The Rogue Retrieval

The Rogue Retrieval

by Dan Koboldt

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$6.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Tuesday, October 23  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

The Rogue Retrieval by Dan Koboldt

In the tradition of Terry Brooks' Landover series, Piers Anthony Xanth books, and Terry Pratchett's Discword novels, scientist and blogger Dan Koboldt weaves wonder, humor, and heart into his debut novel, The Rogue Retrieval.

Sleight of hand…in another land

Stage magician Quinn Bradley has one dream: to headline his own show on the Vegas Strip. And with talent scouts in the audience wowed by his latest performance, he knows he’s about to make the big-time.

What he doesn’t expect is an offer to go on a quest to a place where magic is all too real.

That's how he finds himself in Alissia, a world connected to ours by a secret portal owned by a powerful corporation. He’s after an employee who has gone rogue, and that’s the least of his problems. Alissia has true magicians…and the penalty for impersonating one is death. In a world where even a twelve-year-old could beat Quinn in a swordfight, it's only a matter of time until the tricks up his sleeves run out.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062451910
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 03/01/2016
Series: Gateways to Alissia , #1
Pages: 416
Product dimensions: 4.10(w) x 6.50(h) x 1.00(d)

About the Author

Dan Koboldt is a genetics researcher and fantasy/science fiction author. He has co-authored more than 60 publications in Nature, Human Mutation, Genome Research, The New England Journal of Medicine, Cell, and other scientific journals. Dan is also an avid hunter and outdoorsman. He lives with his wife and children in St. Louis, where the deer take their revenge by eating the flowers in his backyard.

The Rogue Retrieval is his first novel.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Rogue Retrieval 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A solid opening book in the series; entertaining with likable and interesting characters
AngelLeya More than 1 year ago
I have to say, I had mixed emotions about starting this one. I don't know where my head was at when I read the description, but I wasn't expecting what I got - and I loved it! Quinn Bradley is a Vegas magician with dreams of headlining on the strip. His personality and charm, sleight of hand, and innovative illusions have finally attracted some head hunters, but they've also caught the attention of a large and powerful corporation who want to use it for their own. All his best options blocked, Quinn agrees to sign the non-disclosure agreement (against the advice of a mysterious stranger) and finds himself thrown into a whole new world. Alissia exists through a portal on an island controlled by CASE Global. It's like a medieval, pristine earth over there - except that there's magic, and a whole host of flora and fauna the likes of which earth has never seen. The mission for the crew Quinn is on is to retrieve Dr. Holt, an research employee that's gone rogue, but Holt isn't making things easy. Pursued by beasts and thugs, the team's military training and field research help keep them safe. Quinn's razzle-dazzle can also give them an edge -- as long as he doesn't get caught by the enclave of Magicians who would kill him for impersonating a true Alissian Magician. This novel is full of adventure, an incredibly believable alternate world, and magic. I laughed so much (quoting Journey lyrics to convince guards he's a monk? :D ), and followed the story eagerly to see what's next. I'm so pleased there are sequels scheduled, because this story left on a kind of major cliffhanger. Quinn's time with Alissia is not done, and I'm eager to see where it all goes. I'm so glad I took the dive into this story, and I would whole-heartedly recommend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sweet with out being sickening. Cohesive and concise. Looking forward to the next few (I hope.)
JasonCH More than 1 year ago
The story follows a stage magician Bradly Quinn as he goes from wishing to be a headline act on the Vegas strip to just wanting to survive in a strange land. Definitely a page turner, very worth investing your time. The book answers the question how would a stage magician fare in the middle ages. Highly recommended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was everything that is awesome. Initially I picked it up because it appeared to be a cross between Now You See Me (one of my favorite movies ever) and the Middle Ages, which is absolutely my jam, and the first part of the story delivers in this aspect. But as the plot deepens and the reader gets to see more of this amazing world, the book really does become its own. I love this book, and would recommend it to anyone who likes magic, adventure, and sword fights. I hope there's more to come, because I really won't be able to deal if this is the only book in this world!
LauraMaisano More than 1 year ago
The Rogue Retrieval is a portal fantasy (part real world, part fantasy world...think Narnia,) which is a genre near and dear to my heart. There's not much other than the opening and the end which takes place in "our" world, but there's plenty of conflict between them. This book has a lot of action going for it and just enough mystery (mostly missing motives) to keep you reading. Now, for the best bits. I LOVE Quinn, the main character. He's a Vegas magician pretending to be a real magician, because this world has those. His wit and sense of humor are engaging and make me concerned for his welfare. I liked Logan, the other main point of view, but I didn't have the same love for him as I do for Quinn. The Rogue Retrieval is a good story with a beginning, middle, and end. There's no cliffhanger, but it's obvious that it's setting up a sequel. The conflicts presented or hinted at for a sequel are AMAZING. While this story was entertaining, I'm more interested to see where it goes from here. Koboldt, you better have a sequel for me. That's all I'm saying. :-)
VicG More than 1 year ago
Dan Koboldt in his new book, “The Rogue Retrieval” published by Harper Voyager Impulse introduces us to Quinn Bradley. From the back cover: Sleight of hand…in another land. Stage magician Quinn Bradley has one dream: to headline his own show on the Vegas Strip. And with talent scouts in the audience wowed by his latest performance, he knows he’s about to make the big-time. What he doesn’t expect is an offer to go on a quest to a place where magic is all too real. That’s how he finds himself in Alissia, a world connected to ours by a secret portal owned by a powerful corporation. He’s after an employee who has gone rogue, and that’s the least of his problems. Alissia has true magicians…and the penalty for impersonating one is death. In a world where even a twelve-year-old could beat Quinn in a swordfight, it’s only a matter of time until the tricks up his sleeves run out. Scientist and blogger Dan Koboldt weaves wonder, humor, and heart into his debut novel, The Rogue Retrieval. Fans of Terry Brooks and Terry Pratchett will find this a thrilling read. The Rogue Retrieval is a very clever storyline. Quinn has been recruited to crossover to Alissia to retrieve a rogue scientist (hence the title) whose actions threaten to put all of them at risk. Quinn is one of the best at being a Vegas stage magician. The situation is on Alissia they use real magic and it is going to take all Quinn’s skills to not get caught before they catch the scientist. This is perfect for a movie of the week. Quinn is a terrific character that captures your attention and bring you into his world. I am glad I found this talented author and am looking forward to the next book. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Pump Up Your Book. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
DianaUrban More than 1 year ago
I had a lot of fun reading The Rogue Retrieval! I got this as an eARC from Edelweiss, and read it in just a couple sittings. It's an action-packed ride with a witty protagonist, and I'm a fan of magic — both in fantasy books and magic acts performed in the "real world" — so this was up my alley. Quinn is a stage magician in Vegas looking for his big break on the strip. After a stellar performance, he thinks he's finally going to be offered his dream job. Instead, reps from CASE Global make him an offer he can't refuse, with the catch that it's a secret mission. They bring him to an island they own harboring a secret portal to another world called Alissia, reminiscent of medieval Europe. Their head researcher, Holt, has disappeared into this world, endangering CASE's goals and Alissian society. Quinn's job is to help retrieve Holt using his illusions along the way, which will be particularly helpful because in this world, real magic exists. This is very much an adventure story, and I really enjoyed learning about Alissia and the details of its society and culture, as well as what CASE intended on doing with it. I liked the combination of science, technology, and illusion as magic, and how it juxtaposes with the subtlety of the real magic in Alissia. This read was also unique in that things didn't always turn out as you'd expect them to, even though sometimes information is withheld that prevents the reader from figuring things out on their own. Also, characters were able to talk themselves out of sticky situations a little too easily. But overall, it was a fast read with fun characters and action-packed scenes, and I'm looking forward to the next book(s) in the series!