×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Rising (Department 19 Series #2)
     

The Rising (Department 19 Series #2)

4.9 15
by Will Hill
 

See All Formats & Editions

“Enthralling. . . . From UV grenades to exploding stake bombs to a giant anti-vampire superweapon, the gadgets add a neat modern twist to the traditional stakings. Fans will devour the pages and thirst for the next volume.”—Kirkus

“Will keep teens who are undaunted by its 600 pages on the edge of their seats. Interweaving the

Overview

“Enthralling. . . . From UV grenades to exploding stake bombs to a giant anti-vampire superweapon, the gadgets add a neat modern twist to the traditional stakings. Fans will devour the pages and thirst for the next volume.”—Kirkus

“Will keep teens who are undaunted by its 600 pages on the edge of their seats. Interweaving the stories of Jamie, Dracula, Frankenstein, and a mysterious man wandering the American desert, this book is closer to the elaborate works of Stephen King than many vampire novels marketed to teens.”—VOYA


Sixteen-year-old Jamie Carpenter's life was violently upended when he was brought into Department 19, a classified government agency of vampire hunters that was formed to deal with a little problem . . . known as Dracula.

But being the new recruit at the Department isn't all weapons training and covert missions. Jamie's own mother has been turned into a vampire—and now Jamie will stop at nothing to wreak revenge on her captors. Even if that means facing down Dracula himself.

The Rising
is a fast, furious, can't-turn-away thrill ride that will suck readers in just like a video game. This riveting second book in the Department 19 series is packed with cutting-edge gadgets, international locales, and daredevil action that tumbles ferociously across the page—perfect for fans of Darren Shan and Anthony Horowitz.

Editorial Reviews

Children's Literature - Claire Covington
This is the action-packed sequel to Hill’s debut novel, Department 19, wherein readers were introduced to a military-like organization formed over 100 years ago by Van Helsing. Their purpose is to keep preternatural creatures under control. Protagonist Jaime Carpenter has earned notoriety through his efforts to defeat a powerful, insane vampire. Now he must deal with the loss and grief resulting from that battle. Unfortunately, he does not have long to reflect because the oldest and craziest vampire of all has escaped. Can Jaime and his team locate Dracula in time to keep the immortal from rising to his full strength? This novel is not your typical vampire story. Hill incorporates contemporary military weapons and tactics. The violence and gore turn it into a fast paced, sci-fi techno-thriller that has just a touch of teen romance and a generous helping of horror. Readers who enjoy Anthony Horowitz but are not quite ready for works by Guillermo del Toro or Stephen King will settle right into this fascinating book. Reviewer: Claire Covington; Ages 14 up.
VOYA - Stephanie L. Petruso
The Rising is Hill's follow-up to last year's well-received Department 19 (Penguin, 2011/Voya June 2011). After becoming the first member of Department 19 to kill a Priority 1 vampire, teen Jamie Carpenter is quickly rising in the ranks, even as he wrestles with guilt over the supposed death of his beloved friend and protector, Frankenstein. Regular assignments of controlling supernatural activity, though, are soon overshadowed by the news that the first and most powerful vampire, Dracula, has been resurrected more than a century after his death. Department 19 is in a race against time, knowing that if Dracula regains his full strength he will be impossible to defeat. At the same time, Jamie is trying to learn more about the mysterious Lazarus Project where the vampires he captures are sent, never to be seen again. The Rising is an ambitious book with a complicated plot that will keep teens who are undaunted by its 600 pages on the edge of their seats. Interweaving the stories of Jamie, Dracula, Frankenstein, and a mysterious man wandering the American desert, this book is closer to the elaborate works of Stephen King than many vampire novels marketed to teens. Its content, too, often crosses the line into an adult level of violence. Though there is little sexual content, brutality and torture are vividly described. Teens who have read the first book will be eagerly awaiting this one and looking forward to the rest of the series. Reviewer: Stephanie L. Petruso
School Library Journal
Gr 8 Up—The countdown has begun. "Zero Hour" is a mere three months away. Unless Jamie Carpenter and the rest of Department 19, the supersecret British government agency that fights supernatural threats, can do something before then, Dracula will be resurrected and humankind will be doomed. As if the impending end of the world weren't bad enough, Jamie has family problems (his mom is a vampire, locked in a cell in Department 19 headquarters), girl problems (he is dating fellow agent and vampire Larissa), and professional problems (his mentor and protector is missing and presumed dead). But just as things begin to seem hopeless, an offer of help comes from a most unexpected quarter-Valentin Rusmanov, one of Dracula's three generals. Can he be trusted? Why is he so interested in Jamie? Will his help be enough to tip the scales? Hill does a good job of establishing a sense of desperate tension, and there are plenty of exploding vampires and heads being torn off bodies. Rusmanov is creepily charming and provides a nice counterpart to the militaristic staff of Department 19. Frequent flashbacks provide necessary information but make for a nonlinear story line that might confuse some readers, and the teen melodrama is a bit overdone. But overall, this an exciting read that fans of Department Nineteen (Penguin, 2011) will eat up.—Anthony C. Doyle, Livingston High School Library, CA
Kirkus Reviews
There's gore aplenty in the second volume of Hill's Department 19 series. For Jamie Carpenter and his fellow monster-hunting team, the ominous graffito "HE RISES" hints at the return of the world's oldest vampire, Dracula, and the violence he will bring. Jamie is worried for his mother, a recently created vampire, for his relationship with the unpredictable vampire Larissa and for his missing colleague and friend, Frankenstein. When Valentin Rusmanov, one of Dracula's first turnings, teams up with Department 19 to fight against Dracula, it appears as though the top-secret team may have a chance, until a last-minute kidnapping changes the balance of power. A full cast of characters leaping in and out of life-and-death scenarios coupled with just the right balance of vampiric flashbacks make for an enthralling sophomore outing. Jamie balances romance with duty without becoming sappy, and teens Kate and Larissa make quite good kick-ass vampire hunters. The many characters and plots are evenly handled, keeping the pace up, the pages turning and the gore splattering. From UV grenades to exploding stake bombs to a giant anti-vampire superweapon, the gadgets add a neat modern twist to the traditional stakings. Fans will devour the pages and thirst for the next volume. (Horror. 14 & up)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781101575505
Publisher:
Penguin Young Readers Group
Publication date:
08/16/2012
Series:
Department 19 Series , #2
Sold by:
Penguin Group
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
592
Sales rank:
379,259
File size:
2 MB
Age Range:
14 - 17 Years

Meet the Author

Will Hill (www.department19.org) is a former publishing professional who lives in London.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Rising: A Department Nineteen Novel 4.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is heart stopping thriller with blood,gore, and violence. It took me off my feet and i could not put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fantastic. Someone finally made vampires badass again!
Kire985 More than 1 year ago
This guy needs to write faster......
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is full of cliffhangers YOU CANT STOP READING!!! Also full of mind blowing moments, BEST I HAVE EVER READ AND THE BEST I EVEN WILL
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this book, amazing authour creats an image in my head, i could smell the blood in the air, hear he screams of vampires as the were staked,t-boned,or just plain filled with holes from the deadly volleys from the purple visored operators
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is aswome why cant they make twilight like this
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is by far the best series i have ever read ever
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is an awesome book. Full of fantasy, modern action, suspense, and thrillers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great up to the first book love it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just as good as the first, if not better. Can't wait for the next one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Her face crumpled momentarily,but she held together, and Holmwood nodded.