The Rock of Ivanore: Book One of the Celestine Chronicles

The Rock of Ivanore: Book One of the Celestine Chronicles

by Laurisa White Reyes


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, February 22

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781933718927
Publisher: Tanglewood Publishing, Inc.
Publication date: 10/15/2013
Pages: 349
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.40(h) x 1.10(d)
Age Range: 8 - 12 Years

About the Author

Laurisa White Reyes spent many years writing for newspapers and magazines before mustering enough courage to pursue her dream of writing novels. Aside from her obsession with books, she also loves musical theater and fantasizes about singing on Broadway (one dream she does not intend to pursue). She lives in Southern California with her husband, five children, four birds, three lizards, two fish and one dog. Please visit her website and her blog The Rock of Ivanore is her first published novel.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Rock of Ivanore: Book One of the Celestine Chronicles 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
GratefulGrandma More than 1 year ago
The Rock of Ivanore by Laurisa White Reyes is the first book in the Celestine Chronicles. I began reading this fantasy book thinking it was for middle grade students, but soon realized that anyone including adults would enjoy this story. Marcus is an orphan in Quendel, a small town on an island. He is raised by the elderly enchanter Zyll as his apprentice. When the boys in Qendel are in their 15th year, they must go on a quest. This year's quest is announced and Marcus is going to accompany the boys. Their assignment is to find and return with "The Rock of Ivanore". The boys set off not knowing what the Rock is or where it can be found. Marcus and the other boys must forge a friendship and trust of one another if they want to be successful in their quest. Marcus must reach deep within himself to develop his powers of magic and find the strength to survive the wild lands and fierce enemies he encounters as he searches for the Rock. If he succeeds, he will live a life of honor; if he fails, he will live a life of shame performing manual labour. The plot of this book has many twists and turns. There are highs and lows, deception, cruelties and friendships forged. I though I had it all figured out and was confused several times. This story is a fantasy quest with dragons, magic, monsters, heroes, villians, slaves, gems, friendships and battles. The characters are as varied as they are familiar. There is the hero (Jayson), the orphan (Marcus), the friend (Kelvin), the monsters (cyclops, Bryn: a Groc), the wizard (Zyll), the slaves (the agorans), the exiled angry offspring (Arik) and more. They all bring different characteristics, emotions and strengths to the story. I am looking forward to reading the second in this series to see what is up next for Marcus and his friends. I recommend this book to public, school, class and family libraries. I received a copy of this book from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.