 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


The RIAS Second Viennese School Project

Scholars and admirers of the music of Arnold Schoenberg, Alban Berg, and Anton Webern should take special note of this four-CD set from Audite, which presents important historic recordings from 1949 to 1965. The significance of these performances is difficult to overstate, because they are in many instances close audio documentation of the performance practices of the Second Viennese School, and in every case they are valuable for the insights of the performers, all skilled interpreters of these works. The quality of these radio broadcast recordings is astonishing, taken as they are from original analog tapes that have been carefully preserved and remastered to CD with artistic sensitivity. Included are such seminal works as Schoenberg's "Pierrot lunaire," the "Chamber Symphony, Op. 9," and the "Piano Concerto"; Berg's "Lyric Suite" in the version for string quartet, the "Four Pieces for clarinet and piano," and "Seven Early Songs"; as well as Webern's "Passacaglia," the "Five Pieces for orchestra," and the "Four pieces for violin and piano." Audite's informative booklet provides background on the composers, performers, and the recordings, and the discs are housed in a sturdy trimline box.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/13/2012
Label: Audite
UPC: 4022143214126
catalogNumber: 21412
Rank: 148743


  1. Pieces (2) for Piano, Op. 33
  2. Pieces (5) for piano, Op. 23
  3. Little Pieces (6) for piano, Op. 19
  4. Pieces (3) for piano, Op. 11
  5. De Profundis, for chorus, Op. 50b
  6. The Book of the Hanging Gardens, cycle of songs (15) for voice & piano, Op. 15
  7. Fantasy for violin & piano, Op. 47
  8. Piano Concerto, Op. 42
  9. Chamber Symphony No. 1 in E major, Op. 9
  10. Pierrot lunaire, melodrama for voice & chamber ensemble, Op. 21
  11. Fantasy for violin & piano, Op. 47
  12. Schatz-Walzer (Treasure Waltz), for orchestra, Op. 418
  13. Rosen aus dem Süden (Roses from the South), waltz for orchestra, Op. 388 (RV 388)
  14. Pieces (4) for violin & piano, Op. 7
  15. Pieces (5) for orchestra, Op. 10
  16. Passacaglia for orchestra, Op. 1
  17. Schliesse mir die Augen beide, song for voice & piano
  18. Early Songs (7), for voice & piano (or orchestra)
  19. Pieces (4) for clarinet & piano, Op. 5
  20. Lyric Suite, for string quartet
  21. Suite for string orchestra in G major
  22. String Trio, Op. 45

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews